We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Restaurant Playa Baggia
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Porto-Vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fantastic service, location and friendly staff. A real find. Will certainly revisit. The staff worked really hard and the maitre 'd' does a really good job. Food flies out of the kitchen. The steak was one of the best I've eaten. Next time we visit we want to try their breakfast. Not cheap but a worthwhile holiday treat on one of the best beaches in Corsica/Med.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 165joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    240
    42
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Caro mane vale la pena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Absolutely fabuolus. Servise is really express and, despite it is a bit crowd of tables, it is absolutely amazing. Chef is superb, especially for desserts. And i don't speak french: once you come to Corse, it is obvious to adapt to local mood

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riccardo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice beach restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Playa Baggia restaurant is located on the well-known wonderful white sand beach of Palombaggia. Logically, the best way to come here is with a boat, because otherwise it is difficult (or very expensive) to park your car near the restaurant.

The restaurant has a shuttle boat service, the only thing you have to do is place your boat in front of the restaurant and wave the man that is in charge of the shuttle boat. He will assist you to moor your boat and disembark your passengers safely, which is a great plus, since the beach may be overcrowded during the summer and, therefore, the risk to hurt someone with your boat increases.

Talking about the place itself : the restaurant is totally open air, and you can enjoy the view on the beach. There are also some sofas on the sand, which are highly welcomed when you want to enjoy an "apéritif" or a cocktail at the end of the afternoon.

The service is impressive for a beach restaurant : fast, and very cheerful (which is a must in Corsica). The food fits the atmosphere : the plates are generous and well-made. I recommend the salads, and also the wok-sautéed noodles with beef or chicken.
If you are still hungry for the desert (and, believe me, it's hard), you can enjoy some delightful profiteroles, before taking a huuuge nap on the sand!

There are many restaurants on Palombaggia, and, as you may know, the most expensive ones are not the best ones. This restaurant is well-designed, the food and the service are nice, and it is located on the most beautiful beach of southern Corsica. Of course, it is not cheap, but, to my mind, the atmosphere and the food worth the price, making Playa Baggia the best value for money restaurant in this area.

Do not forget to make a reservation, since the place is quite famous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best beach restaurant in the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Turned up on Saturday lunchtime and just about got a table. As everyone has said, the food is exceptionally good and has that slight Indonesian twist with imaginative use of additional spices. With such a busy restaurant I found the service to be as attentive as it could be. We observed how hard the staff worked and how proffessional they were. Our only regret was that we discovered it on the last day, otherwise we could have avoided some very average food in Porto Vecchio. Regarding price, I thought it was actually more reasonable than many other places in town. Sure it's not the cheapest but you really do get what you pay for.

There was also a genuine mix of couples and families. We had 2 children with us and found them extremely accommodating and very child friendly. You just try this place at least once.

Note it is only open on one evening which is Friday, where they have live music.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Byworth_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Playa Baggia also viewed

Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Restaurant Playa Baggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing