We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and great host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Tree Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Nanaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place to go to Addo National park or do the game drive at Schotia. We stayed in 2 cottages, myself with 2 kids in one room that was more than spacious, very well kept and had a great farm feel to it. Very clean and quiet, with Lezl being a fantastic host to make you feel welcome

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am so glad that we chose this lost little farm in the middle of no where for our 4 day mini-honeymoon. We got there (on a almost 40 degree day), with champagne waiting for us and a nice cool room. It was so quiet, just what we needed after a hectic wedding weekend. Lezl was a great guest, she made us different breakfasts everyday and even drove to Port Elizabeth because we wanted to Braai steak one night! She really goes out of her way for her guests. We took a few dips in the pool, played some golf and went on an amazing game drive (Schotia Safari)! Everything was worth it! Thank you Green Tree Cottages :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leska87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lizl was an amazing friendly host that really gave us a warm welcome. Addo National Park is very nearby! The surroundings are beautiful. The road nearby is a bit noisy in the night, but for the rest it was a very nice stay! We as vegetarians received veggie meals that were specially prepared for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Green Tree cottage with our 3 small children. What a fantastic stay we had! We loved this cottage and Lezl is such a warm, friendly and fantastic host! The Nyala Cottage that we stayed in comes with 2 bedrooms, a big dining area and living area and an additional bunk beds to accommodation big family like us. Huge breakfast spread provided every morning from cereal, fruits, muffins, french toast, ham, cheese etc. We stayed during the Easter week holiday and Lezl went all the way make our Easter holiday a memorable one especially for the kids by giving the children Easter eggs and preparing hot cross-buns for breakfast!

The property is so well managed and comes with a small pool. But the real winner for us with this property is the petting farm that belongs to Lezl's son! It's occupiers made up of roosters, rabbits, goats, ducks and their wonderful dogs and cats kept our children happy and contented all day!

Location is also convenient to Addo National Park though it is a bit of a drive to reach there, about 20 minutes. Then again, unless you stay in one of the camps inside the park itself, most accommodations out of the park will involves a bit of driving.

We definitely had a fantastic stay in The Green Tree and will not be hesitant to recommend this wonderful property! This is a superb place to stay for family travelling with children. A real winner for us!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron-Shima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Loved every minute of our stay at 'Green Tree' Lezl not only a charming and welcoming hostess, but for U.K. visitors ( and no doubt others) most helpful when it came to making the most of our stay. A beautiful tranquil spot and conveniently close to Addo Elephant Park. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Charactable with a good South African atmosphere. Very appealing - would love to go back. A huge thank you to Lezl and to her husband for being so willing to give us a lift when we needed one. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

First time we have stayed at a farm facility. We self catered We were well received by the charming Lezl. Cottage was nicely furnished with grand old solid wood products.It was well equipped in the kitchen area and very clean. There was a huge fireplace which would be great to sit by in winter evenings. Birdlife was never ending and it was only 20 mins to the Addo game reserve. Will definitely return and use the B and B next time if only 2 of us stay. Has a nice touch farm for the kids.Our overseas guests also thoroughly enjoyed their stay as they were free to roam the farm and surrounds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Although we were initally concerned that it was a little of the beaten track, when we arrived - it was paradise!
We were treated like royalty. Coming home to beautifully home cooked meals after a day of animal spotting at Addo made the trip complete.

I'd return there in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green Tree Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Address: Route 72, Wycombevale Farm, Nanaga 6185, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Nanaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaga
Price Range: $300 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Tree Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the life style of country living on this beautiful dairy farm while visiting The Addo Elephant Park, Schotia safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve and more within 10 - 15 min drive from The Green Tree Cottages. Spacious, tastefully decorated self-catering cottages will ensure you a comfortable stay. The Green Tree Cottages are Owner managed for personal attention and good service. We would love to welcome you here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing