We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Night Out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grilladin - CLOSED

Le Grilladin
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We reserved a table a day in advance. Glad we did because this place is really popular and in high season they will probably always be very busy. Very warm and friendly welcome. Lots of help offered in understanding the menu choices. Our waitress was charming and really helped to make this a special night out. Food was excellent. Top quality fare beautifully prepared. Yes it was at the pricier end of the restaurants we have dined at but was head and shoulders above the others. Special place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    14
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an expensive treat to most people (280 euros for 4) but worth every euro.

The restaurant is set down by the marina which guarantees a night of aquatic bling.Must win the Lotto! The actual restaurant is across the road from the main eating area but go in and see the freshest of food (including a tank of Lobsters on death row) being prepared and simply, but expertly, cooked. Lamb, duck, beef and fish were all being cooked on/ near a wood burning oven.

Didn't have starters but ones arriving at other tables were visually stunning. Turbot was superb and simply presented. Ditto fellow diner's tuna. Unfortunately, there was no banana left for the roast banana pud so I just had a breast of roast duck instead.

Wine list is not extensive but sampled a delicious local Rose at 39 euros a bottle and a lovely Red from Sartenes.

Staff were delightful and my feeble French was not a match for their English.

A few nights of Pizza lie ahead to fund an end of holiday visit. In the vein of the River Cafe in London, and such other places, this place shows how the best ingredients simply cooked are such a delight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The place is rather expensive compared to other places in the Marina, but it was well worth it. The service was quick and attentive. The food was very good. The terrace of the restaurants is very nicely placed overlooking the Marina and with a nice view of Porto Vecchio up on the hill. Unlike most of other places around this one is more quiet and romantic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Special Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We visit La Grilladin whenever we visit Corsica. It is true that the food takes a long time to arrive, but it is excellent quality and really worth the wait.
The starters are fresh and the flavours are superb. The meat and fish are both sensational.
The view is really fabulous especially if you book early and get a good table overlooking the harbour.
The waitresses work very hard running about from the kitchen, over the road to the harbour view terrace, and have always been very polite with us and our poor french!
Sevrina the waitress has always been very kind and patient with us, and we will return next year!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cashmere375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“N'y allez pas! Dont go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Pire service jamais, insultees par la servitrice. Probably the worst service we have ever experienced. Ordered beef steak which we had to wait for 45 mins, beef came w two lame pieces of broccoli. When asked waitress for side orders we basically got yelled at. Even when paying she was extremely rude.
Would never advices anyone to eat there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlysthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grilladin also viewed

Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Lecci, Porto-Vecchio
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
Porto-Vecchio, Corse-du-Sud
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing