We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mariana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mariana
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Cuggiono, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

A very pleasant hotel, all that we needed: clean, quiet, spacious, balcony, room with a view, very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast, parking place in front,close to the city centre. One point of criticism: the room needs new wallpaper as here and there it was damaged.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arturo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    76
    46
    14
    13
See reviews for
31
96
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

My stay at the Mariana Hotel Bastia was stop-over on my way to Calvi. I booked this decently priced room not hoping for much. I arrived to the hotel with my boyfriend and the receptionist was pleasant and offered a map, suggesting a few places to walk by for entertainment and restaurants. She even made an effort to speak English to my boyfriend! Our room was surprisingly spacious, so was the bathroom. Even if the hotel is not by the sea we could see it from our room. The air flow, the smell was refreshing.
We thought it was unfortunate that we did not stay longer. The only downside is the cost of the not so great "buffet" breakfast. But at least we got everything needed there.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LunaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

We (30s couple) were unsure of where to stay in Calvi and ultimately chose Hotel Mariana nervous of the mixed reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooftop pool is a fantastic option if you want a change from the beach. It's new, clean, spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful, plus the light lunches are good. The location is basically halfway between the town and the beach, although set back and up a short hill. If you're looking for a mid-range hotel, this is one to go for. The pool is on top of what looks like a new extension to the hotel. We were in the old part but the rooms were still clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovesuntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Because of a problem with the ferry-boat we came a day too late, but since we've paid a night ahead, we thougt there was no problem, but when we checked in, the owner was so unfriendly and told us that she couldnt rent our room a second time and she was very upset. I told her since the room was paid allready that she had to reserve it and that we will stay all the other reserved nights too. Then we became standard rooms and we had to pay very comfort rooms. The breakfast was continental ( the price not) and we had to beg for more coffee. to have more bread is impossible.
The last day we staid we had only cold water and when we told here she didnt even give us an answer. The hotel could be a good hotel if the owner would change.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calvi hotels

UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

I loved this hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone making a trip to Calvi. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The reception area is immaculate and the rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard. We had a standard room with a sea view and a spacious balcony, which was lovely. The breakfast was 11 euros, which is quite expensive but worth it, as there is fresh fruit and yoghurts, cereals, and delicious cheeses and meats, and fresh baguettes and a pastry, as well as coffee or tea all included. You won't be allowed to take any food out of the restaurant, the staff are quite strict about that, but you can certainly eat all you want during breakfast! The pool area is fantastic, situated in the newer part of the hotel - there are spectacular views of the mountains, and plenty of space to laze around. The pool is clean and a good temperature. Overall, this is a great place, and only a 5-7 minute walk into town, so really convenient too. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTravel09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Based on all the good reviews we had planned to stay in the Regina. However as it was full we stayed in the Mariana which is opposite the Regina. The room was significantly cheaper (115 euros a night) for 2 adults plus a 3 year old and a baby than the figures we had previously been quoted by the Regina of 135 euros for the cheapest room plus 26 euros a night for a bed for the 3 year old plus 13 euros a night for a cot for a baby which had seemed to be pretty overpriced for a 3* hotel. The room was comfortable with air conditioning (which broke after the first day and was not repaired) and double glazing. Decor was pleasant although starting to look slightly tired. Virtually all rooms seem to face the Regina with the sea and mountains beyond and have balconies. Probably the best feature of the hotel was the fantastic new indoor/outdoor pool on the roof of the new wing of the hotel from which you had a great view of the mountains across the bay. There also seemed to be plenty of parking whereas space at the Regina appeared to be limited. Whilst we can't directly compare the two hotels as we didn't stay in the Regina, on price alone we would stay in the Mariana in preference to the Regina.

The location is good for the station (5 minutes walk) and the harbour and citadel (10 minutes walk).

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wentworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

we stayed at this hotel late september and were very impressed. the hotel. rooms very kept very clean, the staff were very friendly and polite and the hotel was of a very high standard for a three star hotel.
we had a room upgrade to what they call a 'grand comfort room' which had a balcony which views over the sea and mountains, the bed linnen and towels were changed every day and there was a safe,mini-bar and flat screen television in the room.
breakfast was good with friendly attentive staff
there is also a large rooftop sun louge area with a heated swimming pool which any four star hotel would be proud of (although the pool is not suitable for children or non-swimmers due to it's depth)
to get to the town or beach you need to go down a steep hill or steps which may deter people who are unstable on thier feet.
the only drawback is that you can't get any refreshments during the day or evening, although this may not be the case during high season.
in general this hotel is way above average for a three star hotel

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank granduer044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
2.5 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#7 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariana

Property: Hotel Mariana
Address: avenue Santa Maria, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariana 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariana Hotel Calvi
Hotel Mariana Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing