We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Village and Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went recently with my family. When we got into our room it was full of mosquitoes, and I mean there was at least 200. How do I know this, because I spent a bit of time killing them and still did not get all of them. The resort is very isolated from Chiang Mai so if you want to go into town or do something out side of the resort, it is probably not a good option. The gardens and zoo are nice but once again, it was bug central. We ate at the restaurant at the club house and I received food poisoning here which made an interesting night. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank teargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horizonvillageresort, Owner at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Valuedguest,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking your valuable time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor.
We must apologise most sincerely about any inconvenience and try our best to improve our work.
This is raining season we put the sign in the guest room to remind our guest not to leave the door open . Because this is the resort which has trees all over. It might have mosquitoes which would bother you.Also every rooms has lotion and fragrance spray for mosquito protection. I appreciate your kind comments on our hotel and services and hope we may welcome you again in the near future.
With our regards,
Chalarng Sesaweech
Owner of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

There are so many hotel offerings in Chiang Mai that I had difficulty choosing one. I should have been a little more careful in my selection because I chose a location that was out of the city center and that made it inconvenient. However, on a positive note, Horizon Village bordered the Tweechol Botanical Gardens which offered an exquisite location. The service was very good, but we were limited to the times the van transported guests out of the area. We could only visit the Night Market at 7PM and were returned to the hotel at 10PM. The same was true for the shuttle to the airport (times were limited). In addition, the tour we booked at Elephant Nature Park had to charge us more (a small amount) to pick us up at Horizon Village since it was out of their way. All in all, I would say this is a good, clean, and comfortable spot if you are looking for solitude. However if you are a night person and want more sights and sounds you should stay in the city center.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chalarng, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

To Valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking your valuable time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor.
We must apologise most sincerely about any inconvenience and try our best to improve our work.However,we are pleased to see your nice pictures of Tweechol botanic garden.I appreciate your kind comments on our hotel and services and hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

5 of us stayed at the Horizon for 2 weeks and had a great time. Very impressed with every aspect of this place. Absolutely beautiful grounds and great service. We really liked the location, just outside of Chiang Mai but close enough to visit. Rooms were very nice and very clean. The General Manager, Seewapong Kumwang, checked in on us to make sure everything was good. He was a great host. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Horizon II, but I'm sure all of the areas are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were the fourth time in the Horizon, and it was always a beautiful place to stay. Very nice rooms, friendly staff and good food. Beautiful surroundings, clean pools and tranquility away from the city. We will come back and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalarng S, Owner at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Horizon village and Tweechol botanic garden.

I would like to thank you for staying with us .Please apologize us if there was anything that was not satisfied you or made you feel uncomfortable. Please do not hesitate to suggest us . We look forward to seeing you once again.

With respectfully,
Chalarng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have never experience such hotel really enjoyed fantastic surrounding garden wooooow clean lovely staff very welcoming. I met with owners couple great people lovely enjoyed staying. I would recommend to all when you visi chiang Mai then this is the hotel don't go away....

SALMAN
OMAN

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Salono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Mr.&Mrs.Salono,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking your valuable time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your kind comments on our hotel and services and hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We didn't stay at Horizon village, but I have visited twice for a golf cart tour of the gardens and to swim in the pool. It's definitely worth doing the tour (hopefully you wont get the creepy driver who stares at you the entire time), but it's a beautiful place. The camels are a bit gross looking, but the foliage is spectacular!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank worldtravelsoftiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Fantastic value and very peaceful setting just outside of the village of Doi Saket. The gardens are beautiful and there are exotic animals to feed, and nice play areas, so great for children. Best to have a car if staying at this resort but very easy drive into Chiang Mai or other area attractions. It was a bit of a ghost town during my stay (July 2012). Food is very average.

Room Tip: Older part of the resort has more interesting, traditional rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OBJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
7.5 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#3 of 7 in Doi Saket
31 reviews
6.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
7.6 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#24 of 394 in Chiang Mai
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Village and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Village and Resort

Address: 200 Moo 7 Chiang Mai-Doi Saket Road | Cheng Doi ,Doisaket,Chiangmai, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range: $45 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Village and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Village & Resort is a resort which is situated in 115 acres Botanical Garden. We located in out skirt of Chiangmai area which is far from the city for 10 km. The Unique Selling Point of this property is the Conference in the garden with the capacity of 3,762 sqm which are 2 Grand Ballrooms (Ceiling high 6.5 metres and 10 metres) and 15 meeting rooms. The maximum capacity of Grand Ballroom is 800 pax. The Accommodation 209 rooms comming with the Lanna style which we have 4 different room type. Moreover, our resort has various activities for the guest to enjoy for example riding a bicycle , paddle boat, swimming, visit the Lanna Museum or Lanna way of Life , feeding the animal in the petting zoo, Thai massage or even get into the Hot air balloon which we receive the license to be the only one balloon port in Chiangmai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Village and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Horizon Village Resort
Horizon Village And Resort Chiang Mai Province/Doi Saket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing