We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great team, good food, best views from Calvi Citadel”
Review of A Candella

A Candella
Ranked #39 of 134 Restaurants in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Norwich, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great team, good food, best views from Calvi Citadel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

There are only 3-4 places to eat out in Calvi Citadel ( theres many more at the foot of the Citadel in the town but its 179 steps back up!)
This one is a treasure...all of the front of house team, without exception, are wonderful.
You need to book early to be sure of a table near the front of the terrace under the oleander trees and parasol for the best views over the bay - spectacular at any time. Even better in the evening
Food very good. I love the fish soup with croutons, cheese and garlic ( aioli/roux). Rice and prawn platter good. Entrecote and pepper sauce very good, chocolate terrine wonderful. Excellent choice of wines ( and beer ) Try the fig, myrtle or chestnut liqueurs.
If I go back to Calvi, I will be booking a table here before I leave the UK.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    80
    35
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pays d'Ajaccio, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful spot for a meal in the Citadel”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Quality fare in a sought after location, staff very welcoming and friendly service, view sublime over the bay at Calvi, great situation in a really atmospheric setting. Varied menu and good local wine list, would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbelbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pleasant food in a stunning setting. Make sure you get one of the tables overlooking the sea. A very memorable occasion

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anima2a32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My favorite Calvi Restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found this by accident and booked for that evening. We were lucky enough to get a table on the canopied terrace -definitely a treat! Surrounded by candels and with amazing views out over the sea, the setting was perfect. Service was good and although this was one of the more expensive places that we ate in Calvi, this is the meal that stands out in my memory. Food was good - I loved my soupe de poisson starter and later was jealous of our neighbours pork roti main course (too bad that I'd already ordered). Would recommend!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning views, extremely romantic but with average food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having been based in Calvi for a few weeks this was about the sixth restaurant we had visited. If you seek wonderful views and a romantic setting then I would recommend a visit. Book ahead if you want the prime seating on the terrace with views over the bay. There are only about 8 tables on the terrace and the majority of the other tables do not have such views. There are only 3 restaurants in the Citadelle and you are certainly paying a premium for the views. The quality of the food was acceptable but definitely not as fresh or delicious as several of the other restaurants in the town. I would say that if you are a fan of seafood, then stick to the restaurants on the seafront or in town. If on the other hand you would like some atmosphere, a beautiful sunset and a good glass of wine (without worrying too much abou the food!) then definitely give this place a go. The staff are friendly and it is a rather unique experience. Do remember to book if you want that prized terrace table though!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Candella also viewed

Calvi, Haute-Corse
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 
Calvi, Haute-Corse
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 

Been to A Candella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing