We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely self-catering accommodation in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Marie-Diane
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed a fortnight in one of the terrace houses at Residence Marie Diane in September 2013. It's ideally located for exploring the Gulf of Valinco and, as others have commented, only a short stroll into the port town of Propriano. There are two large supermarkets 5 minutes' drive away, and a boulangerie at the end of the road where you can pick up delicious bread and pastries every morning.

Our terrace house (number 'E') was at the end of a row of three, with a wonderful view across the fields to the sea where you can watch the sun set every evening. The house was small (suitable for 2 adults, or 2 adults and a child) but well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bedroom on the upstairs level was bright and spacious with a beamed ceiling and shuttered window looking across to the sea. There's no air conditioning but at night-time we used the fan provided and were fine. The kitchenette has everything you need for cooking in, as we did several nights, and a very handy dishwasher! We also made use of the barbecue provided.

The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers, herbs and fruit trees. The whole place has a peaceful, orderly feel to it. We were often the only people using the shared pool.

The owner's daughter Nathalie could not have been more helpful. She spoke very good English (rare in Corsica - part of its charm though) and was friendly, polite and attentive.

It's surprising that another Tripadvisor visitor has mentioned ants and mice as there was no sign of anything like that when we stayed. Of course we swept away crumbs etc and didn't leave food out, which probably helped deter ants from coming in. As for mice, I do wonder whether the other visitor was misled by the 'squeaky' fridge which can sound a lot like something else ... and probably would have confused us too were it not or the fact that we have a similarly noisy fridge at home!

This is third place we have stayed in Corsica and the best. We would definitely go back. Generally speaking the standard of accommodation in Corsica is a bit lower than other European holiday destinations but more than compensated for by the beauty and character of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Residence Marie-Diane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in Chez Suzy for a week in September 2013. There were 2 of us and we were told Chez Suzy was one of the larger apartments. The internet says the apartment sleeps 2-4, but if there are more than two of you, I'd suggest this is not the place for you.

The owner's photos have obviously been taken to show the apartment in its best light but it is quite small with old decor and signs of wear and tear. The kitchenette is quite limited and there is little space on the balcony (amongst a multitude of white plastic furniture) to use the barbecue. The apartment appeared clean but we still had a problem with ants while we were there and there were mice in the kitchen. There isn't really a sea view as the apartments are built very close together although there are nice flowers growing around the pool area.

It wasn't just the apartment we were disappointed with. The owner was abrupt and unfriendly when we arrived. The owner's daughter (who speaks English) came to see us a little later but only to wake us up banging on the door to demand our deposit money. The information provided with the villa is quite limited and not once were local recommendations offered by the owners. Furthermore, the information that is provided mainly contains strict instructions on the cleaning required to get your deposit back at the end of the week. As the first thing you read when you arrive, this could be more welcoming. When we were there they were building a new house in the complex but this was quite disruptive with loud machinery starting at 8am every morning.

All in all, we won't be returning to Marie Diane, nor would we recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at Villa Les Lentisques, part of the Residences Marie Diane complex, in August. I have to say I was really pleased with the villa- it was new, modern and very comfortably furnished with everything you need for a really good self catering holiday. My wife, who's a stickler for these things, commented on how clean it was. It had two bathrooms (one en suite) and our young daughter was able to sleep in a cot provided by the owners in an ante room.
The villa has a private garden with a beautiful sea view and we were able to have drinks in the evening and watch the sun go down over the sea. It's a thirty second walk to the pool, which is surrounded by beautiful mature shrubs and plants. The owners provided a very friendly and welcoming service and were more than happy to make reccommendations on where to go to eat or where the best beaches were.
The location was also a plus, as you don't want a long walk to town when, like us, you have small children. All in all, it was a really peaceful and relaxing holiday, in a lovely spot, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Friends of ours visited last year, and with a week’s holiday due in early September, we thought we would follow their recommendations and stay at Residence Marie Diane. I have to say for location, comfort and peace and quiet, this place is hard to beat.

The property we had rented was lovely ! The comfortable bed and stylish furnishings actually surpassed our expectations. The grounds and pool are beautifully kept, and we had lovely views to the sea.

The Residence is perfectly located for exploring the beautiful coastline of the south of the island, and quietly situated just outside the busy little town of Propriano, but close enough for an early evening stroll down to the port for dinner or an evening drink, which we did several times.

Full marks for this place ! You would have to go a long way to beat it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed with our 2 children in the Suzy apartment. It was very basic but OK for a week. Also there were no ceiling fans so extremely hot at night particularly upstairs where the children were sleeping.

The photos (unsurprisingly) show it in a much more flattering light and it is showing signs of wear and tear. Also unless you don't mind a very long walk in the heat along busy roads it is certainly NOT walking distance to the beach.

The pool is not heated and although we were there at the end of a hot summer it was not freezing. There are very strict rules about using the pool too; no inflatables, no flippers, no jumping in, no using the pool after 7pm and although we could see my son from our terrace (a VERY short distance away) and he is an 8 year old strong swimmer we were told that we had to be at the side of the pool if he wanted to use it. The owners daughter implied that he was un-supervised - even though I was watching from the terrace and there were parents of the other children he was playing with by the pool too.

Finally as we were not happy with the house we had booked (it was tiny and extremely basic) we decided to move to another apartment. The owners daughter told us it would take longer to clean which was fine. However I felt she made no effort whatsoever to hurry the process along and it certainly did take longer! We were left sitting by the pool with (2 children who had been travelling for 10 hours) for 4 hours without so much as an offer of a glass of water! Luckily one of the other residents took pity on us and invited us in for a drink and somewhere to change into 'pool' clothes. She said the same thing had happened to them the previous week.

All in all we were not really impressed and did not feel welcome or valued there at all. I think the owners daughter needs to work on her hospitality skills!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alicein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed there with my family in July 2011. We have 2 young children of 10 and 9. We chose the property Masionette Suzy. There were 2 singles upstairs and a fold out couch downstairs. It was basic but enough for a weeks stay. The photos are a little out of date now and the property is showing signs of wear and tear.

Rules on the use of the pool were enforced by the owners, especially the owners daughter. The pool was locked in the evening and children had to be accompanied even if you could see them from your balcony 5 meters away. The worst thing was the attitude of the owners daughter. Clearly not liking tourist she called my son horrible names in French every time she saw him as he had caught the sun and was peeling. She didn't know we live and speak French and when I confronted her she was very angry, with no sign of remorse. For a grown woman to make a 9 year old boy cry through hurtful remarks is unforgivable. We will not be retuning and I advise others to look elsewhere. It may look like good value for money compared to other places but there is no value placed on your custom. Finally, we had to get rid of the ant infestation ourselves. Nothing major but another hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The terraced houses at Residence Marie Diane have a lovely view down towards the town of Propriano and its harbour. It's a 10 min gentle stroll down the hill to the town, and the journey back is not too strenuous.
Great to be provided with a cool box and beach umbrella, and to have enough stuff in the kitchen to cook proper food if wanted, though there's plenty of choice (20+ restaurants / bars / pizzerias etc in town) and a lovely relaxed atmosphere around the complex (typified by the info pack - no rules about when the pool can be used, just a request to keep noise down if it's early, or late, or siesta time) and the gardens have flowers and herbs galore.
The owners are on hand in case of any problems (we didn't have any!) but you could not see them for a full week except for checking in and out if you wanted. Great helpful info provided on how to find the place etc too.
The houses are just as described and photographed on the owners' website - no unnecessary luxuries but everything you need for a relaxing break, touring the many spectacular beaches or visiting nearby cities and ancient sites.
Already planning another trip, maybe taking some friends along too ...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mme_Cholet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Propriano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
#1 of 11 in Propriano
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#9 of 11 in Propriano
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sampiero Corso
Le Sampiero Corso
#4 of 11 in Propriano
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#5 of 11 in Propriano
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Claridge
Hotel Le Claridge
#3 of 11 in Propriano
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#7 of 11 in Propriano
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Marie-Diane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Marie-Diane

Address: Propriano, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Propriano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Propriano
Price Range: $93 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Marie-Diane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Marie-Diane Propriano, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing