We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostellerie du Pape
Ranked #1 of 8 Eguisheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mulhouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just spent one night here with a group of friends. There were two people in our party but we booked a triple room (at extra cost) as much more spacious then doubles. Room was perfect (room number 311) with good quality bedding, furnishings and smaliish shower room. Located in the roofspace with own air conditioning unit, so perfectly cool in the summer. One small disadvantage: unable to black out the room with the drapes. The location is ideal for visiting the fabulous little village of Eguisheim. Reception and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient, Only cloud on the horizon was the breakfast on Sunday morning. We arrived 30 minutes before end of service but had to ask for everything (no more clean cups available, no more plates) and coffee (out of coffee). Seems like the hotel had been overwhelmed by the number of guests? Quality of the breads and pastries was OK. Did not eat a meal at the restaurant but the patio layout is nice and the place was popular at lunch and in the evening.

Room Tip: Room 311 (a triple) is spacious and quiet. Drapes do not block out the daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    191
    74
    22
    6
See reviews for
82
227
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had a romantic style dinner with my wife. There is a good selection of local wines and the dinner menu is full of choices, too. We both had one of the suggested dinner menus which offered both great tasting dishes and good value for money. Those dishes ordered separately would have cost considerably more money. However, drinks cost more than other restaurants nearby, we thought. The food, drinks and check came quickly after ordering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konsta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

When travelling the one basic requirement that travellers seek is a clean room and a comfortable mattress. This hotel falls down to the lowest level with regard to the mattress and pillows provided.
Staff were pleasant. The noise from close by rooms was above average. We have travelled on this holiday for one month throughFranc, Italy, Austria and Germany and the comfort level of this room was the lowest.
It is a shame as the location is excellent and parking is easy and free.

Room Tip: Look at the bed that you are going to receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed a long weekend in this place a few days ago and really enjoyed it. We had a family room (four beds) which turned out to be excellent: relatively spacious (by French standards), recently renovated (like the entire hotel), calm, and nicely decorated. One of the beds was a bit too soft and the pillows were high by our standard, but - to be fair - these details didn't bother us much so we didn't even bother to ask the hotel to do anything about them. The service at the reception was exceptionally good, and the restaurant was great as well: quick and friendly service, beautiful decor, and delicious meals. The breakfast buffet was the high-light of each of our mornings - a lot of choice, and beautifully presented. The location is also great - right in the center of Eguisheim and only 8 km from the center of Colmar. Will certainly stay again in this hotel when visiting Alsace again.

Room Tip: Ask for firm beds and lower/softer pillows in case you feel these could be an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTH3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here with friends who had visited on a number of occasions and we were not disappointed. The room was on the top floor with a view across the rear courtyard and was both clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We only had breakfast which was a buffet with a wonderful selection of both hot and cold, sweet and savoury foods which easily kept you going until lunchtime. The location is ideal sitting less than 50 metres from the picturesque village, there is ample car parking situated at the rear and most importantly it is adjacent to the Wolfberger wine shop. What more could you ask for !!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trueguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abruzzo
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

When driving to Italy from the English Channel ports, Alsace is a natural place to stop at the end of the day. There are many charming towns between Colmar and Basel and Eguisheim is one of them. The Hostellerie du Pape is conveniently located in the centre of the town and boats ample parking protected behind security gates. The hotel is reached over a drawbridge from the car park and has a central courtyard with a jettied balcony at first floor level. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. The restaurant is excellent serving traditional local cooking, some dishes with a modern twist on tradition. Best suited to omnivores Alsatian cooking is robust and not really designed for faddy eaters. If you don't like offal or sauerkraut then you will have a restricted choice from the menu but you will find something to your liking. The wine cellar is excellent - biased of course towards local wines which are of extremely high quality. I have stopped at this hotel in all seasons and it is always a welcome sight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotaresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a large, quiet, and very clean room on the third floor. Plenty of space for my two children. The staff was very friendly all the time. The restaurant is also very good. Breakfast is charged separately (11 Euros) but it's worth it. The hotel is situated just outside the village (literally one block away) but non-residents have to park their cars outside the village anyway. The hotel has secured parking. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: room 304 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trouveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eguisheim
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau
Hostellerie du Chateau
#2 of 8 in Eguisheim
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hostellerie des Comtes
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Alsacienne
L'Auberge Alsacienne
#1 of 8 in Eguisheim
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Hubert
Hotel Saint Hubert
#3 of 8 in Eguisheim
82 reviews
6.7 mi away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
0.3 mi away
A la ville de Nancy
A la ville de Nancy
#6 of 8 in Eguisheim
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Pape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Pape

Property: Hostellerie du Pape
Address: 10 Grand rue, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Pape 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hostellerie du Pape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing