We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homer's Inn Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Homer's Inn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet location, value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Inn is located about ten-fifteen minutes from the port of Ios. However, there is a bus-stop just outside the hotel to get to the port /chora/beach
Quiet and serene location with comfortable rooms. Bathrooms are a bit cramped though
Free wifi and a passable breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anuragc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We only stayed for 2 nights and I think we definitely could have stayed a night or two more just to relax and enjoy the island a little longer, which was really chilled out. It's like Koh Tao in a Greek setting, I thought...
The great thing about this hotel is definitely the pool and poolside bar which was really nice to chill out by after arriving, on our first afternoon. Our room 201 was also spacious, clean, and it was great to have a huge balcony to relax on with good views!
It was great that there were bedside plugs and the A/C was not blasting directly at the bed, which were comfortable for sleeping as well.
Again the family were most helpful in giving directions and advice, and helped us get sorted with a scooter to rent, which means this was the main form of transport and also useful to have the gas station less than 5 min up the road.
They provide transport to and from the port, 5 min away.
Breakfast is really simple and not great, but decent. However this is made up for by the great view. After the late night out, I wish it could have been extended till later like our hotel in Mykonos which went till 11 or 11.30am I think.

Just a few areas which could have been improved on
When we checked out, one of them had to go all the way to the poolside to get our receipts from 2 days ago. I thought they could have submitted all the receipts from the end of the day to the check-in / check-out counter or update an online spreadsheet of room costs?
Do get a shower curtain long enough that prevents water from flowing out on to the bathroom floor, otherwise there just isn't much point..

A really comfortable stay where I wish we could have spent a day or two more relaxing by the pool!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ying Yi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my sister had a fantastic week here. I loved Ios and want to return next year.
Homer's Inn was a superb place to stay. Great location as it was only a short walk to a gorgeous beach. Golden sand with no rocks. The room was lovely with really good air conditioning which is very important to me in a hot country. The air conditioning was also really quiet which made a nice change from other holidays. The family that run Homer's Inn are absolutely lovely and gave us some great advice and help. I would definitely stay here again, and hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJohnson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A group of 5 of us (all girls) stayed at Homer’s Inn for a week in July. The hotel is brilliant.

After picking us up from the port, the family who run the hotel gave us loads of information about where to go for food, clubbing, beach everything we needed to know. The room was spacious, clean and great for 5 of us all sharing. The cleaner came every day with clean towels, bed sheets etc. The pool area is lovely, snacks at the pool bar are good and not too expensive. The location is great for both going to the beach as the bus stop is right outside, and it’s only a short bus/taxi to the bars and clubs. The family here are amazingly helpful and friendly. There was a problem with our ferry on the last day and it was delayed which meant we missed our flight back to the UK. They were so helpful, looking for other flights for us, checking ferry times and even taking us to the port police to get proof that the ferry was delayed so we could claim on our holiday insurance. Panos even emailed us the next day to check we arrived home safety.

All in all Homer’s Inn is great and I would 100% recommend anyone visiting Ios to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lovely people running this place but despite the initial good reaction to Homer's, and their lovely welcome, the accommodation (the room itself) really let it down. It wasn't peak season (Early June) when we arrived, and despite the place being almost empty we were taken to a really musty room with a bathroom you couldnt swing a cat in and which flooded constantly (probably the reason for the smell). The pool was nice. In fairness to Homer's nice people we did not bother complaining to them - we just moved - I felt my skin was crawling, I got bitten by insects a lot in the bed both nights we stayed, I really didn't feel the room was clean. I have stayed in basic accommodation before and the grounds and reception and pool areas were sparkling clean with lovely flowers etc. but I just couldnt sleep in a musty room with a flooding bathroom.

Room Tip: Don't have any tips - hopefully some of the other rooms were better than ours..perhaps check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublin-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wonderful hospitality great pool and very good position near the port. Clean rooms and very tasty bar food snacks. Our large family of 7 welcomed with open arms by lovely owners who are happy to give tips of where to eat in town. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MO5Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Homers inn was a last minute choice but so glad we waited best hotel so close to where you need to be and the family is amazing!!! They make you feel at home completely and take care of you at all times! Awesome pool with an awesome bar and food next to it! Will never forget this place or the family!! Will always be staying here in the future!! Absolutely loved it!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.7 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 45 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#20 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer's Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer's Inn Hotel

Property: Homer's Inn Hotel
Address: Main Road, 840 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homer's Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homer's Inn Hotel is a two star (**formerly Category C) hotel in Ios Island. It is a family business and therefore offers a pleasant accommodation choice, with a variety of amenities. It is situated between the Village and the Port of the island. Since both are close enough the hotel, it is an ideal choice for those who wish a quite stay near to day-life and night-life centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Homer's Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homer`s Hotel Ios
Homers Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing