We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible management, mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very dissapointed with this family run hotel. I thought i'd try something different to the usual "chain hotels" i normally go to however this was a mistake.

The management policy is "if you're not happy, don't stay here". No comments/complaints or suggestions are allowed. You'd think that a country like France would provide top-notch quality service but i couldn't have been more dissapointed.

We tried checking in early and we were greeted by the owner, a seventy year old man sweaty and with no t-shirt on. I appreciate the personal touch but this was a bit too much.

On one occassion I was trying to get some information at the reception desk and an old lady (the owners wife?) came out of the back office holding the phone so the receptionist would pick it up. Really offended by that as i was there first.

The room was a decent size howerver the mirror was so old it was starting to go brown on the edges. The view is the only thing worth it in the hotel. The batchroom had one of those horrible hairdryers stuck to the wall wich are totally useless.

Poor breakfast and service. Burnt croissants and a gentleman that doesnt care and speaks no english.

They reccommended their restaurant in town with is pretty rubbish too.

Room Tip: get a sea view, otherwise it's not worth staying there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iknowhereitsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our cycling group enjoyed this hotel as the patios were large and the sweeping views of the ocean, simply fantastic.

The rooms are clean and basic.

Overall, a great location and a good value.

Staff was very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony/patio a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Villa Bourgainvilla, owned by the Hotel St Erasme. The villa is ideal for two familes 9as was the case with us) benefitting from a combination of great sized rooms, excellent views, a wonderful Veranda with its own built in barbecue, enough seating for 10 and a wonderfully comfortable outside sofa. There is also the bonus of a hammock slung between two trees and and area large enough to play petanque (petanque kit supplied). The villa was immaculately clean, modern and well furnished and when we had an issue with ants and failing wifi both were dealt with the same day. The villa gives you full access the the Hotel's swimming pool- which must have one of the very best views of any hotel pool anywhere! and also has a great hot-tub with outstanding views, and one of the best restaurants in Calvi (U Fanale) opposite it. It is on the quieter side of Calvi and the walk into town is about 10 minutes but the views on the walk are superb. Within a few hundred metres walk is a small rocky beach where you can swim with the fish, or walk around the headland into old Calvi and visit the array of excellent(but pricey) restaurants. The only downside is that the villa sits just off a road that has times when the traffic is a bit noisy but even for those like us who are used to country peace and quiet, this was not a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pridecols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff, excellent view and a very nice swimming pool and terrace. The location is nice, the rooms are clean and the computer in the lobby is free to use as much as you want. The only negative is the breakfast which was too sweet for me and not included, and the fact that our balcony was not facing the water. But in general I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while visiting friends in Calvi, checked in by Alicia, an amazing receptionist, very polite and effiecient, who speaks fluent English (which is always handy in Corsica).
I found the room to be very basic, in terms of the size and amenities, clean with a double bed, the sea view from my room was amazing especially early morning.
The hotel have a swimming pool, little bar area and also a breakfast room.
I will join other reviewers to say that the hotel is 10 to 15 min away from centre and 20min away from main shopping area and beaches...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sainterasme, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Saint Erasme, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015
Google Translation

Chers clients

Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de partager l'expérience de votre séjour dans notre établissement et j'espère avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau

Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a hotel overlooking the sea a 10 minute walk along the coast into Calvi and about 15-20minutes walk from Calvi beach. It is a little dated and our room and shower small but there are lots of positives such as the friendly staff, breakfast in the garden overlooking the sea, a pool and easy free parking. Calvi is a must stay place in a visit to corsica, with a beautiful setting, lots of good places to eat, little streets, a harbour with views of the citadel in one direction and the mountains in the other. The hotel owns a restaurant overlooking the harbour which has great food and a free glass of very good muscat wine if you are a hotel guest. The hotel is also quite good value for Calvi and free wireless connection was fine if in the lounge area in the lobby of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Room was ok disappointed at there being no wireless Internet in the rooms and surprised no restaurant so had to walk into the town. Room okay good view good air con.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Customers

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room and the view.

However, allow us to reply at your comment concerning the wireless access and the restaurant.

Due to technical reasons, Internet speed in Corsica and especially in Calvi is to slow to allow us to have internet access in the hotel rooms. However it is possible to have FREE wireless access at the reception and at the bar.

Concerning the restaurant, I don't understand why you are surprised because it is not specify in our website that we have a restaurant at the hotel.
The hotel is at 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre where you are a lot of restaurants.
But very close to the hotel (100 meters) you have the restaurant U Fanale.

Thanks again for your comment

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#9 of 30 in Calvi
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
490 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
524 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Erasme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Erasme

Address: Route de Porto par la cote, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: $119 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint Erasme 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint Erasme hotel is within walking distance of the Genovese citadel and the marina. It is also only a few minutes away from Calvi’s famous sandy beach. The Saint Erasme hotel welcomes you to a warm and cosy environment for an unforgettable stay. The hotel is located on the coast road and has a magnificent panoramic sea view and a unique view of the Revellata lighthouse. Its outside swimming pool seems to be floating between the sea and the sky (The swimming pool is open from May to October and is heated). From 7.30am to 11am, the Saint Erasme Hotel serves "French" or "Corsican" breakfast either indoors, or outdoors in the gardens, which have a breathtaking sea view. There is nothing like it to start your day. Free wifi access is available in the rooms, at the reception and in the gardens. The hotel has a lift, a free private car park (the car park is neither closed nor guarded) subject to availability, and a free lock-up garage for motorbike (requested at the booking) The hotel does not have the necessary insfratructure to accomodate disabled people Animals are not allowed Hotel Saint Erasme is open from the end of April to the mid of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Erasme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Erasme Hotel
Hotel Le Saint Erasme Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing