We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, great food”

Restaurant A Merendella
Ranked #72 of 209 Restaurants in Porto-Vecchio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning view, great food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

It's a fair climb from the harbour up to the old town but well worth it for the views and they don't come better than from this restaurant. It isn't huge but has an interesting double tier balcony which ensures great views for all. The service was very friendly and efficient. I had the fish soup to start which was excellent and would have been enough on its own but I managed a superbly cooked entrecôte too. Well worth exploring the high town to find this place.

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    117
    54
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mons
Level Contributor
278 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great view, decent price”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arrived at 1800h on a Friday in July; doors were open but they weren't ready to go until 1900h. No big deal, everywhere is a little different on the start times. Came back at 1900h and got a table for 5 right on the balcony; nice to be first! Menu of 19.50 was good; the entree was large and tasty. Main dish was good too. Kid's menu for 8eur was excellent for my son. Great service, pichets of house wine were quite good too. No complaints, the trends of positive reviews are accurate. Place was full when we left at 2045h, looked pretty popular.

Shout-out to my fellow reviewers; we picked this place based on the tripadvisor reviews.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Price/Quality”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very nice atmosphere overlooking Porto_Vecchio Marina. Superb service, quick, attentive, always with a smile. Food is very good for the price paid. Recommend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piupolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really great food, with good service!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We had a table outside, with a great view on the porto-vecchio gulf. The food was good, the service was friendly and quick and the ambiance was simple but cosy.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiumiuTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
“bon repas, nice view... but the food could be better”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

It was a birthday of my husband. We waited about 5-10 minutes to get a table, which was good. The restaurant seemed crowded. The view was excellent, we arrived at the sunset and it was beautiful. Worth a visit just for the nice view. The starters were good, big portion of meat (some cured ham), salad had no sauce at all :) . Main was a grilled steak, they did't bring any spices or sauces. Tiramisu as dessert would be better at home if you made it yourself... anyway, nice ambience and reasonable prices, so I recommend it!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nataliada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant A Merendella also viewed

Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Restaurant A Merendella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing