We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at Le Home”
Review of Le Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calvi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Home
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Calvi
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Le Home is a fantastic spot, just outside Calvi within walking distance to the beaches and to the citadel/old town. The grounds of Le Home are themselves beautiful and relaxing, with a nice pool as well. We rented one of the larger studio flats, which actually had a separate living space, well stocked kitchen, living space, bathroom, and lovely little balcony. It was clean, charming, and we would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a two week break at Le Home in Calvi and could not have been more pleased with our choice. We chose Le Home as it looked to be in close proximity to the beach and twon yet far enough away to be quiet and relaxing... at 5 months pregnant it's good to have the best of both worlds! We were very pleased when we arrived at our accomodation, the gardens were spectacular and although we had opted for the studio apartment we found it perfect for the 2 of us. The apartment itself had a double bed, built in wardbrodes a small table and chairs with a small kitchen (open plan in the fact that the kitchen had no door but otherwise a separate room) with microwave, 2 ring gas hob and plenty or crockery and cooking utensils. There was also a small shower room set off the kitchen area. Out front we had a terrace over looking one of the pools with beautiful flowers leading up the steps to our front door. The room itself was very comfortable. There was also an air con unit which was well needed in the summer heat.

We were also very pleased that the beach was literally a 5 minute walk from the apartments where there were also a short parade of shops and bars/restaurants. There was a delightful little green grocers that sold fresh bread on the corner by the beach which was very handy or the Super U a short walk down toward town. 5 minutes further on you were in the harbour and main town with a wide range of restaurants and bars to choose from. We would strongly recommend Saint Maria for very good food at a very reasonable price, it's just set back from the harbour (where the main shops are).

All in all we had a fantastic trip and think the beach is ideal for families with it's glorious white sandy beaches and clear sea, for the young couples if you want more of a nightlife (although this comes at a cost) and older clientelle alike with it's realxing location. We would stringly recommend staying at Le Home and will definitely be returning to Calvi when our family arrives.

Hope you enjoy your travels as much as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bestholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great location, lovely gardens and pool and best of all - peace and quiet. Owners friendly and helpful but leave you alone. Not for the heartily convivial, or for people with kids. But for couples who want to chill out and have a perfect base for exploring Calvi and the Balagne, Le Home really couldn't be better. Our second visit, and we're already planning our next.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TreacleToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at "le Home" form the 5 th of june this year untill the 12 th. Absolutely lovely appartments, big enough for our needs. Decorated with love and style and everything
you need is there. Even some groceries like bread, milk, tea, wild boar paté etc were
provided. Our bed was too soft so i asked for a new matress, this was provided within
15 minutes. Mr. Christoffe is a good host, good humoured and always ready to help. Although i can imagine some ppl might find him a bit "quaint". Try to speak french and you can do no wrong. The bed however was very small (about 140 cm) which prevented us from a good sleep. It's a shame no parasolls are allowed near the swimmingpool.
Ther's no shade there and the sun can be a bit harsh on your skin. The gardens are a dream. Well kept and very romantic. As i said, we;d go back if only the beds were a bit bigger (160 cm would do)

Ellen van den Wijngaard and friends

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenvandenwijngaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We loved staying here. The apartments are very conveniently situated in beautiful gardens with three swimming pools. The apartments are not oppressive there only being six or ten apartments to a block with a vast expanse of garden in between. The owners were friendly and the apartments clean and appealing. There were some provisions left for us which were much appreciated to keep us going until we could get to the supermarket. We found it very peaceful there although it was in Calvi - our room was on the ground floor and had a private patio area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from two weeks at Le Home in Calvi; it's been a perfect holiday.

Le Home and Residence A Merula are essentially part of the same small complex. Le Home forms the apartments around the house belonging to the owners of Le Home and A Merula and Le Home's two swimming pools. A Merula is the slightly newer set of apartments behind Le Home; there is another swimming pool attached to A Merula.

We arrived quite late on the Sunday evening and were greeted by the couple who own the complex, both of whom were very friendly and helpful and their little Shih-Tzu dog. We were shown to our apartment which had been stocked with all the essentials, like bread, milk, coffee and tea as well as local Corsican products, such as wild boar pate.

We opted for the smallest of the apartments available, an 18m2 room, but it was perfect for the two of us. The room was equipped with a microwave, two gas ring hob and fridge, built in wardrobe and cupboards. There were loads of plates, pots and pans, utensils and a salad spinner. The apartment was beautifully decorated with lovely finishing touches.

Le Home and A Merula have well kept gardens - I didn't see any other hotels or apartments with gardens like it, and fantastic views up in to the surrounding mountains.

Le Home is only a five minute walk from the beach and local shops, including a Super U and pharmacy. There are also a handful of bars and restaurants at the end of the road - including Le Patio which is run by the laziest man in catering (food was ok, just pizzas)!

There is a train stop at the end of the road - where the car park meets the beach; this is the Lido stop (named after the beach bar next to the stop). Alternatively to walk to the main station will take about 10 minutes. To walk to the Citadel will take another 5-10 minutes.

There are some nice walks around Calvi, including to Notre Dame de la Serra (a chapel on the hill above Calvi) by turning left on the path out of the Le Home car park. We also walked to the Revellata lighthouse and back along the coastal path to Calvi.

We went in October so Calvi and Le Home was very quiet. A lot of the apartments in the area and the hotels close at the end of September. The weather at that time of year is lovely and warm during the day - the average temperature during the day was 22 degrees, although it was quite cold at night. The swimming pools were very cold when we went - the sea was significantly warmer, however the owners assured us that the pools will be heated by next year!

I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ourhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We booked a week at Residence A Merula in Calvi through Holiday Options and it proved to be an excellent choice. The studio apartment we had was well laid out, excellently equipped with all self catering needs, air conditioning (we needed that as the temperatures were in excess of 36c) and two balconies.

The surrounding gardens were stunning and there were 3 swimming pools to choose from. Christophe, the proprietor, was very helpful and friendly.

I would recommend Residence A Merula to anyone but especially to couples. Great location and value for money.

Calvi itself is a charming and historical town with many interesting cobbled streets, alleyways and the Citadel towering above the town and picturesque harbour. There are plenty of high quality restaurants too. I would particularly recommend the Santa Maria where for 19.50 Euros you could have a 3 course meal with many choices for each course and excellent service from the waiters.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.5 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
429 reviews
0 mi away
Campo di Fiori - Maisons de Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Residence Club Arinella
0.8 mi away
Calvi Residence
Calvi Residence
#10 of 33 in Calvi
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camping La Pinede
Camping La Pinede
#3 of 33 in Calvi
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Home

Address: route de Pietramaggiore, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Calvi
Price Range: $54 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Calvi, in beautifully landscaped gardens of 7000 m², with an abundance of flowers and shady trees which we hope you will enjoy, the residence LE HOME comprises four buildings and small houses and also includes two pools and two private, albeit unguarded, car parks. The apartments and houses, for up 2 to 3 people, are comfortable, air-conditioned and non-smoking. There is also free internet (wifi) in the gardens. LE HOME is located 400 meters from a sandy beach and the nearest shops (bakery, tobacconist, newsagent, supermarket, pharmacy, bars, restaurants, motorcycle rental, bank …).. LE HOME is a 10 to 15 minute walk (1 km) from the historic center of Calvi (post office, banks, railway, port, car and motorcycle-hire, bicycles and other shops …). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Home Hotel Calvi
Le Home Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing