We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic trip however you do it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whanganui River Adventures

Whanganui River Adventures
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pipiriki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mihi nui kia a koutou katoa, Whanganui River Adventures(No Pipiriki)is the only locally owned Jetboat, Canoe and multi adventure and accommodation business based in Pipiriki.We specialise in personalised all round service promoting our local history and stories that we grew up with and what has been passed down to us by our kaumatua and kuia (ancestors, grandparents) and our whanau(families)who still reside on the awa (river)to this date. Our tours are Scenic involving scenic and historic site stops by Jetboat or Canoe/Kayak or MTB ensuring you with a safe journey to your destination from the beginning and return back. You will be greeted with a warm and cheery smile by either ourselves (Ken & Josephine) or one of our local staff before starting your tour on the Whanganui River or one of our local tracks in the area. Or you may be just calling in to our office for a friendly chat and information on our local area or just to have a hot drink and something to eat before your drive out of Pipiriki. We welcome anyone from NZders to our International Visitors from all over the world. Nau mai, Haere mai!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Magic trip however you do it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We knew nothing about this trip but visiting overseas friends had heard of it and wanted to go. We chose Ken and Josephine's outfit because of its good reviews and were well-rewarded. Ken's local knowledge was invaluable and interesting, his skill with a jet boat on the often shallow river was impressive and exhilarating even for those of us who prefer sailing slowly over deep water, the walk into the Bridge was through beautiful native bush, and the sight of the bridge was stunning. It was especially delightful to go with someone who didn't just keep urging you forward but rather seemed to really enjoy answering questions and telling stories of his growing up in the area. Friends' schedule didn't allow for a longer trip, but we'd love to go back and try canoeing at least one way, and we would definitely sign up with this particular group again.
Information about facilities (e.g., toilets at the start but not on the walk, free coffee and tea at the Bridge and afterwards, food availability, what to bring) were all helpful and accurate, and safety gear and instructions clear and sufficient. Great hosts, great day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 85kiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must do experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took the one day trip to the Bridge to Nowhere, jetboated up and partway down and then canoed the last 10 km to Pipiriki. Fantastic. Our guide, Thomas, was superb. He took everything seriously in that he made sure we were safe, pointed out features, told us history, looked after us, and he did it all with good humour. Thomas fitted us with life jackets, properly briefed us on safety, had us seated correctly in the jetboat and did everything he could to ensure that we had a great time. The HQ is the old school which closed about 8-10 years ago. The folk there were also great, ensuring that we had plenty of coffee (complimentary) at both ends of the journey.

The trip itself is gorgeous. The river has cut through the limestone and created a deep gorge. The scenery and history are top rate. Best of all, this is a great way to see the river and experience a little bit of a daring adventure in the canoe, all in a day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Ken & Josephine run a beautiful little campsite above the Whanganui River. Jet boat up the Whanganui from Pipiriki was exhilarating followed by a great walk through the forest to The Bridge to Nowhere. Loads of local history and anecdotes. Good lunch provided at the Bridge then back to the river to canoe through the Gorge and down the rapids back to Pipiriki. Fabulous trip. 10/10.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Did 4 hour bridge to nowhere tour.

Friendly experience with scenic ride and well maintained walk to lunch with a few stories thrown in and optional 360's on return leg.

Only wish there were more stories and felt disrupted by constant translation for non English speaking party (not by tour operator).

Helpful?
1 Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent day in NZ nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My aunty decided to book a day adventure for her family and myself, which included a jet boat ride along the Whanganui River which stopped 32km up river for us to walk to the Bridge to Nowhere. The group aged from 6yrs to mid 50s. The drive from Wanganui to the office had bad roads in parts, so give yourself plenty of time to get there (we left without some people as they were over 20 mins late).
Staff in the office were extremely friendly when we got there. We waited for the group to come together, got our life jackets (a legal requirement) and then we walked down from the office to the River. We jet boated up river and listened to Thomas give us stories and explained some history. We all handled the walk well (there are steps- the hardest part is right when you are getting out of the jet boat!! otherwise its quite a light walk) and the walk was mostly shady, which was nice on a warm day!! Thomas (our guide) was very knowledgeable and shared stories and he has a very strong family history in the area. He even handed out some delicious cookies/biscuits and had tea/coffee/hot chocolate supplies for those interested!!
There are toilets along the way, which is a port-a-loo above a hole in the ground, which was not pleasant smelling on a warm day and no toilet paper (but if you need to go, you'll use it! Don't forget tissues!!). Obviously the toilet is put there the council for use by every tour group that goes there. We then walked back to the jet boat and had a few 360 spins on the way back.
My family group got off the jet boat 10km from the end (obviously pre-arranged when we booked) and then rowed the remaining distance back. Took about 2 hours in the canoes (and not being fitness freaks or rowers and you obviously need to row or you'll never make it back!!), but none of us fell in, even over the small rapids.... so listen to their advice so you don't either (unlike a few others from other groups rowing along!!).
Remember to take hats, sunscreen, lunch and water bottles.... Was a fantastic day!

Thank you Thomas and the staff for making it such a wonderful experience. I had such a wonderful day!! Thanks!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ErinL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whanganui River Adventures also viewed

Raetihi, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Pipiriki, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Whanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whanganui River Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing