We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Every Facility Needed. Most hospitable”
Review of Homer's Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homer's Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Every Facility Needed. Most hospitable”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

As part of Island Hopping review- see profile.

My girlfriend and I arrived on the ferry from Santorini and were greeted by the managers father. We waited a few mins for other guests and were taken to Homer's Inn via a minibus. Only two mins from the Port.

We received a great room, not connected directly to the main reception area of the hotel, we were shown around the room by the managers father who enthusiastically listed and described each and every security feature which was great. The only problem was the toilet was small but we weren't coming to Greece to spend my time in the toilet. He then showed us the pool which was amazing and it had a great beach snack bar during the day.

There is a great beach beside the port, quieter than the 'far out beach' at the other end of the Island which is the party beach. The town is accessible by a walkway of steps which takes the danger away from walking on the road. It about a ten minute walk from the hotel.

The town is crazy but only really gets going around 1 a.m so be warned not to arrive early or you'll be disappointed. Ios really is for the party goers, especially the town. If you are into the party scene and fancy staying in a clean, friendly hotel which lets you come and go as please then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    38
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

First travelled here in June and were blown away, So we had to return , And we found the same warm welcome , a big thankyou to Vangelis, Antonia & Panos. we had a lovely room 201 with amazing view and very comfy. the weather for end of Sept was just glorious, it was nice toi see the contrast from june to Sept , and we liked them both for diff reasons. will be back next year, and will def be going to Ios Road Runner near the port for a car/ jeep , and the lovely Enigma restaurant.and noitissa , have a good winter

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boeing747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

homers Inn was a wonderful surprise. I was given a large bright and clean room. The bathroom was very small and basic bit suited my needs. It was a bit difficult washing hair though in the small shower. There was a strong wifi signal in rooms and pool area. 

The pool is amazing with wonderful views over the port. The food and drink prices by the pool were great. My only criticism would be the sun loungers were a bit uncomfortable. 

It was a 15 min walk into town (uphill) good exercise but quite difficult in 30+ weather. Alternatively you can take a bus that runs every 20 mins. 

Would definitely recommend.  

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloeruby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Inn is located about ten-fifteen minutes from the port of Ios. However, there is a bus-stop just outside the hotel to get to the port /chora/beach
Quiet and serene location with comfortable rooms. Bathrooms are a bit cramped though
Free wifi and a passable breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuragc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We only stayed for 2 nights and I think we definitely could have stayed a night or two more just to relax and enjoy the island a little longer, which was really chilled out. It's like Koh Tao in a Greek setting, I thought...
The great thing about this hotel is definitely the pool and poolside bar which was really nice to chill out by after arriving, on our first afternoon. Our room 201 was also spacious, clean, and it was great to have a huge balcony to relax on with good views!
It was great that there were bedside plugs and the A/C was not blasting directly at the bed, which were comfortable for sleeping as well.
Again the family were most helpful in giving directions and advice, and helped us get sorted with a scooter to rent, which means this was the main form of transport and also useful to have the gas station less than 5 min up the road.
They provide transport to and from the port, 5 min away.
Breakfast is really simple and not great, but decent. However this is made up for by the great view. After the late night out, I wish it could have been extended till later like our hotel in Mykonos which went till 11 or 11.30am I think.

Just a few areas which could have been improved on
When we checked out, one of them had to go all the way to the poolside to get our receipts from 2 days ago. I thought they could have submitted all the receipts from the end of the day to the check-in / check-out counter or update an online spreadsheet of room costs?
Do get a shower curtain long enough that prevents water from flowing out on to the bathroom floor, otherwise there just isn't much point..

A really comfortable stay where I wish we could have spent a day or two more relaxing by the pool!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ying Yi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my sister had a fantastic week here. I loved Ios and want to return next year.
Homer's Inn was a superb place to stay. Great location as it was only a short walk to a gorgeous beach. Golden sand with no rocks. The room was lovely with really good air conditioning which is very important to me in a hot country. The air conditioning was also really quiet which made a nice change from other holidays. The family that run Homer's Inn are absolutely lovely and gave us some great advice and help. I would definitely stay here again, and hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJohnson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A group of 5 of us (all girls) stayed at Homer’s Inn for a week in July. The hotel is brilliant.

After picking us up from the port, the family who run the hotel gave us loads of information about where to go for food, clubbing, beach everything we needed to know. The room was spacious, clean and great for 5 of us all sharing. The cleaner came every day with clean towels, bed sheets etc. The pool area is lovely, snacks at the pool bar are good and not too expensive. The location is great for both going to the beach as the bus stop is right outside, and it’s only a short bus/taxi to the bars and clubs. The family here are amazingly helpful and friendly. There was a problem with our ferry on the last day and it was delayed which meant we missed our flight back to the UK. They were so helpful, looking for other flights for us, checking ferry times and even taking us to the port police to get proof that the ferry was delayed so we could claim on our holiday insurance. Panos even emailed us the next day to check we arrived home safety.

All in all Homer’s Inn is great and I would 100% recommend anyone visiting Ios to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.7 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcos Village Hotel
Marcos Village Hotel
#31 of 42 in Ios
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer's Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer's Inn Hotel

Property: Homer's Inn Hotel
Address: Main Road, 840 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homer's Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homer's Inn Hotel is a two star (**formerly Category C) hotel in Ios Island. It is a family business and therefore offers a pleasant accommodation choice, with a variety of amenities. It is situated between the Village and the Port of the island. Since both are close enough the hotel, it is an ideal choice for those who wish a quite stay near to day-life and night-life centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homer's Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homer`s Hotel Ios
Homers Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing