We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Porticcio
Saint Louis, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel was great with a nice balcony facing the sea. The spa and the fitness center are also very welcome after a day of visiting amazing corsica. The swimming pool was closed and should open in April. Looks really amazing !!! The small negative point is that the toilets are in the bathroom, not separated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Ajaccio, Manager at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Marie G,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Resort and Spa Ajaccio Bay****.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Ajaccio soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    522
    217
    98
    42
See reviews for
329
611
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Corsica seems to be an expensive spot for hotels and this is no exception. The location of this hotel is fantastic - a lovely sandy bay where you can walk or run for a couple of kilometers (though the sea gets deep very quick so not ideal for small kids). BUT if you don't have a rental car you'll be stuck - the taxi to/from the airport will set you back 40-50 Euro, there's a bus into Ajaccio a couple of times a day (none on Sundays) and it takes about half an hour. The next town is beyond walking distance too, so do get a car or else you'll be dining (expensively) in the hotel or in the couple of restaurants next to it every night (there's a small supermarket, grocers and a newspaper agent too). The rooms themselves are gorgeous, generous, modern, bright, a great bathroom and a huge, really comfortable bed! Rooms with sea view are spectular - you can sit on your very private balcony and enjoy the sunset every night - the ones without are not worth mentioning as they really do look out on the car park and a building site, so don't go near them. In fact, I upgraded as soon as I stepped into the hotel. I didn't use the spa but it looked lovely from the outside (though expensive too, and access to the wellness area is not included in the standard room price). Breakfast will set you back another 25 Euro. So, overall, lovely but expensive hotel and only to be recommended to those who rent a car from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuffleIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Ajaccio, Manager at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our sea view. and our rooms

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice on paper and lovely view (if you are prepared to pay extra, otherwise enjoy the parking lot vista). Children aren't allowed in the inside pool, that wasn't specified on the hotels's website when we went and is it was late autumn, the outside pool was freezing. Very disappointing and no excuse/attempts from the staff to perhaps work around it - the hotel was mostly empty. The road is quite busy, be careful when crossing. Few food choices nearby so you will have to drive. Otherwise, there is always the average quality overpriced hotel menu. Overall - very bland large spiritless hotel. The rooms are decent as you would expect for such a chain hotel. Staff not particularly friendly apart from the cold well rehearsed smiles upon arrival. The view is nice, but you can enjoy that in most other places, it belongs to nature. Otherwise, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamarthe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Ajaccio, Manager at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the moment I walked in to the lobby till I check out, I pretty much enjoyed every moment of my stay. All the staff (front desk/lobby, bellhop, concierge, housekeeping & pool attendant) were so friendly and helpful - it's like a breath of fresh air.

<Guest Rooms>
**I was able to try two different types of rooms:
-Family room with mountain view: A room with a king bed, closet, mini bar, desk/chair and a separate area with bunk beds & lots of storage, large bathroom with double sinks
-Standard room with sea view: A king bed, closet, mini bar, desk/chair and a breathtaking view!

**As well as the 'usual' amenities such as Shampoo/Conditioner/Shower gel/Lotion etc, Slippers, Sewing kit, Shoehorn/Shoe mitt & Vanity kit(Q-tips/nail files - essential for female guests) are provided in the room

**Electric Kettle: absolutely perfect for me as I am a major tea person (coffee drinkers might be disappointed though...as there's no coffee maker in the room)

**Power Outlet (interchangeable) - You don't have to use plug adapter...very clever!

<Property Overall>
**Breakfast Buffet at terrace with gorgeous sea view: Eggs, meat/coldcuts, bacon/sausage, potato, fruits(fresh/compote), cheese, baked goods/bread, yogurt, cereal, coffee/tea/juices

**Though I wasn't crazy about dipping my feet in those shallow puddles of water to get to the pool, once you enter the pool area all your problems will go away...beautiful pool, plenty of loungers/tables, umbrellas with spectacular sea view

**No ATM machine or convenient/general store inside the hotel, but the little shopping centre next-door has them, as well as post office, gift shop, supermarket and restaurants.

**From the pool to your right is a little path; going straight down to the main street, or you can make a right turn (dirt path) half way - for shortcut to the shopping centre, very handy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydneytheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Ajaccio, Manager at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our staff and our rooms.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
732 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Rooms are big , bathrooms are really nice and clean. We didn't have a chance to go to the pool, but a beautiful pool overlooking the Sea. Very modern looking building, but is very nice with great modern décor. People working there were very friendly. We would have liked to have stayed one extra day so we could hang at the pool...... It was a way from town so there were no restaurants close by within walking distance that we could find. Town of Ajaccio had character.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Ajaccio, Manager at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel's design and our rooms.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having spent most of the time on the island in smaller family hotels, this one was at the end of our trip. And we liked it so much. Rooms were not ready at check in (at 1400h), the checkin agent gave us 4 drink voucher for the pool. And we could enjoy everything from the bar.

The rooms with sea view are just spectacular. The infinity pool speaks for itself. And the welcome gift was just the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: Room with sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExploreBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson-Ajaccio, Manager at Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and think we are one of the best Radisson Blu ! We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is on a decent beach for swimming, snorkelling, and relaxing. It's not one of those little charming hidden coves - go elsewhere for that.

The hotel is new, mostly well designed, good internal ambience over 4 floors in the centre part. Nice views to the beach / sea. Spacious, nice seating areas in the bar and restaurant areas. The pool area is very nice - just a rectangular 'infinity' pool cunningly designed so that from most sunbeds the next things you see is the sea.

Bedroom: decent size, good quality bed, quality bathroom, pleasant shaded verandah with seating. One night we heard the resident next door snoring, so the sound insulation could be better, but to be fair, I think this might have been one of those world class loud snorers...

However... half the rooms look over the carpark! This is an architectural fail for an otherwise well-designed building. The parking should have been underground, which would have been easy in this location.

And... the exterior landscaping, while superficially ok, was not done by professionals, and was weedy, full of erosion from rain, and structurally badly designed. There is an opportunity waiting here...

And... the meal offerings are inflexible. Breakfast is 20€/person (40€/couple) - that's your only choice, and you won't get proper espresso coffee in that price. If you are the kind of person who wants a proper latte or espresso, and a croissant or piece of toast, you need to go elsewhere. We had dinner one night - it was good, but expensive. If you are there for a week, you won't want to spend (or eat) like that every night. US hotels routinely have a cafe and/or bar in the hotel these days serving proper espresso coffee and small meals / snacks.

Even for people who eat a lot for breakfast... I eat out often in London for breakfast, and I would struggle to spend €20.

The bar prices are over the top. Cappuccino - €5.60. I live in Chiswick London, and for a large double shot world-beating Italian style latte I pay £2.50. Note to Radisson Blu: get your price point right. You get no margin if people buy 0 drinks!

Now, in the grand scheme of things, the above things don't matter that much, unless you want to exist solely inside the hotel. Next door are 4 outdoor terrace style restaurants serving great pizza, mussels, seafood linguini, entrecote etc, and normal priced drinks. The epicerie and suprette provide all you need in terms of fruit, chocolate, beer, as well as the ubiquitous local Corse products, including great confiture.

Porticchio is 10 mins away by car, and has probably a dozen decent restaurants, at least half on the sea, and while none are cheap, the ones we ate at were good value. Plus other shops (traiteur, market shops, fashion etc).

So overall, if you are happy with the price of the room, this hotel is fine to stay at. The few staff I talked to were pleasant, and you can have a nice stay there.

Note to Radisson Blu: I travel a LOT for work, and see a lot of hotels all over Europe, US, Aus, and South America. Fix your exterior landscaping, get your prices sorted out, and offer a small breakfast with proper coffee, and you are onto a winner.

Room Tip: If you fancy sitting on your balcony staring at the sea with a glass of wine in hand, you'll nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolandscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porticcio
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
31.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kalliste Hotel Residence
Kalliste Hotel Residence
#1 of 9 in Porticcio
302 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
533 reviews
54.0 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay

Property: Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
Address: Agosta Plage, 20166 Porticcio, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porticcio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Porticcio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porticcio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay Porticcio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing