We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Old Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Holbeck B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay in the local hotel last time we were visiting Creswell Crags and decided to find another place to stay. Well, we will not be looking for another place to stay again as we have now found the most perfect B&B ever! Everything is just right here: from the friendly welcome to the well appointed rooms and the lovely garden to the wide choice available at breakfast and to the sad goodbyes. The owners are friendly, helpful and attentive. You can't ask for better hosts. It is an exceptional place and should set the bench mark for others.

Room Tip: There is one larger room and it is well worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
47
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a stay at Browns, Holbeck as I was having an experience day at the nearby Netherthorpe airfield. We booked based on the amazing pictures, the excellent reviews and of course the 4 poster bed. It was truly a very romantic stay, the Garden Room 1 was a lovely room and looked after very well. Joan and Robin were both excellent hosts and very welcoming. When booking, Joan recommended reserving a table at a pub called the Elm Tree and I'm glad she did as it really is an excellent place with fantastic food. When we returned, they kindly gave us an ice bucket for our bottle of wine.

The breakfast choices were incredible and the quality and service was excellent. This was a very enjoyable stay and the friendly hosts could not have done any more to make it any better.

Many thanks,
Hemant & Emma

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HemantPatel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is how a Bed & Breakfast is supposed to be. Very friendly owners, and the attribute "perfect" fits on everything: starting from the parking spaces over the park and the rooms to the breakfast. In fact we never had such a good breakfast before.

If you are searching for a quiet stay in the area north of Nottingham, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Aside from the lovely spacious and comfortable room, the well-stocked bathroom with robes, slippers and White Company toiletries, the courtesy tray with lovely tea and coffee selection, the guests' patio area in the stunning garden and the amazing breakfasts, this place is run by one of the nicest couples you could imagine. Nothing is too much trouble and they have rightly won every award going for their lovely b&b.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudeSeaPoolSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you have read the other Trip Advisor reviews for Browns you will know what to expect - stylishly decorated, well appointed rooms, charming hosts, peaceful environment, historic breakfast, proximity to School of Artisan Food etc. It's all true! Joan and Robin welcome you to their lovely part of the world with genuine warmth and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We stayed in Garden Room 3 and were lucky enough to be there during some spectacular summer weather so were able to sit out on the deck and enjoy the wine we'd brought with us (and some of the things we'd made that day at the SoAF). As we'd come by train, Robin kindly drove us to and from a local pub (for far less than a taxi fare), he also dropped us off and picked us up from SoAF. As we'll be back to SoAF we'll also be returning to Browns and will be looking forward to both.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have travelled all over the UK stopping in numerous hotels and B&Bs along the way and never have we rebooked before we have even checked out, but with this venue we wanted to make sure we could stay again as soon as possible, so we are booked in again for next month.
It surpassed ALL expectation. Such a peaceful place to unwind and relax and the attention to little details in the room were lovely. Wished we could have stayed for a whole week.
The local pub Joan and Robin recommended for food, Elm Tree was also amazing. We highly recommend the award winning burger and fillet and have also rebooked a table when we are back at Brown's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggertiggertigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a wonderful surprise when I arrived at Brown's B&B. Nestled just off a small rarely traveled road, is the picturesque cottage and garden. I was warmly greeted at my car and shown to my room, which was separate from the main cottage, in the beautifully converted cow shed. My accommodation consisted of a entrance area, large airy bedroom (with 4 poster bed), and a spacious bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean, and welcoming. Robes and slippers on the bed, White Company bath and body products, biscuits and an assortment of chocolates and sweets were unexpected, delightful extra's. Outside the room was a large deck area with tables and chairs which, had it been sunny would have been the perfect place to linger over your morning coffee, or a glass of wine. After a good nights sleep I tucked into a exceptional breakfast. I ordered the eggs Benedict, which turned out to be made from local eggs. The Hollandaise sauce was perfect, the eggs rich in flavour, and the smoked salmon was excellent. And if this was not enough there was cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast and jams on offer. I could not praise Joan and Robin highly enough for their friendly and welcoming manner. They even booked a table for me at the near by Elm Tree pub for my evening meal. The only negative comment I could possibly make is that one night is not long enough to get the full enjoyment of a stay at Brown's B&B. I am looking forward to taking another course at The School of Artisan Food, so I can return to Brown's B&B, and it will definitely be for longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are separate from the main cottage, and provide spacious, private accommodation in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holbeck
4.2 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
6.6 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worksop
Travelodge Worksop
#1 of 1 in Dukeries Mill
174 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel van Dyk
Hotel van Dyk
#1 of 1 in Clowne
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Old Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Old Orchard Cottage

Property: Brown's Old Orchard Cottage
Address: Near Worksop, Holbeck S80 3NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Holbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Old Orchard Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Brown's Old Orchard Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing