We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the value”
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sun Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed at the Golden Sun during our honeymoon and our hosts doted on us. They were very friendly and gave us a room with a spectacular view. The room is a little on the small side, but it was fine for the price. The hotel looks immaculate, they obviously take a lot of care in keeping the property clean. They also have a great pool and poolside bar service. It's a bit of a walk uphill to get to town, where all the bars and restaurants are, but it makes up for this by its close proximity to the beach. I would definitely visit again, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on the 13th July and had a lovely nights stay.
We were met off the ferry, by the owner and his grand-daughter, then taken the short ride to the hotel. We were given a lovely twin room, which had a lovely view from the balcony, TV, fridge and air-conditioning. The room was very clean and there was no sign of any insects. We had a snack in the evening and breakfast in the morning which was basic but still ok. The hotel is a family run concern, and they were very nice people, nothing being too much trouble. The hotel has a lovely pool with beautiful views. We would stay again if we were in Ios. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pookinmeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Staying at the Golden sun hotel was at times quite a harrowing experience. The hosts were reasonably pleasant; they picked us up from the port and tried a bit to make chit chat but that was probably the only good thing. Our room resembled a dingy prison cell, a very uncomfortable bed and a window that was not lockable in the bathroom- DANGER – If you don’t like being eaten alive by tropical blood sucking creatures and bed bugs; a room with a non closing window like this will not be suitable. Usually mosquitoes don’t bother me too much where ever I go in the world; in fact, they didn’t bother me too much when I was in Santorini and Mykonos on the same holiday, but at the Golden Sun hotel in Ios they did! On the first night my boyfriend and I probably had 100 huge bites each, my left arm was swollen beyond recognition – I was in agony! The next night I used insect repellent, but I did not spray it on my face so I had to endure multiple bites on my face and head. Perhaps the worse thing that made me hate this place more was this. I removed my shorts from the wardrobe, put them on and all of a sudden, I felt this biting/ tickling sensation on my leg. I look down and simply screamed…The biggest, longest most horrid Centipede is tricking down my leg! I never want to experience this again! As the other trip advisor said, it is like being in the Amazon rain forest, the place is a Godforsaken bug hole, and I could not enjoy my time there. I couldn’t wait to leave!
I must say however that the place was clean and quite good value for money, but it still didn’t live up to my expectations. It was incredibly basic. I wasn’t able to have a warm shower for my entire time there because there was never any hot water which made me more depressed. The bathroom itself wasn’t very pleasant either.

I would not stay here again.

P.S Ios is the most beautiful, wonderful island. Although I hated the accommodation, I fell in love with the charm and beauty of Ios and want to return. There’s just no point in staying in a bad hotel with a good pool, to stay at the pool area, when the island has such wonderful, isolated beaches. So if you see a review saying how amazing the pool is, with nothing much more to say, then you perhaps shouldn't take it too seriously.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aaront3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldesun, manager at Golden Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2007

It is the first time that we have gotten a bad review and I am very disappointed.We understand that the costumer is always right,but I think this timethe cutomers were a bit unfair.Both reviews are from the same room as they were a couple.We try hard to keep the rooms and the entire area clean.We have neverhad insect problems before and maybe they ate in the room without being careful and because of the unusual heatwave that we had those days it was easy for insects to appear.Furthermore,if you see the picture of the bathroom you see a very clean bathroom and the size of a typical hotel bathroom.There has never been a problem with the hot water because no one has ever complained.Generally ,we have very good reviews.Please do not judge us by this one bad review.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed at the Golden Sun hotel for 3 nights during our 10 day holiday in the beautiful Greek islands. This hotel was the cheapest by far, but the worst during our stay. Yes, it does have an ok swimming pool and nice hosts but the rooms were below our standards, incredibly small, uncomfortable beds, awful toilet, to the point we couldn’t wait to leave. Being located next to a bush our room was infested with so many kinds of insects (we felt like we were in the Amazon rain forest) biting us to the point of crying. I’ve never felt claustrophobic in a hotel room before. We do experience different hotels and resorts from 1* to 5* around the world and this has to be the worst room I have ever stayed in despite hotel service and facilities. Ios is a very cheap island, so it is very easy to find cheap and nice accommodation. My advice is to don’t prioritise a hotel with a pool when you can rent a bike or a 4 wheeler and visit the amazing beaches the island has to offer. Manganari beach for clear blue waters and a nice Seafood restaurant and Mylopotas beach if you are a party animal. For a nice dinner go to the Old Byron restaurant in the main town and you’ll be pleased with very good food and service. Definitely a must. Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GIOKA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldesun, manager at Golden Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2007

It is the first time that we have gotten a bad review and I am very disappointed. We understand that the costumer is always right,but I think this time the cutomers were a bit unfair. Both reviews are from the same room as they were a couple. We try hard to keep the rooms and the entire area clean. We have never had insect problems before and maybe they ate in the room without being careful and because of the unusual heatwave that we had those days it was easy for insects to appear. Furthermore, if you see the picture of the bathroom you see a very clean bathroom and the size of a typical hotel bathroom. There has never been a problem with the hot water because no one has ever complained. Generally, we have very good reviews. Please do not judge us by this one bad review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I had picked this hotel online on the basis of the pic of the pool - it looked gorgeous and we weren't disappointed! On being collected from our boat on arrival to leaving on our day of departure the owners went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. Our boat had been cancelled on our return day due to adverse weather (just a bit of wind to be honest!) and it meant we missed our return flights but the staff helped us immensely - helping us to call boat companies in Greece, flight companies, lending us phone chargers for our mobiles and giving us a room for an extra night at a slightly cheaper price!
The view we had from our twin room was wonderful (a view of Yialos bay and beach) - all rooms have air-con and a fridge - our room had a lovely little balcony and, although this is very un-PC we were pleasently surprised to find that smoking seems to be the accepted norm here! Yes i know, it's naughty but there's no getting away from the fact that we smoke!
Rooms, pool and apartment area were spotless and snacks available on site were yummy.
5 Mins walk downhill to the port area and gorgeous Yialos beach with watersports. 5 min bus ride up the hill (from right outside the hotel) to the village and the nightlife. 10 mins bus ride to Mylopotas beach.
Fantastic location, great people, lovely accomodation - what more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Great location, fantstic pool, very clean, extremely well priced.
Short walk up hill to town. Would stay here again! Very friendly warm people they even offered to drive us down to the port to meet our departing ferry. They came to tell us that it had been delayed for a few hours but that we were able to use the pool while we waited even tho we had already checked out (it was mid afternoon by this stage)

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennyfenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Αντώνης Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ios hotels
0 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
445 reviews
0 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
540 reviews
0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chora
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#12 of 42 in Ios
145 reviews
0 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
155 reviews
0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 10 in Milopotas
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Address: Port, 840 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ios
Price Range: $37 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sun Hotel is located 300m from the port on the main road going to the village of Ios, Chora.It is also 300m. from a beautiful, sandy beach called, Yialos. You can also use a path right outside the hotel that will take you to Chora (village) 15 minutes and Archaeological prehistoric settlements SKARKOS. The Golden Sun hotel is a clean, friendly, family place, ideal for a relaxing holiday. There is a lovely swimming pool and baby pool with a breath-taking view of the port. You can have breakfast in the breakfast room, terrace or by the pool. You may also have a light meal or a drink by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing