We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Tree Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Nanaga B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed in The Green Tree Guest Cottages for three nights in November 2010. The room we stayed in(cottage number 3) was finished to a very good standard. Lezl (the owner) was very friendly and welcoming with many tips on what to do and see in the area. She supplied a lovely cooked breakfast every morning. One evening we ordered supper and had a delicious homemade chicken pie. The closest shop is a short drive away however this is a convenient location for visiting Addo national park and the sand dunes. We would use this accommodation again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

we were a group of five staying at green tree during the world cup. when we arrived, one match had just begun, so the friendly owner quickly guided us to our cottage and turned on the tv for us to watch the game, very thoughtful. The rooms are really great, from the beds to the spacious bathroom. As we had a self catering cottage, our dishes were cleaned immediately while we were having a delicious breakfast. Altogether perfect service, friendly staff and perhaps the best stay of our journey to south africa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zezeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

It was our first b&b in SA and and a very good place to begin with. The cottages were spacious & very welcoming. Lezl was very helpful by giving us all kinds of tips concerning Addo park' the dunes as well as restaurants recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osnat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed for two nights while visiting Addo Elephant Park. Recommended by a friend.
As soon as we met Lezl and saw the cottages, we realised that it was a great recommendation. Our cottage was clean, very well furnished and very comfortable, with a very cottagey bathroom. The kitchen was complete with all the necessary equipment and a well stocked bar. Landlady Lezl is a perfect hostess. She made us feel very welcome and cooked us tasty suppers of local dishes, served in our own cottage. Breakfast was extensive, catering for all tastes, nothing too much trouble. Bearing in mind that this is a working farm and the hours that they work, We thought that it was a great experience and very good value for money.
The little mini farm of domestic animals, run by Reynard, their son, was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FltEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heeee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Excellent accommodation of individual cottages.
Very welcoming and friendly hosts giving lots of local knowledge
Great location for Game parks, especially Addo

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

we enjoyed a great breakfast, the well equipped room (even if you don´t have a toilet door that you could close, there was akind of a saloon door instead, but never mind ;-)), the warm and very kind host that gave us very important and helpful tipps for the game drive and even booked for us. Unfortunately we had a construction area right on the street that is close to the cottage and therefore some noise at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellicarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lezl, Owner at The Green Tree Guest Cottages, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Due to the coming 2010 Soccer World Cup, upgrades as been done to roads through South Afica. Unfortunately we were unlucky to have it close to our entrance, wich caused a bit of noise during day time, it has since been relocated away from our entrance, and something that was not permanent. This was something that was not in our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stilbaai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

My wife and I live in SA, and were travelling with friends from Jersey C.I. and we used Green Trees as a base to tour the area, Addo etc. We stayed in two separate chalets self catering, which were imaculate and well appointed. We have stayed on working farms before and this was the best by far. Nothing was too much trouble for our Host's who even did some shopping for us in Port Elizabeth, and one evening cooked us a fantastic meal. We were extremly pleased by the lovely gardens and swimming pool, that we took time out from travels just to spend time in the gardens and pool. We had a great stay and would recommend Green Trees to anyone with or without children. When my wife and I visit the East Cape again we will certainly stay here again, so to our hosts Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Phil & Geraldine Nicholson SA.

  • Liked — Location close to game reserves, working farm, very peaceful and accomodation fantastic
  • Disliked — Whats not to like?
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philstilbaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaga
4.7 mi away
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Leeuwenbosch Country House
#1 of 3 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
20.3 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
21.5 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
8.4 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Tree Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Property: The Green Tree Guest Cottages
Address: Route 72, Wycombevale Farm, Nanaga 6185, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Nanaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Tree Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the life style of country living on this beautiful dairy farm while visiting The Addo Elephant Park, Schotia safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve and more within 10 - 15 min drive from The Green Tree Cottages. Spacious, tastefully decorated self-catering cottages will ensure you a comfortable stay. The Green Tree Cottages are Owner managed for personal attention and good service. We would love to welcome you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Tree Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing