We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme expense, minimum hospitality”
Review of Hotel Casadelmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casadelmar
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were concerned when we read the negative TripAdvisor reviews, but our travel agent assured us it would be great. It wasn't. Expensive beyond all sensibility, without value for the money, e.g. a $7 bottle of wine for $70. No warmth, service is barely good enough, but almost clinical. Unless you have a car, terrible location. $100 cab ride to anywhere. Food options limited to overpriced 2-star to outrageously priced bar food in the lobby on coffee tables. Room was good. Mosquitos by the pool (no extra charge).

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
14  Thank Bfinearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is very well situated, just a few minutes by car to Porto Vecchio, and with a magnificent view to the bay. It's very elegant contemporary style and very comfortable. The outdoors areas are fantastic to relax. The room is amazing, with a big terrace and all amenities. We were very kindly received by the staff, and they were really attentive during our stay there. The soft spot is the restaurants, in our opinion, it should have more variety at the menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cintiafarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived in Porto Vecchio and had some travel problems that caused a bit of stress for my family. Fortunately a friend recommended the new Hotel Casadelmar. We first met the reservation director, Jordan, who would be our wonderful point of contact during our stay. While it was right in the middle of high season, she managed to accommodate our family of five, including our five year old twins. they were great! And this part ofnthemtrip got off to a very nice start.

The rooms were great - pool level junior suite and a separate executive room. Exactly what you would expect from a new, five star: nice beds, clean modern bathrooms and nice decks overloonking the bay

Good breakfast options, but would have preferred if the buffet had eggs included. Great unch at the bar and enjoyed a takeaway dinner in the room.

Kids loved the pool and the small beach nearby, but were excited about the boat ride over to their sister property where we had a great lunch and got sun beds right on the beautiful and quite beach.

I had to leave on short notice for work, and once again Jordan was there to help make the arrangements. My kids weren't ready to go yet so they stayed for two more days.

Saw friends there on a romantic getaway, would definitely go back with the kids. Overall a great place, and with the ammenities, a great place to beat the heat.

Room Tip: Our twins and the nanny really enjoyed their lower suite (level -1) as they would walk righ out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have invited a busines contact for dinner at the so-called "gastronomic" restaurant. There was no option other than one out of four fixed menus. We both just wanted to eat some of the good fish the area in known for... Forget it! A never-ending series of useless dishes, no substance, just sauces and complicated descriptions... The "welcome" aperitif was charged Too. In the end, a disappointing meal cost us like a weekend. Do not go.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
8  Thank Maria409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The most amazing is the strand: about 10 square meters in the port. Please take note: we were paying 1.200 EUR/night. Also the service quite impressing: at 10 pm came a maid asking if "she could made up the room". Another one came at 8.30 AM waking us up. Terrible price quality. Please avoid!!!!! Girls at reception just sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rinaldo i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at Casadelmar for a week in August and had a thoroughly pleasant time. It is true that the hotel is expensive (both in terms of room charge and food/beverages), but we found that, all considered, you get your money's worth. Below is a summary of the main aspects of our experience.

Booking process
Not something one would generally mention, but, in this case, it is worth noting that, at least during peak season, it is the hotel's policy to charge 20% of the room rate for the entire stay at the time of booking and the remainder approximately a month before arrival. In my experience, this falls very much at the harsher end of the cancellation policy spectrum, particularly the immediate 20% charge. Having said that, it wasn't an issue in our case, though, of course, it is something one should bear in mind prior to booking.

Décor/Communal Areas
Without doubt, a strong point for the hotel, if not the strongest. Everything in the communal areas is immaculate (with the very minor exception of certain cushions, see below). The terraces with the formal restaurant/bar and the Grill are beautiful with stunning views of the gulf. The beaches (two very small ones), though perhaps not the most naturally remarkable, are tastefully and very comfortably equipped. The same goes for the swimming pool. Remarkably, despite it being high season and the hotel at full capacity (I would imagine), the communal areas never felt busy (probably because many guests chose to go to some of the prettier, though busier, beaches in the vicinity during day time). The result is that, during the day, there was a constant air of peace and tranquillity about the place which, in my view, is invaluable. In the evening, the hotel had a pleasant buzz due to the popularity of the gastronomic restaurant and terrace bar. Speaking of which, I can think of few things more enjoyable than sipping an (albeit expensive) aperitif on that terrace whilst staring at the sunset.

Rooms
We had two rooms – one Superior and one Deluxe (worth paying a bit more for the Deluxe). They were both well appointed, if a bit plain (though that is arguably a matter of taste). Also, perhaps, the technological equipment could be improved/updated. Not a major concern in a beach resort, but, in my view, this would be a relatively inexpensive addition that would make a guest's stay that extra bit more comfortable. The terraces in each room are spectacular (large sliding doors, all teak - like pretty much the rest of the outside spaces in the hotel - and with breathtaking views). It wouldn't necessarily be an exaggeration to say that at least half the price of the room would be justified by the terrace alone.

Food
During our stay, we ate at the Grill everyday for lunch and, for dinner, twice at the Grill and twice at the gastronomic restaurant, which currently holds two Michelin stars and has limited choice with only four tasting menus. With regards to the latter, our experience was somewhat inconsistent: the first time, we opted for the cheaper (and what we thought simpler) menu, which turned out to be an odd mix-match of flavours and textures, which, in my opinion, didn't quite work and didn't justify the €125 it cost per person. The second time, we opted for the most expensive (and what we thought extravagant) menu, which turned out to be more traditional in style and a dazzling culinary tour de force, worth every cent of the €195 per person it cost. The wine list, though good and not dauntingly large, is very heavily marked-up, but, alas, this comes with the territory. With respect to the Grill, it was very good for both lunch and dinner, with much simpler dishes, well executed. The produce used is also excellent. It is not cheap by any stretch of the imagination, with €30-40 starters and €40-50 mains, though this is not inconsistent with the prices charged at similar resorts elsewhere and, in our experience, the quality was generally better. Similarly, drinks are as expensive as those in similar high-end hotels elsewhere (e.g. €20 cocktails, €8 for beer, coffees, soft drinks, teas, etc.).

I should mention that we dined out three times during our stay and the bills for these outings didn't turn out to be much cheaper, if not more expensive, than a meal at the Grill, although I can recommend all three external restaurants we dined at: the restaurants at the hotels Belvedere and Cala Rossa (both very good, particularly the latter, with a Michelin star each and cheaper than Casadelmar's formal restaurant), and the beach-side Tamaricciu (remarkably expensive for a beach-side restaurant, though the catch of the day was absolutely delicious; the other stuff decidedly less so). All in all, considering the quality of the food, the prices at similar resorts, the generally high prices of the area, and, in particular, the wonderful ambience, we felt that the prices at Casadelmar, though high, were not unreasonable.

Service
Excellent throughout. Pretty much all staff we came across were extremely polite, without being unnecessarily deferential, and helpful, in an intuitive sort of way, e.g. remembering our orders at restaurants, etc. Those few that didn't meet this very high standard were nonetheless professional and polite.

Overall
Overall, an excellent hotel. Indeed, probably the one that has ticked the most boxes for us in a while. Expensive, yes, but worth it. Certainly the best hotel in the vicinity of Porto Vecchio (the Hotel Cala Rossa and Belvedere, though different in style and perfectly pleasant, did not seem to be in the same league as Casadelmar, by a long stretch, but, then again, the latter is significantly more expensive).

A couple of minor suggestions for improvements. I emphasise that these issues did not detract in any meaningful way from the enjoyment of our stay and are not therefore reflected in the overall score.

Booking policy: as mentioned above, the cancellation policy could be more customer friendly. Perhaps, no pre-payment at time of booking, 50% a month before and 50% one week before?

Rooms: technology update (i.e. newer, larger TV and mp3 player).

Gastronomic restaurant: more consistency in the style of cooking across the different tasting menus, or, at least more clarity on the menus (though this may very well be a one-off issue and/or a matter of subjective preference). Also, it may be worth considering introducing an a la carte option.

Cushions on terraces: there are black cushions scattered on the couches on the terraces. These seem to be made of synthetic material, though I don't rule out that they could be made of some bizarre leather and that they may be very expensive. Either way, I found them to be a bit ugly and slightly irritating to the skin. They should probably be replaced with something softer to the touch. Ludicrously minor point, but there you go.

All in all, thoroughly recommended for those seeking peace and tranquillity. Will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank TheTub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is getting close to what I consider perfect. Very well designed and executed modern structure directly by the seaside. Size of rooms is fine, furniture is very well done, private terrace facing the sea, bathroom very nice.
Spa looked stunning. The hotel reaches down to the sea with beds and restaurants practically on the shoreline and the boats of the hotel in the water in front of them. There are more beautiful beaches in the region (no sand here) but, for sure, none are equipped and served better.
Service is excellent - reservation, reception, parking, room service, restaurants etc - the staff practically understands what you want before you have told them.
Food in the restaurant is fantastic - choice is a bit limited with four menus inside of which little variation is possible.
All this luxury comesat a very steep price - even for the standards of the region which is overall quite expensive. But if you are looking for luxury and don't mind the money there is hardly any better choice you could make.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Correspondent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto-Vecchio
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA
33.8 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
#7 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#3 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
420 reviews
72.5 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casadelmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casadelmar

Address: route de Palombaggia | Bp 93, 20538, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range: $555 - $1,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Casadelmar 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, striking, and filled with natural light, Hotel Casadelmar is located on a peninsula just outside the town of Porto-Vecchio on the southeast coastline of Corsica, overlooking the Mediterranean. An intimate, contemporary resort, its design blends seamlessly with its environment. Surrounded by well-tended gardens, the hotel offers rooms with clean, uncluttered lines, accented by oversize windows, stone floors, and brightly colored fabrics that reflect both the calm and liveliness of the Corsican lifestyle. Each accommodation also boasts an outdoor terrace with sunbeds, and sweeping sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casadelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casadelmar Hotel Porto Vecchio
Casadelmar Porto Vecchio
Hotel Casadelmar Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing