We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Auberge Alsacienne
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

3 of us stayed here for one night last week. This hotel is excellent. The location is perfect - just at the start of the pedestrianized cobbled streets so our taxi from Colmar was able to stop right outside. We had a twin room and a double for single occupancy. The rooms were spacious, pristinely clean and simply but elegantly furnished. Our bathroom had a large powerful shower and all the bathroom fittings were top of the range. Our view through the double glazed windows was of the beautiful historic village. There are a couple of very nice public seating areas on each floor so if the weather outside is too cold (or wet) then it is a comfortable place to go for up to 6 people. The dining room is more traditional and one look at the menu convinced us we would dine there. We were not disappointed. They had two (or maybe it was 3) prix fixe options. We took the 3 course option which had 3 choices for each course. I had the scallops with fried eggplant followed by goose breast on a potato galette and finished with the selection of Munster cheese. The dinner with wine, coffee and Cointreau per person was less than €35. I'm just sorry we couldn't stay the three nights originally planned. The girl at the front desk was very pleasant and as with most people in this region, was fluent in several languages including English.

Room Tip: My room was the Chamelas (all rooms have wine names) and faced to the front. The double glazing ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
93
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is very cosy, the rooms have names instead of numbers:)
The room was very clean, lovely, with everything I needed (TV, hair dryer, wi-fi, safe) I had a wonderful time there!
The staff was very helpful, friendly and polite. I didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on it, you can easily find parking space in the town or even in the same street as the hotel (the space right near it is free for the night).
We used this hotel as a base to visit all the attractions and villages around Alsace, they are all easy to reach from Eguisheim, an absolutely beautiful town with plenty of restaurants and corners to explore.
I absolutely recommend this hotel, I will surely be back myself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler81it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland england
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location within the old town of Eguisheim which is a really pretty village on the Alsace wine route, it is easy to find and parking is no problem as there are spaces at the front but also a large yard at the rear. It is one of the French Logis hotels and has been modernised inside to provide boutique style rooms, the double rooms are not very big but adequate enough, however the double bed is quite small, although reasonably comfy, my hubby is 6ft and his feet hung out the bottom. There is not much storage space either being only a single wardrobe half of which is taken by shelves, the other side is hanging space, no drawers anywhere in the room. The bathroom was quite large with a corner bath and shower attachment with screen, however there was an inch gap between the bath and the screen so using it as a shower meant a flood on the floor. The towels were scratchy but toiletries provided and a Hairdryer.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night, it was a nice meal but my opinion over priced, €17 for one course, €24 for 2 or €30 for 3 seems a bit steep especially when you see the portion size, however you are in the middle of a tourist trap. We also opted for breakfast and again feel this was overpriced €9.50 each for a limited selection, no fruit salad, no eggs, no muesli, however it was adequate but not what you would expect for that price, there again French hotels do not seem to offer breakfast included options and all seem to charge over the odds for what they supply! We were there during a hot spell and no air con meant a couple of uncomfortable nights even with the windows wide open, this is a pretty old building though so air con is not really an option.
The village is also well located for visiting other pretty Alsace villages such as kayserberg and Riquewihr and for doing part of the rue de Cretes.
Despite the criticism it is a nice place to stay and the food prices etc are probably comparible with other hotels in the town.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front of the hotel if you want to leave your windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ableassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was a nice, conveniently located hotel in Eguisheim that we booked for 1 night. The staff was very courteous. The room we stayed in had a bath with a hand held shower, but that was fine. The best thing about this hotel was the restaurant. We had a 3 course meal there that was absolutely wonderful. There were multiple choices for each course with a large wine list. Thoroughly enjoyable. The one downside I would say about this hotel is they told us they serve breakfast, but neglected to say there was a charge. They had actually set up a table for us (which we didn't ask for), so we only had coffee there because of the charge. The waiter seemed annoyed that we weren't eating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musiclover3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When we booked this hotel for two nights, we specifically asked for a NON-smoking room. At check-in we were given a clean, tiny, NON-smoking room. We didn't mind the tiny space as we are used to small rooms in Europe. Unfortunately, the room reeked of cigarette smoke! Hotel was full and they could not move us to another room. We ended up canceling the second night.

Room Tip: Not a good idea to stay here if you are a NON-smoker since they can't guarantee a NON-smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaSqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not the biggest room I've ever stayed in but the room we had (called "PINOT") was one with a shower rather than a bath so perhaps those rooms are the smallest. There was everything you needed there and it was fine for a stay of just one night. Perhaps should you be staying for three nights or more you may need to pay the extra for a larger room.
Spotlessly clean, everything worked, a little too warm for our taste but, hey, just open a window a bit! Staff were very helpful and welcoming. We reckon that breakfast prices can be a bit of a rip off and at 9.50 Euros we decided to get a hot chocolate and croissant in nearby Colmar, (excellent by the way).
The night was certainly not cheap but very good nevertheless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnofBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Wife and I on holiday stayed 2 nights. it’s a pretty hotel in a great village, for wine and for the sheer Alsace village feel though more touristy than many.

exterior looks old, but interior thoroughly modernised, yet retaining some individuality. we don't eat breakfast so can only say the coffee e was good but we CAN say the restaurant delivered a super meal to a very high standard at a very fair price. wines are locally sourced. Try the Gruss Riesling and then go to the vineyard opposite to buy some for home! staff were friendly, and competent.

Room Tip: Though the view at the back is nothing you get a better nights sleep because traffic in the cobbled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eguisheim
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau
Hostellerie du Chateau
#2 of 8 in Eguisheim
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Hubert
Hotel Saint Hubert
#3 of 8 in Eguisheim
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hostellerie des Comtes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A la ville de Nancy
A la ville de Nancy
#6 of 8 in Eguisheim
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Husseren les Chateaux
Hotel Husseren les Chateaux
#1 of 1 in Husseren-les-Chateaux
121 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Alsacienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Alsacienne

Property: L'Auberge Alsacienne
Address: 12 Grand rue, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Auberge Alsacienne 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Auberge Alsacienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing