We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie du Chateau
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved our time here. My family had the junior suite (160 Euro), which was quite spacious and had two double beds. The bathroom was large and had a huge tub with a hand held shower. It was a cute room and I loved that we could have all of the windows open in July to allow the cool breeze to come in, without worrying about flies or mosquitos. With the windows open, we found the room comfortable and didn't need an air-conditioner. We could look up out of our bathroom window and see the stork's nest that was on the top of the building next door. Other family members had superior double rooms(110 Euro for two adults, 120 for three) that were facing the square. The internet and breakfast were not included in the room rate. We chose not to have the breakfast and walked to our favorite patisserie and ate there. The hotel does not allow you to "picnic" in your room. We were there on Bastille Day and were lucky enough to enjoy the party that was going on outside of our hotel because we were right on the square where it was happening. They had live music, food, beer and wine. We had a blast dancing the night away. While here in Eguisheim make sure you walk the Rue des Remparts. It is too cute and you'll feel like you are in a Grimms fairytale. We walked along and ate hot baguettes and pretzels at a "Bretzle" stand. That was the best French baguette of our trip to France. Further along on the North rue des Rempart we saw a yard that had three adorable bunnies hopping freely around the yard. We ate dinner the first night at Auberge de trois chateaux. It wasn't our favorite place of the trip, but was decent (we wouldn't go back). I ordered the sauerkraut with meats and was given a huge plate of food and couldn't eat it all. The ham was very fatty. I enjoyed my huge portion of sauerkraut and was too full to finish all the meats. Share here! We also ate at heuhaus and enjoyed our meal outside there. We went to Papilles sur Canapes for dessert where my husband had the best creme brûlée that he's ever had. My daughter and I shared an apple tart with our coffee. It was a lovely experience to sit outside and enjoy a relaxed setting while having a delicious dessert. I just wish we had more time to go back and eat dinner there! We walked the vineyards one day. Another day we drove the wine road and stopped in Riquewhr to shop and do a wine tasting at Caves Dopff et Irion. Check out Kathe Wohlfahrt's Christmas shop too.
We went to Colmar and did the Unterlinden museum and ate delicious sorbet at Sorbetiere d'Isabelle. Yummy goodness! We had lunch at Le Comptoir de Georges and had a decent lunch. I would eat somewhere else next time, however.

To sum up: This hotel is very cute and is located on the main square in Eguisheim. The rooms are very clean with large bathrooms. The internet and breakfast are not included in the room rate. The owners were good about showing us where to park our car after we checked in and were helpful about where to eat while there. They were very prompt through e-mails when making our reservation or answering any questions that we had. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly to others.

Room Tip: The junior suite is great for families. The superior doubles with a view of the square are nice, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    98
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
171
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Most of what can be said about this hotel has already been written in these reviews,comfortable large beds ,a modern but not clinical design ,large bathrooms,helpfull friendly management and very nice breakfasts.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Eguisheim with one caveat it is as anyone booking it should realise on the town square ,in hot weather withthe windows open (there is no a/c)it can get quite noisy at times ,the same as any other hotel in this position avoid the music festival end of June,other than that this hotel is as nice a place to stay as you can get in this class,would recommend at any time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have view of square,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggiatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The owners have decided not to decorate in traditional style, so the rooms are 'interesting'. Our bed and cupboard appeared to be built out of painted chipboard - but I could be wrong! The bathroom was great - spacious, clean, powerful shower. We booked a 'superior' room, which was a tight fit, so not sure how big the standard rooms are... But we had a good view of the square and the church, and there was a space between the bed area and the bathroom with a chair where we could put cases.

Parking is DIY in streets nearby, although the receptionist very helpfully went out to look for a space for us. I didn't see any traffic wardens on a Sunday :)

Breakfast very good. Typical for region: cold meats, cheeses, selection of breads and pastries, jams, fresh fruit salad.

Room Tip: Pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great location on one of the main squares in Eguisheim. The hotel staff (or could be owner) was very friendly & spoke good English. Room was lovely, and superb bathroom with shower.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Perfect hotel with a great location. The owner was super friendly. Spoke English very well. The two rooms we got were very nice with a huge bath and shower (and shower curtain!!)

My husband and I had breakfast at the hotel - it was 12euros per person and well worth it. If you go, make sure you try the home made yogurt - it was fantastic! We talked to the owner and he told us he gets it from a local farmer up in the mountains nearby.

Our two friends had breakfast at a nearby bakery -- they enjoyed that too.

It's hard to park near the hotel - at least we couldn't figure it out because it is all marked pedestrian zone. However, the town is so small that parking on the ring road is not parking far at all!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This first journey in Alsace was wonderful! We discovered a very beautiful region and stayed in this pleasant and peaceful hotel. The owner is very nice and always available to give good information. Rooms are full of charm and always clean. Big bathrooms and copious breakfasts! Sharon and John

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We spent two nights in this beautiful village in August. We had a Junior Suite which was spacious and very well appointed. No lift (elevator) which is to be expected as a very old building, but the stairs were a real pain with our luggage.

Breakfast not good value and would recommend a croissant and coffee around the corner. Also reception is not always attended especially in the morning, so if a quick departure is required, I would suggest you arrange things the night before.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eguisheim
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Alsacienne
L'Auberge Alsacienne
#1 of 8 in Eguisheim
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Hubert
Hotel Saint Hubert
#3 of 8 in Eguisheim
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hostellerie des Comtes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A la ville de Nancy
A la ville de Nancy
#6 of 8 in Eguisheim
54 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Martin
Hotel Saint Martin
#6 of 39 in Colmar
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Chateau

Property: Hostellerie du Chateau
Address: 2 Place du Chateau Saint Leon, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chateau Eguisheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing