We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, noisy, and overrated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay
Ranked #2 of 14 Doi Saket B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cold, noisy, and overrated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I am shocked to read all these "excellent" reviews of this so called "quiet" place. Are all these 75 people deaf, or what?

We had made a reservation for the garden hut with a "normal" double bed 2 months in advance, but when I called the day before, Nong told me that there was a double booking, and we would get the family barn for half of the price, that's 250 baht more than the garden hut! The barn was…. yes indeed: a barn. The only luxe we had was a mosquito net, which was necessary because you could look through the planks, and you heard all the noise from outside just like you were sleeping in a tent. Bed? Forget it: 2 Thai massage mattresses was the only furnitur on the barn. All our stuff was exposed on the floor. Here and there we found a rusty nail to hang up some clothes. The outside shower may be nice at noon, but in the morning, it was 10°C in january…

OK, now about the "quiet" place:

1. You are surround by maybe 30 roosters, not a couple from the farms, but as cock-fights are the number 1 entertainment, some people had several. At 4 AM they started. This was the easiest part.

2. At random moments in the middle of the night, we were given free concerts of I guess 20 dogs in the close neighborhood. But the worst of all was the dog of the house who was sleeping outside barking while chasing the cats right underneath our "bedroom". Nong did not have any problem, as she was sleeping in a concrete house with windows.

3. Buddhism may be a peacefull religion, but not really that respectfull. At 6 AM the monks started to say prayers through speakers that were so loud that you couldn't even talk to each other.

And the free bicycles…. were children size…

OK, everybody knows that you don't discuss about flavors and colors, but the food was rather poor. They didn't even use herbs and spices like you would expect from thai kitchen. As there were no restaurants around, we had to "survive" on what they offered.

The environment is nice to tour around with "normal" bicycles (we had to rent their motor-bike, no other choice), a GPS is a good help, as you can get lost even with the provided map.
In the jungle of Kao Sok we rented similar huts for 290 baht and we had only the normal jungle noises, which didn't keep you from sleeping. After 5 nights we were happy to go back to the polluted town of Chiang Mai to relax from the noisy village.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban_Chunsongsang, Owner at Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
We are so sorry that our religion ceremony and the nature noises surrounded our place has disturbed your sleeping time. And thank you very much for staying with us for 6 nights. As our agreement we are pleased to accept your cancellation at any day of staying if you couldn't stay in our place. Because we felt from your questions before you make a reservations that our place might not be your style. You have inquired our hut for several weeks and did not make a reservations. When you decided to book our hut, it has been booked by other guests. Then we offered the family house with 2 bedrooms for you. And you agreed to stay and pay more than the hut price. As we couldn't sell the room for 4 persons in the rate for 2 persons. We serve a traditional Thai house style which different from the hotel with modern furnished. It may not be suitable for the person who expect for a comfortable room and worldwide style.

We provide the real Thai lifestyle accommodation located in a real Thai countryside village. Here the visitors can touch the real Thai people living style. The mostly of noises are from the nature, animals and our respected religion ceremony. The voice from monk in the morning are the monk praying and the monk teachings in the Buddha day ceremony. The Buddhists usually pray every morning before starting work. And these are the Thai Buddhists village life.

Our bicycle is free to us for cycling around the village and better to ride for total distance 15 kilometers. It can be supported for maximum weight 80 kilogram. The guests can rent a big bicycle 40 Baht per day from us. You rented our motorbike to visit Mae Kwang Dam and Hot Spring those far away from our place 22 kilometers and round trip 44 kilometers. So it's not possible to ride a normal bicycle to those places. But in other day you enjoyed riding our bicycle to visit the places nearby with our lovely neighbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
55
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and charming homestay with impeccable service with a big smile then this is surely the place to visit. We spent four memorable and very enjoyable days in the Ricefield Hut being looked after fantastically by Nong, Coco and her family. After the noise and hustle of Bangkok and Chang Mai it was lovely to simply lay back and enjoy a slice of genuine village life. Ban Chunsongsang is laid back and simply lovely. Nong's smile is infectious and nothing is too much trouble for her. The staff were great pandering to our every need and the genuine warmth and kindness of everyone we met made this stay unforgettable. It was fun to visit the local markets, buy some great food and ask the staff to prepare some delicious dishes. The small restaurant serves up some excellent quality food and remarkably good prices. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Highly recommend this lovely, relaxing experience away from all the tourists and traffic of Chiang Mai.

Nong, Koko and family were wonderful hosts who really looked after us. My daughter brought a dreadful ear infection with her on arrival which was over a weekend. Koko spent Sunday morning driving us around Chiang Mai to find the right medical care, ending up at the hospital where her care was excellent. They also really took my son under their wing and he fitted in like a local in no time at all. The local shop owner was a warm, generous lady and the head monk at the nearby temple very interesting. Nong helped us out with everything.

There are many activities to do or you can just relax and chill out to gentle, village life. The kids particularly loved the fish feeding and sending off wish lanterns!

All in all an authentic experience of Thai village life.

Room Tip: We stayed in the moonlight beauty barn which was very comfortable, spacious and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybele14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin , Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed some nights in December 2013 and would warmly recommend this nice , interesting and quiet place. The family takes care of you, everybody is very friendly and helpful. The location and surroundings is interesting, you are in the middle of a village life, interesting for walkings , bicycle trips. We really much enjoyed.
Best Regards, Klaus from berlin/Germany

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlausBerlin_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This home stay is just what you need if you are looking for a quiet relaxing wind-down cultural experience.
Having lived in Thailand before we were looking for an experience away from the bright lights and street market noises and we found it here. The accomodation is very clean and well looked after and everything is provided for you. Breakfast is included and the food served is very good. Nong, coco and the family are always ready to help and work very hard making this place what it is. Tis is nothing like any hotel you will find in town, but for us that is what made it special. Coco arranged for us to teach at the local school and our boys (11 & 7) spent a lot of their time playing soccer with the local kids or fishing with them. Rnt the motorbikes and explore the area, especially at dusk it is a very calming thing to do. We would love to come back here someday and thank the famy for being such amazing hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Located out of city, this is the best place if you want to rest and relax away from the hectic city life. Surrounded with nature, greens, we wake up in the morning with the sounds from the roosters. And spend the night listening to the crickets and admiring the stars.

Ms Nong was a great host and always there to assist us. The food from the kitchen were tasty and amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Ban Chunsongsang Homestay, located at the outskirts of Chiang Mai city, is an ideal place to spend the night and indulge in nature. Away from the bustling city, we were able to enjoy the fresh air, listen to the sound of crickets and gaze the stars. During our 8 nights in the Homestay, we received immense hospitality from Nong, Koko & family. Not only were they always ready to meet our needs, they also gave us good advice and suggestions on the different places we were planning to visit. They were also quick to offer their services, such as driving us from place to place. The prices for food and services were also reasonable and affordable. Overall, I would recommend this place to travellers looking for a different experience than staying in a hotel. The Homestay offers a tranquil environment where you can really relax and unwind. It is definitely the perfect getaway from the hectic city life.

Room Tip: Moonlight Beauty Barn offers 2 bedrooms which is suitable for family with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
6.8 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.4 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Rabeang Pasak Tree House Resort
4.6 mi away
Him Doi House @ Doisaket
Him Doi House @ Doisaket
#6 of 14 in Doi Saket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
2.8 mi away
Horizon Village & Resort
Horizon Village & Resort
#1 of 6 in Doi Saket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay

Property: Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay
Address: 15/3 San Thon Muang Nuea Village | T. Samranrat, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Doi Saket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Chunsongsang Home Stay Chiang Mai Province/Doi Saket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing