We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in Ios” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francesco's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Francesco's
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best view in Ios”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed for three nights at Francescos. It has one of the best views for the sunset in Ios, and a large group of different travellers mixing together at the bar. If you want to be surrounded by people, this is a good place to be. It is a party island and a party hostel. Unfortunately for us, when we first arrived we were exhausted and wanted nothing more than a good nights sleep. As we were late to arrive we were given one of the rooms above the bar in the long corridor - this meant as the pub crawl revellers trickled back throughout the night we were woken constantly either by people talking loudly outside our room or slamming the doors which echoed down the halls. Friends of ours moved to another hotel the next day but we requested to be moved to another room - and I am so glad we did. The next two nights were perfect - the beds were incredibly comfortable and the quietness was brilliant. The staff were very accommodating and even let the two of us move to a triple room, giving us much more space in a much better room. If you are young and looking to have some great nights out with new friends, this is definately the place to be. My thanks to the staff for understanding this was not what we were looking for, and amending our stay accordingly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
21
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

From the moment they pick you up from the port, Francesco's friendly staff is there willing to help you. They give you helpful tips, help you out in anyway and even will take you out to get a taste of the Ios nightlife. Our room was great - clean, comfortable and a million dollar view of the entire island. Two minutes from the very centre of town where all the bars are, but you do not get any noise from it. Freat breakfast spot and many restaurants within 1-3 minute walk. Only bad thing I can say is that it is on top of a large hill, which makes for great views, but is a difficult trek with a suitcase. Ios was my favorite of 4 greek islands visited, largely due to this great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada_Scott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Dear oh dear, what is happening to Francesco's? It really is going badly down-hill, thanks to a large extent of the staff, who really try hard to be unhelpful. I stayed here before a couple of years back, and loved the place, but after my stay this time, I've vowed never to come back.

The good stuff: the hotel is still in the same great location, right by the village, and just a couple of minutes stagger from the bars. Everyone from the hostel gathers in the bar by 11pm to down shots and goes out for "a banging night out". However this can be a downer if you want to sleep when everyone comes back between 3 and 4am (and some don't make it back before 6). The rooms in the Panorma (originally a separate hostel, now part of Francescos) are still good, with decent beds, a TV, no fridge or kettle, and OK ish bathrooms, but no hot water in the mornings (but then noone in Francesco sees a morning do they).

Then the bad stuff, and where do I start... why, with the continually running credit card con of course! At checkout there is a continual stream of people dashing down to the cashpoint to take out cash because Francesco's credit card machine is "not working today" - and someone would fix it tomorrow, but today it is just cash only. Except there was the same notice taped to the desk announcing this as there was TWO year ago! One of the staff later admitted in a drunken moment that Francesscos always say it is tempoarily out of order to avoid paying the credit card loading - and the machines work fine (and indeed are used daily to charge those who fail to check in).

Secondly - check your change very carefully in the bar - late at night, my change always came back short of one euro. Odd, that.

The staff also seem to be utterly incompetent when it comes to the free pickup / dropoff at the port. Despite checkout promising us that the minibus would pick us up on the road just below the Panorama extension to Francesscos - it drove straight past us. I then had to call up to reception TWICE to get it to come back. The first time I was promised it would come back in five minutes. Half an hour later, I was still waiting... called up again, and finally it came back from the port with a very grumpy driver who had never been asked to either come back - or pick us up in the first place!

Sure, this place is OK if you want a laid back party place - but it really isn't worth 60 euro a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Absolutely loved this hostel! From the first time you walk onto the patio that overlooks the town and harbour you fall in love. Clean rooms, wonderful staff that make you feel like part of the family. Welcome shots everynight around 10 p.m. and then a pub crawl starting at Blue Notes. Will definantly be coming back someday, until then the memories will make me grin..lol

p.s. only 2 slight problems...tons of stairs to get up to some rooms so if you have mobility issues this won't be the place for you AND the showers have no pressure and kinda dribble but it was worth the trade off for everything else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Francescos was definately one of the best hostels Ive ever stayed!
Very friendly staff, great atmosphere, steps away from all the bars, nightclub, restaurants, market and stores. To go to the beach you can either walk down (about 20 min) or take the bus, very easy!
The private room are great, with ensuite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, everything. The dorm are ok, usually 2 to 4 people, they just dont have hair dryer or bathroom.
The swimming pool is always a great place for socializing, specially in the end of the afternoon, when everybody is coming back from the beach, and they also have a nice porch from where you can what the beautiful Ios' sunset while start to have the first drinks of the night!
Everynight there is a welcome drink at the bar, and at midnight everybody sets out together to the Blue Note bar, where we can 2 for 1 drinks!
Its the best , just go to Ios, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

What an amazing stay. Four of us got two doubles, one with a balcony and amazing view, great place to hang out in the evening before going out. Clean, safe, and loads of fun. 1030pm meeting at the bar then everyone goes out together. Great staff too. Will stay there again when i return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottDavis623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Great, fun place to stay for young travelers!
The rooms are a good size and clean. They have safety deposit boxes in the reception office, there is a bar and a great breakfast restaurant pretty much in the hostel. They are strict with noise during the night so if you go to sleep earlier than the average guest, you won't be kept up. If you go to Ios with friends, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelerteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.6 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 45 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#21 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francesco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francesco's

Property: Francesco's
Address: Ios | Chora, 840 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Francesco's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francesco`s Hotel Ios
Francescos Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing