We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
Review of Hotel Roc e Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Roc e Mare
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Propriano
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We had booked this hotel for one night based on its advertised sea views from the balcony. Unfortunately we were put in a lower level room from which the sea view would have required cutting a window through dense trees. It would be more truthful to say that lower level rooms have a garden view.

The hotel is actually quite far from the town centre and there is no restaurant, which means driving to the town for supper. We usually prefer to walk to supper, but did not fancy walking back up the hill in the dark. There are some very good restaurants on the Marina in Propriano and paying parking is available.

The hotel's private beach is reached by going down the cliff face by a set of wide and safe stairs. Be prepared for a long climb back up. The little beach is lovely and sheltered; however its "Paillotte" which was advertised as providing drinks and snacks was not in operation- actually it looked like it had suffered a fire- and this should have been indicated prior to making the climb down.

The rooms themselves were spacious enough, and the bathroom had been refurbished. However, the furnishings were clean but dingy, and were reminiscent of a cheap highway motel in North America. Ditto for the long, very poorly lit hallway: this was so dark even in daytime that finding the keyhole in the door was an issue.

Breakfast was included in the price; a good thing because the breakfast room is situated at an upper level and we finally got to see the sea view, which is indeed nice. If you decide to stay there I recommend you ask for an upper level room.

For us this was the only disappointing stay of our 10 day trip in Corsica. We did not find the hotel to merit a 3 star rating (2 at most); this was also our second most expensive hotel stay in Corsica- only Bonifacio was pricier- and so we found it to be the least value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanbro_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

Firstly, yes this hotel does have an amazing location with its own private beach/cove. If you want a holiday of simple relaxation on the beach and aren't too bothered about your accomodation then this may suit you.

However, make sure that your French is of a high standard before you go, as though it lists in the brochures that staff speak English - they don't speak it very well! I tried to book a taxi and they thought i wanted to check in to another room!

we booked a standard room (Mare rooms are available at an extra cost with air conditioning - i cant comment on what these are like) and it was absolutely TINY, very shabby and in need of renivation, stank of smoke and drains and as for the bathroom...you could not move in it!

the town of Propriano is so so lovely, lots of lovely places to eat and drink and some gorgeous shops, very expensive but it always is in corsica (again, not many places spoke english). it is just a shame that this hotel let our holiday down as propriano and the private beach are the perfect place for a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellow_r0ses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We travelled with our almost 2 year-old and had requested a cot in the room. This may explain why the room was one of the ones with only the bathroom refurbished and consequently a very dated bedroom. Externally the hotel reminded me of a Cuban hotel we stayed in (i.e. in need to repair / investment).
When we arrived (following a puncture en route during a 6 hour drive in driving rain) I felt so depressed at the room I wanted to move hotels but was too tired. The bed was old and the mattress very firm; the curtains and bed cover were matching yellow, nylon fabric; there were no drinks in the room / no fridge - it really felt more like a hostel. Had it not being for the helpfulness of the staff in arranging the puncture to be fixed and my acceptance that we would have to be out of the hotel much of the time I would have moved.

Positives do exist though - the hotel's beach / restaurant were nice; the small area with pre-school toys was a big hit with my daughter (although some of the toys required batteries be replaced / repair); the staff were helpful and friendly; the room was cleaned each day.

We didn't mind the walk into town (approx 20 minutes) and liked the mixed board arrangement (3 nights half board / 4 nights B&B).

Would we stay here again?? Only if we'd assured ourselves there was nowhere else available.

Propriano is a nice resort and a good base to get to Ajaccio, Bonifacio and Sartene etc. Personally though I preferred the 2nd leg of our trip when we stayed in Calvi (northern Corsica).

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank BronB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel is a 1970's concrete building which is starting to need repairs. The exterior is stained with rust and the balcony of our room starting to show cracks and crumbling. The public rooms have been renovated to a quite good standard, the bathroom and separate toilet modernised and very acceptable, but the rooms are very poor! No armchair, just a stool, a very small TV, and a single dressing table. Beds look elderly, wardrobe was not modernised when the bathroom was. On main road with only a windowed corridor between the traffic and the bedrooms. The lift doors are between floors so it is impossible to reach the rooms without carrying luggage up at least one flight of stairs - no help from the staff.. Excellent site does not compensate for poor rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We arrived in the evening to be greeted by one of the most spectular sunsets we've ever seen. The position of the hotel is such that the sun goes down right in the middle of the bay and all the rocks and sand in the vicinity of the hotel glow orange - very spectular.
The hotel is well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. On our last night there we were awoken by someone next door switching the television on loudly and promptly falling asleep (too much Corsican wine I imagine). I went down to see the night porter and he sorted the problem by ringing up the room until someone answered and switched the television off.
Although it's quite a long walk into town, it's very enjoyable as the route is right on the coast and offers good views both there and back. Being on the main road the hotel is a good base to explore places like Sarte (highly recommended).
Finally, the private beach is excellent although in September it doesn't get the sun until the afternoon. It's well worth the wait though.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cags58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

My wife and I spent four days at this hotel in early September 2008. Staff were very helpful and effective. Check-in and check-out were very quick. Location is good if you have a car (advisable for Corsica), as the centre of Propriano is a realtively long walk away, pleasant nevertheless.

Although we had one of the basic rooms (no air conditioning), we were happy with the size of the room, the bathroom was clean and in good condition. We liked the top quality bath and hand towels. The highlight of the room, however, was the decent sized balcony overlooking the bay. As the hotel is above the sea, the sound of the waves at night is fantastic. Finally our room had free wireless internet.

We also found breakfast adequate, croissants were fresh and good quality and the coffee machine is decent. The breakfast room also overlooks the sea, which gets you to a good start to the day.

On the downside, the rooms would benefit from a refurbishment. A small fridge would be very useful, while the balcony door/window was really old and difficult to operate.

All in all a very good stay and we highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alex_london_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Hotel facilities are average but the staff were really nice and most spoke fluent English. The room (as all do) had a sea view over the bay. It was great to wake up to and relax on the balcony at sunset. The sheets and towels were clean and the bathroom recently renovated. The room itself was a bit musty, but clean. The rest of the hotel was fairly dingy and would really benefit from refurbishment. There is no pool but the private beach, though small, makes up for it. There is a small restaurant/bar attached though you can’t charge back to the hotel. The hotel isn’t an easy distance into the town centre but we had a car so it wasn’t bad for us. We probably wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekmclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Propriano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sampiero Corso
Le Sampiero Corso
#5 of 11 in Propriano
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
#1 of 11 in Propriano
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#7 of 11 in Propriano
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#8 of 11 in Propriano
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Propriano
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Claridge
Hotel Le Claridge
#3 of 11 in Propriano
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc e Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc e Mare

Address: Route de la Corniche, 20110 Propriano, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Propriano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Propriano
Price Range: $89 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc e Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Roc e Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc e Mare Hotel
Roc e Mare Propriano
Hotel Roc e Mare Propriano, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing