We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in central Calvi, close to restaurants, modern rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hostellerie de l’Abbaye is conveniently located close to the older part of Calvi. The outside of the building has a pleasing older ambience, while the interior is fully modern. The bedroom and bathroom are good sized. There is plenty of hot water for the bath or shower (note that there is no shower curtain on the tub, so showers are sit-down affairs). We did not try the breakfast, since we did not want the buffet in the breakfast, and we did not want a continental breakfast in our room. However there are a number of places close by that serve fresh pastries and coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 360 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a group package holiday in June 2013. The owners of this hostellerie take great care in the decor and general ambience of this B & B and is a credit to their efforts.The small but perfectly formed gardens are also a delight to sit in out of the blistering sun.
As a group package tour we were herded into an area of the breakfast room which was noisy and cramped. At breakfast, the waiters were efficient in serving the initial tea or coffe but to get refills was beyond a joke. If you sat outside of the allocated eating area it was met with derision and stern voices rebuking your actions. Over the three days we stayed there not once did any of the reception staff greet or acknowledge our departures when entering or leaving the building. Ignorant and couldn't care less is the only way to descibe their attitudes. May be they do not like tour groups?? although I am sure they like the revenue it generates. Shame really because it really is a nice guest house.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeltonMowbrayPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights, and this is good value for the money. Very ok breakfast in nice surroundings. Near to old city and the city beach. If you have boat, or taxi+ 20 minutes walk- visit the beach nearby:Mara beach. Faboulous place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrtravelalotaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The best hotel during our trip to Corsica.The position is very convenient,200 m to gare or
seaside.Staff attentive,sympathic and polite.The breakfast is huge and delicious.The bathroom
with amazing scenery.The free parking in front is a bonus.The lobby is beautiful and calming.
Thank you for the the nice stay.Really worth to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champbesiktas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week and loved the hotel from the start. The intermediate double room was spotlessly clean on arrival and was cleaned throughout to a high standard every day. The bathroom was well lit and attractively presented with modern fittings and a large shower. The room was air conditioned and a good size with a small balcony overlooking the hills. The breakfast was delicious with a large choice of breads, croissants,meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cakes and more ! Parking was free just opposite the main entrance and the Hotel was only 5 minutes walk from the port and town center. The staff were all very friendly,polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Positive - location, beautiful views if you have room with balcony, breakfast, free parking, helpful staff. Negative - the location is a double edged sword as the nightlife may be loud if your room is facing the strip/water or street, rooms are 'okay' (not impeccably clean and in desperate need of a facelift).

Room Tip: If you want a view - face the strip/water (but it may be noisy if you are visiting during high touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for the last day of our one week trip around Corsica. It's a very charming hotel in an impressive old building and you can literally feel the history of the walls. It's located in the outskirts of Calvi so you have to walk a bit to reach the center, but we didn't find that to be a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbay1, réceptionniste at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thanks a lot for your nice comment ...Hope to welcome you in 2013 ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#9 of 30 in Calvi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#20 of 30 in Calvi
213 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de l'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de l'Abbaye

Address: Montee de l Abbaye, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: $144 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie de l'Abbaye 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hostellerie de l'Abbaye" is a charming establishment ***, the ancient nunnery of the XVIth century. 43 air conditioned rooms, king size beds, wifi, 150 m of the town centre and the beach of Calvi, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie de l'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De l`Abbaye Hotel Calvi
Hostellerie De L'Abbaye Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing