We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very expensive”
Review of La Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

La Villa is one of those rare European hotels that has all the amenities you'd expect of an American four-star resort, and you pay for it. Even some of the simplest things are incredibly expensive (room-service penne with tomato sauce is around 25 euros). That said, the resort does not disappoint, with beautiful rooms with blackout shades and impeccable bed and bath, and amenities from a Michelin-star restaurant (the better of the two in town, in my opinion) to multiple pools to a well-kept, clay tennis court. The staff is young, and seems to be hired more for looks than service, but generally everyone was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wristshot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 452 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Marvellous views of Calvi. First rate facilities. Very nice pool. Beach club, which they don't advertise for some reason. Big rooms with small balcony or terrace. Good restaurant, supposedly also open for lunch, but they push you towards the pool terrace, which, I must say,is also very nice. I did not like the breakfast; just fruits and sweet stuff and overpriced. This place could be great if better managed.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karel_ouendag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent the first few nights of our honeymoon here and it was well worth the splurge! We don't normally spent €400 a night but this seemed like a good deal. La Villa's service was first class and the spa excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryland-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We recently stayed in La Villa for our wedding anniversary and the hotel is perfect. Although it is a bit far from the beach, but the hotel provide free car service to take you there. We got a free upgrade and include dinner all 3 nights, and every night serve completely different pre-fix menu. The restaurant contain outdoor seating and we enjoyed and you can overlook the old town, the beach and the mountain view during sunset. The near by beach is so beautiful so we didn't really spend much time at their pools. I highly recommend this hotel and visit Calvi in the month of May.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellowsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I am writing this review from the room at La Villa....

On the surface, this Hotel seems perfect... the website is beautiful, as is much of the hotel design. However there are a number of things that seriously let them down.

The hotel is over a mile from the town/beach and sea... not something that comes across on the website.

Of the 4 pools, the infinity pool is marked "not for bathing" (just one of the "house rules" they seem obsessed with) and the other 3 are all un-heated. The poolside bar was closed for the entire time we were there.

The room service menu is awful, you could not actually dine from it... just snacks and picking food... all incredibly and unjustifiably expensive.... 25 euros for a chicken sandwich, 40 for a cocktail! and the mini bar consisted of two bottles of coke and a sign warning you not to use it for your own drinks!

We had a few days rain, so pay TV movies etc might have come in handy as there is little else to do in the rain in Calvi, however this was not too be, just local French TV and sky news. Wireless throughout the hotel is very slow and intermittent at best with no hard wired option in the rooms.

We signed up for the extra breakfast.... 30 euros each per day. Expect toast or fresh fruit. nothing more.

All this said, the staff are amazing, friendly and helpful.... it is a shame that aside from the location, everything here could be fixed.... it just hasn't been.

I have stayed in countless five star hotels all over the world.... this just doesn't feel like one of them.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
10  Thank xtyeisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I spent a week here in over Easter in 2010. We received a lovely room upgrade as the hotel was not busy. I cannot praise highly enough everything about the hotel.
The food was stunning , the accommodation elegant, the staff efficient and friendly and the location simply sublime, I could not fault anything even if I tried. I cannot wait to go back - and we most certainly will.

Thank you to everyone at La Villa!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeandaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Nothing but praise for this first class hotel. Despite being at the end of the season it still looked very fresh and fantastically well kept. We had a huge room (room 19 on the first floor) with two rooms, two bathrooms and a deck with views over Calvi.
The breakfast was simple but fresh fruit and bread galore. The food overall was very good as was the service.
Wonderful grounds, super pools.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvi
2.4 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
428 reviews
46.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
518 reviews
72.5 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#13 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
216 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel A Piattatella
Hotel A Piattatella
#1 of 3 in Monticello
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa

Address: Chemin de Notre Dame de la Serra, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
#1 Family Hotel in Calvi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: $139 - $4,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the hills surrounding Calvi, with a sublime view of the bay and the Citadel of Calvi, La Villa is an enchanted place where everything is in harmony ; the scents of the maquis, the sunlight, and the Corsican art of living.Totally renovated rooms and suites invite you to enjoy your stay with an easy mind.You’ll be charmed by the flavours of a sunny cuisine, inspired by the local Corsican products and in total harmony with the place.La Villa Spa offers a wide choice of treatments which maybe booked on an individual basis or as part of a day package, or short stay programme.We can arrange the rental of boats, jet-ski, quad bikes, mountain bikes or a helicopter. We can also organise activities such as 4X4 treks, horse treks, walks, canyoning, hiking, kayaking, rafting and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Hotel Calvi
La Hotel Calvi
La Villa Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing