We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Villa
Nearby Hotels
$120
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cesario(Calvi)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$395
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chez Charles(Lumio)
$140
$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regina(Calvi)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cyrnea(Calvi)(Great Value!)
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
296
109
37
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
109
37
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starla tablejunior suitebeach restauranttasting menubreakfast buffetgorgeous hotellovely roomshuttlespaterracecorsicacitadelcamibaysommelierbasin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 459 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Villa for 4 nights from September 5 - September 9, 2013 and paid 480 Euros per night for a sea-view room. The views and grounds of the hotel were fabulous. When we checked in, the room we were provided (Room 10) smelled strongly of cigarette smoke despite being a non-smoking room. The front desk staff who showed us the room agreed that it smelled of smoke. We were shown a suite that did not have the view we had been promissed and elected to live with the smoke odor in room 10 when we were told that was the only sea-view room available.

Upon check-out we were provided with a survey both physically and on-line. We completed these forms noting the cigarette smoke smell and the worn nature of certain pieces of furniture in the room. I have attached a photo of the arms of the chairs showing wear that I believe is not to be expected in a room where the nightly rate is higher than the cost of the chair. Overall, this substandard level of furnishings in addition to the smoke issue were not enough to significantly impact our stay and we rated the other elements of the hotel very highly including service and the external grounds.

Today I was very surpised to receive the following email from Mr. Jean-Pierre Pinelli, who's title on the email was President:

"First of all, the Direction would like to thank you for staying with us, and to have taken time to send you comments about your stay in our hotel. Our main concern being the satisfaction of our guests, we really regret this comment, however please be aware that most of our customers do not agree with you. Nevertheless we take note of your comments and thank you for it."

OK, so apparently I made up the cigarette smell and the worn furniture according to Mr. Pinelli. Not the kind of response I would expect from a Relais & Chateaux property, and a big dissappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simarkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a lovely setting and sits on a well located site with great views. Very relaxing atmosphere.
The following points should be noted by the owners, their management and anyone wishing to stay there;
1. The hotel is understaffed in all areas. 80% of the staff are not trained to 5 star level. They have no sense of urgency and no attention to detail.
2. Breakfast - they have 2 members of staff providing service which results in unsatisfactory delivery of an enjoyable experience. Tables are not cleared quickly enough or even at all resulting in being attacked by wasps and if your order any eggs etc you will wait at least 20 minutes.
3. Internet - almost non existent. If you are a business person you will be frustrated beyond belief. In this day and age this is shocking. We have had better Internet connections in third world countries.
4. The management - could not care less no matter how many times you complain about anything. Their stock answer is a shake of the shoulders and that's how it is.
5. The beds - are extremely uncomfortable
6. Concierge - non existent. They are unhelpful and have no knowledge of their own town and couldn't care less if they guide you in the wrong direction. If you choose not to eat in their hotel establishment they don't care where you eat.
7. Shuttle service - expect long waits in the town when being collected. We had to wait up to 45 minutes. Bear in mind you are charged for this service on a daily basis.
8. Gym - the gym is not sufficiently kitted out and lacks the necessary equipment for a proper workout. There are no dumbells above 5kg which is not appropriate for a man and most women into training. There are no weight machines and no weights. There are cardio machines in a room which is like a sauna.
Hopefully the owners will read this and realise that their 5 Star hotel is incorrectly rated and try to improve. If their aim is to secure return business then they need to get these issues straightened out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hi... We splurged and took our family to this five star resort. The first surprise was that in order to get into town you had to pay $18 Euros per day... This is something we did not know. The 2nd surprise, was the cost of everything (9 euros for a cup of tea and soda). We arrived and it was raining so we were told to eat lunch in the Michelin restaurant, a salad was 45 euros. Our room was beautiful and clean. The next issue was the beach chairs... We were never given any information on how to book these chairs, how to get chairs or even chairs with views of the water... The rules kept changing. "The front row was already reserved".. (how?) "Book in the morning".. Every day this was an issue.. Some days we didn't get chairs.. The final straw was the shuttle... Our 2nd to last night we waited at the shuttle pickup for over an hour (which was a parking lot). They finally called a taxi which we had to pay for and the family was so exhausted that we decided not to go out to eat (we would have to rush, shower, get the shuttle).. We were informed that there was not room in the terrace and our option was the Michelin Restaurant or Room Service.. (had we known that the taxi would take over an hour we'd just stay and eat on the beach).... There were some lovely people working at La Villa but we were very disappointed in the lack of customer service and transparency... Again, the view is spectacular, there are some lovely people working at the hotel, the rooms are very nice.. But the logistics leave much to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JillHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were charmed by this place.A beautiful and visually stunning hotel,set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens with magnificent views over Calvi bay and the mountains.
We had a standard room but this was tastefully decorated in creams and chocolate and the bathroom with bath,separate shower, 2 hand basins and separate toilet had been recently renovated.
We found that we did'nt need to venture far from the hotel as it was so relaxing.
There are 5 pools including a quiet indoor pool,spa, tennis courts, hammam, a boutique and hairdressers.
The whole place was very well maintained throughout and the majority of the staff were charming and friendly. The owners appeared daily on a tour of their hotel and were courteous ,smiling but not too obtrusive to the guests.
During your stay you will come across the star of the show,Felix,such a charming man,helpful and amusing and a mine of information on the local area,speaks good English too.
The hotel has a shuttle to the town and beach for 100 euros for the week ,which we found very good, there was no problem at any time up to 11pm in getting a journey in/out of Calvi.
The hotel is a pleasant 15 min walk downhill to the sea front .
Breakfast was very good, continental style which suited us,plenty of fresh fruit,cereals,yogs,cheeses,local corsican meats and delicious home made cakes and pastries, everything was top quality so quite expensive at 32 euros per person.
We had a couple of meals at the hotel which were good,but our favourite is Callelu also owned by the hotel, down at the port.
Also do not miss Cafe Iil'e de Beaute on Quai Landry for brilliant drinks and cocktails
The last night of the stay at the hotel there was a very good jazz concert in the little courtyard theatre at the hotel
They have regular classical and jazz concerts in the summer.
What we liked about the hotel was that the owners encourage artists and musicians to their hotel as patrons of the arts, and you will find many visually stunning modern works of art dotted around the hotel.
Hopefully we will be able to return to La Villa and the beautiful town of Calvi next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recommend it for all Corsica lovers that want to pamper themselves. Everything is gorgeous. We absolutely fell in love with the location. Despite the fact that we went at the end of the season (October), we could enjoy a warm weather (outside pool, long hikes, dinner on a terrace). The staff is really nice (of course we are in a 5 star hotel!!!) . You feel remote but at the same time, everything is close at walking distance (village, citadelle, port, beach). The SPA is amazing with a very professionnal staff and great products (same products provided in the guests rooms)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank babette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews