We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon Village & Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Horizon is a great, great place if you want to get away from it all. It is about 25 minutes outside Chiang Mai, so you won't have easy access to the "usual" restaurants, massages, etc. Tours and trips are easily arranged.

The resort is quite large. There are beautiful gardens, petting zoo, many walking paths.

The staff are exceptional. They are kind, friendly, and attentive. The owner of the resort is very hands-on and may be found waiting on guests.

If you want time away, this is the place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Horizon 2. The rooms are large, modern, with good AirCon. I am told the Horizon 1 ro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonvillageresort, Owner at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your kind comments for the environment of the resort and the botanic garden.
Yes it is quite peaceful .It is good for person who want to be away from the busy life.
Thank you for your visit and hope to see you again next time.
Kindest regards,
C.Sesaweech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Village & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Horizon is about thirty minutes from Chiang Mai so if you're staying here then you best be aware of that. If you're looking for going to the markets and getting massages during your stay in Chiang Mai this isn't the place for you unless you're willing to go in the shuttles or pay for taxis to bring you back.

However, if you are looking for somewhere that is tranquil, peaceful and somewhere you can relax, this is the place to go. Horizon has beautiful gardens, a petting zoo, paddle boats, great pools and a nice lake. It has many things on offer for a couple who may want a getaway to families looking for a place to bond together.

It has several hotel buildings. We stayed in Horizon 1 which was older than the other buildings. If you're looking at staying in a room that is styled in the traditional Thai manner then this is the building for you. I would rather have stayed in a more light and airy room but in general it was still good.

What really makes the place though is the service. Mr Gop who is the manager of the place goes out of his way to accommodate guests. The massage services are excellent as well. The food was great in the restaurants too.

Room Tip: If you're looking for Thai style rooms go for Horizon 1. But the rooms in Horizon 2 and 3 are n...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying at Horizon village and resort. Mr.Gob , Seewapong ,has been working with us since year of 2004.He always has done a good job. The Horizon village 1 will
be renovated after Aug 15, Hope you come back next time we has done all the jobs. It is very kind of you to write your review and express you opinion in the Trip Advisor .Look forward to seeing you once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Thavaravej.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've been to Chiang Mai many times for conferences, and this is our favorite by far. The setting is so beautiful we hardly felt like we were there to get work done. We took morning and evening walks around the property, which is huge and well managed, including organic vegetable gardens for the restaurant, and a small zoo. The isolation of the place was a plus for us, away from the noise and clutter of the night market. This is apparently the only place in Chiang Mai that has a license to launch hot air balloons (see photo).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandemaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

With respectfuly,
C Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I attended a conference at the Horizon Village and this is a great location for events like this. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained, the staff friendly and helpful. One thing that would have been nice to have is a place to gather later in the evening where we could order drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

With respectfuly,
C Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed there for a three day conference, and really enjoyed the hotel. The setting of a botanical park is amazing. The welcoming attitude and friendliness of the staff was heart warming. The rooms and food were also very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcoPolo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

With respectfuly,
C Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just attended a conference at the hotel. The owner went overboard to help in any way.
Great food, great service, great pool, great price.
Wonderful gardens too.
They also ran us into town for free. I don't know if they do that for all guest, but it was a nice feature for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p29zad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

With respectfuly,
C Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at the Horizon for a week at a conference, and the place was really good. The staff at reception were excellent, and the food was very varied - and interesting. Lots of Thai food, some of it rather spicy, but all good. At all the meals they had extra service stations where individually cooked food was available.

The pool was excellent, and had some shade except at midday. The room was excellent, with sheets and towels changed every day.

But your mind will be blown by the amazing shaped hedges or "topiary". Everything from dinosaurs to dragons and reindeer. The huge gardens are just amazing . There are also some play areas under the trees where children can use the swings and other kiddy-stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhylDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

With respectfuly,
C Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
6.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
7.5 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
2.7 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
72 reviews
8.1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Village & Resort

Address: 200 Moo 7 Chiang Mai-Doi Saket Road | Cheng Doi Subdistrict, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range: $44 - $1,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Village & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Village & Resort or otherwise known as the Family resort of Chiang Mai, has been open since 2005. Horizon Village& Resort is located on the main highway approximately 10 kms. From downtown of Chiang Mai. It is set in 286 rai of beautiful garden. Its design is inspired by Northern Thai (Lanna) culture, with classic architectural details. Horizon Village & Resort is a place of deep tranquility where guests can escape from their busy lifestyles or simply indulge in a luxurious weekend away. All the facilities are those one would expect from a high class resort. Some include a spacious salt swimming pool, Buddhist insight meditation and a fitness room .You can be accomadated at Horizon Village & Resort or you can even just stay the day in the botanical garden..In the garden you can walk, enjoy your morning jogging, bike or even bird watching as well as many other activities.Horizon Village& Resort used to be a boutique resort Chiang Mai but after we built a second group of rooms it became a resort of 71 rooms. Now we are called garden and family resort of Chiang Mai . Personal service is provided in a warm uplifting family atmosphere. Horizon Village& Resort has 71 rooms, from which you can take your pick off suites ranging from standard rooms to superior villas. The sizes of the rooms vary from 40 to 68 square metres.There are two restaurants,both of which serve at different times of the day insuring you a convenient stay. They also serve an array of healthy food made with original and organically grown fruits herbs and vegetables. ************************************************** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Village And Resort
Horizon Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Horizon Village & Resort Chiang Mai Province/Doi Saket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing