We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Holiday”
Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A relaxing week, with great food and friendly staff. Easy access to beaches, mountains and so much to see and do. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BottomBracket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 431 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

I am and have been a great fan of small family run 2/3* hotels in France for many years so when a trip to Corsica was planned the ethos of this type of establishment was very much to the fore.

The trip was in the autumn, the end of October and very much towards the end of the holiday season on the island. Accommodation choice was therefore going to be limited due to the vast majority of establishments having shut up shop weeks previously. I say choice was limited but it wasn’t for me as I had intended for many years to return to the island (having previously stayed on the West Coast) and visit the South and stay at my chosen destination, the 2 star Hotel San Giovanni just to the west of Porto Vecchio. The hotel was just the type of family run establishment I seek out and it stays open until the middle of November.

The 2 star rating and tariff together with the setting and reputation of the food were also in my thoughts.

The first impression I got when entering the grounds of the hotel was “wow, what beautiful gardens”. They are indeed a tribute to the owners and ground staff who work hard to maintain this little corner of paradise, a tranquil oasis in the Corsican countryside yet only minutes from the town of Porto Veccio.
Then you come across the heated (27 degree) outdoor pool with its clear water and inviting surrounds, so inviting and probably more so during the heat of summer.

The welcome at reception was warm and friendly and we were soon escorted through the grounds to the bedroom. Most of the bedrooms are situated in single storey bungalow type accommodation and, as is typical of the 2 star rating are of the functional rather than luxurious style.

The shower room had been recently refurbished with tones of brown tiling and a large shower area with both large attachment and a secondary smaller shower head.
The main part of the room consisted of the double bed and a separate single bed cunningly disguised as a settee (couch), and plenty of cupboard space and a dressing table. The decoration was typical white walls and a red tiled floor. The room also benefited from a small patio area with three chairs overlooking some of the gardens, everything you need for a relaxing stay. I will only mention the television in passing.

As food is one of my passions I am always keen to sample most things on offer and pay attention to previous reviews. Most reviews of the San Giovanni have been positive, you do however have to put into context the 2 star rating of the hotel.

I would describe the food as honest homely and rustic in style with some degree of flare, it doesn’t have the refinement (or prices) of a Michelin starred establishment, nor does it pretend to. The hotel offers a good buffet breakfast and an evening menu consisting of 3 courses – a choice of 2 entrees, 2 mains and 4 desserts.
Breakfast was the usual tea’s, coffee, chocolate, fruit juices. Cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt’s, eggs, mountain ham, cheese and a wide selection of superb breads, croissant, pain au chocolate, toast, cake and jams plus a few other items. A really good start to the day.

The Evening menu offerings during my visit were:

Day 1
Rillette of Rabbit (very good with a creamy texture and a garlic infusion)
Or Sea food salad
**
Lasagne or Sardines
**
Ille Flotanne – Poached Pear with chocolate ice cream – Crepe – Selection of Cheese.


Day 2
Carrot soup with coconut milk and curry spice
Or Lentil salad with cheese, croutons and hazlenuts (both very tasty)
**
Blanquette de Veau Or Penne with salmon and local cheese.
**
Desserts - same as above with the addition of Chocolate Mousse.

Day 3
Mushroom veloute with Corsican cheese
Or Onion, bacon and apple tart.
**
Chicken with red peppers and dauphinoise potatoes
Or Risotto with leeks, goats cheese and tomato.
**
Desserts - Crepes, Pear Tart, Chocolate mousse or Shortbread with raspberry – selection of cheese.

Day 4
Vegetable terrine
Or Duck salad with orange and walnuts.
**
Pork Filet with mushrooms, lardons and baked potatoes
Or Linguine with mussels and octypus
**
Dessert – Crepe, Shortbread with raspberry, Pear tart or Panna Cotta – selection of cheese.

Day 5
Lentil veloute with gorgonzola
Or Vitello Tonato (thinly sliced veal with tuna sauce)
**
Dorade (sea bream on the bone)
Or Confit of Rabbit
**
Dessert – Crepe, Pear tart, Panna cotta, tiramisu – selection of cheese

Day 6
Pressed beef and roasted vegetables
Or Gnnochii
**
Gambas (large prawns) with couscous
Or Confit of lamb with couscous
**
Dessert – Crepe - Raspberry cheesecake - Double Chocolate Mousse - Chestnut and Hazlenut gateau - Selection of cheese.

Day 7
Veloute of cauliflower with apple
Or Croustillant chevre with sauce viegre (filo parcel filled with leek and goats cheese)
**
Vegetable lasagne
Or Brochette of Veal with polenta
**
Dessert – Crepe – Chocolate mousse - Selection of cheese, Strawberry/raspberry almond cream.


All in all the food was good although seasoning on some of the dishes was lacking and some of the portions (for the same dish) varied in size. Desserts seemed somewhat repetitive and certainly the shortbread was overcooked causing it to taste bitter.

As far as pricing is concerned the menu was 20 Euro, wine between 17-20 Euro a bottle.

Double rooms 70-127 Euro per night, Double room Half Board 127 – 165 Euro per night.

The question you will possibly be asking is “Would you return to this hotel?” and the answer is Yes.

I am a little surprised the hotel only rates the official 2 stars (closer to 3 stars for me), however the catch twenty two situation here is that moving up to the 3 star category (in my opinion it would not be that difficult) would probably result in prices increasing therefore also requiring an improvement in the restaurant variety and quality. If you have a winning formula that attracts repeat business and you are able to maintain a high standard of service delivery and value for money why change it.

So if you are looking for a good value, relaxing corner to chill out and recharge your batteries then the 2 Stars that are Stuck in Corsica may well be for you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LANCON13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Travelling with a youngish family (12 & 8), this is an excellent family run hotel where the standards are high (both food and room cleanliness) and the service is excellent. If you want champagne brought to your room by room service, this is not upmarket enough, but the owner confided that she preferred two stars instead of the three she had been offered as it ensured guests knew exactly what they were getting and she could over-deliver on her promise! Having said that, this was better than the three star Corsican hotels we also stayed in, the menu each day is great, the rooms are very reasonably sized, but the service, gardens, pool, tennis court and central al fresco seating area is fantastic. At night, it is utterly peaceful and the stars are very bright.

Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RT_and_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at the Htoel San Giovanni for two nights for my husband's birthday. We took our three year old with us. The hotel is set in stunning gardens with fantastic outdoor areas. When we went, the weather was in the 20's, I can imagine the gardens getting even more use in the warmer months. We didn't swim in hte pool, but the setting is again wonderful.

Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly Guilliame, who was fantstic with our daughter.

We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Think this is our third review and wanted to remind people how great this hotel is! Lovely grounds, great food & great staff. Rooms basic but very clean and tidy. Great location for all the main beaches in the area and for access to Porto-Vecchio. Highly recommend it! Book early!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Not so much an hotel in the traditional sense, more a restaurant with rooms set in a beautiful garden. The San Giovanni is quite a way out of Porto Vecchio so a car is essential unless you choose to spend all your time in the grounds. All the food is superb, so having to have half-board in high season is not a problem - in fact probably preferable to trying to find a table in town. Breakfasts are just as excellent as dinner with a wide selection of fruit compotes, breads, pastries, jams, etc. The hotel has its own swimming pool, tennis court, table tennis and football facilities, all very well maintained. The only disappointment was the lack of air-con whch meant it was difficult to achieve a comfortable temperature in the room for sleeping. With that one proviso I would recommend the San Giovanni unreservedly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil_oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at Hotel San Giovanni. The grounds of the property are beautiful and it is a short drive to a few of the nicest beaches we have ever seen. It was great to end off each day with an amazing dinner in their outdoor restaurant and then a drink under the stars. The food here was truly exceptional!! The rooms were very basic but not a big deal....I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a truly relaxing Corsican experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissCan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
480 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#3 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golfe Hotel
Golfe Hotel
#6 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rocca Rossa B&B
Rocca Rossa B&B
#9 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
118 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Holzer
Hotel Holzer
#12 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
170 reviews
3.7 mi away
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
#19 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Address: Route d Arca, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#3 Best Value Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range: $85 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Giovanni 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
Hotel San Giovanni Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing