We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful breakfast”
Review of Cantina Del Mar

Cantina Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 98 Restaurants in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Diner, Wine Bar, Bar, Cafe, Greek, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cantina Del Mar brings a new concept to Ios island, a beach bar that does real sandwiches, fresh wraps, Veg-Fruit Smoothies & the famous Cantina's Breakfast.. Situated right on the main beach overlooking the bay of Mylopotas the most famous and crowded on Ios. The intimate Bar is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a cool cocktail such as caipirinha or Mojito or even just to enjoy an extra cold beer on a hot summers day. Every evening you can relax to the greatest chillout tunes the island has to offer.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful breakfast, fantastic fruit juice , great coffee on a wooden deck right on Mylopotas Beach .The service was great.I would definitely recommend it for its healthy smoothies after a night out on Ios .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    68
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the attitude”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited here twice in May and August 2013. When it was quiet in May, nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent. In August, when we arrived no effort was made to acknowledge us or clear a table so we left. We came back to give it a second chance - the food and drinks were probably amongst the best in the Greek islands but the service was , again , with attitude. You don't tell off your paying customers for having the temerity to ask for extra milk in their coffee- Basil Fawlty eat your heart out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Koula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good beach cafe”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice smoothies (circa 5 euros and very nice), draught Alfa beer in iced glasses, interesting cocktail offers. The smell of freshly brewing coffee is attractive. A range of sandwiches and snacks at reasonable prices. We had BLT each (circa 5 euros) and as a light lunch, one would have done between two, had we realised they were big. A combination of canvas chairs and sofas make the seating arrangements flexible, all Nader shade.

Its only a small kitchen and therefore when busy at lunch it's a rather slow job. It might be helped if they deployed the staff better, or maybe only having only one person taking orders helps take the pressure off the kitchen?

Anyhow, it's good so worth a visit. Take another iced beer while you wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank langdale12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly beach bar with tasty alcoholic smoothies!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ducked into Cantina del Mar after spending some quality time in the sun at Mylopotas Beach in search of some frosty beverages, and we found some excellent ones in the form of the alcoholic smoothies. We tried the Del Mar with vodka, raspberry sorbet and mixed berries and the Mexican with tequila, lemon sorbet and strawberries and they were both great and potent at 7 Euros each.

On the finger food front, we were less impressed, as the nachos (6 Euros) were made with nacho corn chips and covered in cheese whiz. The sandwiches looked better, but we didn't get a chance to try them. We would have ordered breakfast, but the last order for eggs is at 2:30pm and we missed the cut off.

Location is great. Right on the beach with easy access to the sea and tons of comfy seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ios
1 review
“chilling time!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

this place is very relaxing with really nice healthy smoothies and a big variety of sandwiches and wraps. breakfast is also very filling!!if quiet is prefered it's better to be there early in the morning or in the afternoon as it is crowded at noon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christina_fileri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Del Mar also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing