We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place. We could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melheim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melheim Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beragala
Certificate of Excellence
Saigon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place. We could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

In a wonderful location, the spacious, comfortable and nicely designed rooms overlook the garden and pool. Mountains all around are filled with birds. Sometimes the monkeys visit the dining room balcony. There are several opportunities for good walks. The restaurant is quite good and the staff are skilled, professional and attentive. If you want wines, stock up in duty free on the way to Sri Lanka, as many hotels have limited cellars. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room in this hotel. All have excellent mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkhSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    151
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
129
252
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend Melheim to anyone without hesitation. This was a great place to stay for my family of six. The location is quite serene and the rooms were clean and well presented. The food was fantastic, and the staff were very professional and patient in dealing with the numerous requests from my childran :) For the price we paid, this place was quite exceptional. My family and I had a great stay here.

Thanks everyone from Melheim for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uppady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

After spending 6 hours on a train we arrived at the Melheim Resort what spectacular views. Room, food, staff wonderful. Everything was luxurious. Highly recommend a stay at this hotel for the peace and luxury. David Lewis

Room Tip: All rooms have great views over the mountauns
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djl786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 nights stay at Melheim. The weather was nice and cool and the room was very comfortable. The kids enjoyed playing in the freezing cold pool and they loved the outdoor play area which was also a fantastic place to watch the beautiful sunset . They are lots of birds and butterflies at anytime of the day and they loved feeding the squirrels that turn up during mealtime. The view from anywhere at Melheim is just breathtaking and it is amazingly peaceful up there. The food was excellent and the service was amazing. Everyone at Melheim went out of their way to be helpful, courteous and to make all of us happy. A big thank you to Mr. Rafael who helped to make our stay a memorable one , he helped us plan our excursions and made sure we had yummy food to eat as we are vegetarians !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajikadesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very close to the highest falls in Sri Lanka, service was outstanding as was the rooms considering the area it was in. Highly recommend if your looking for somewhere to get away with you loved one with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thusara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

People remember holidays spent with family and friends for many reasons- good company, scenic beauty, hospitality, comfort etc.

A holiday at Melheim combines it all!!. Just over 4 hours from Colombo in the cool climes of Haputale / Beragala nestles the hotel. Nestles is the right word because from the Reception / Dining to the Chalets are on well landscaped terraced levels overlooking right up to the South coast as far as the eye can see.

The hotel has an excellent staff, who are attentive, excellent listeners and anticipate even the tiniest need. One afternoon during luncheon most of the guests at our table gave a miss to a dish at the buffet table thinking it was stewed vegetables. Only one person served it and at the table she remarked it was a very tasty sea food dish much to the dismay of all of us. Hey pronto!! a nearby steward had just heard our dismayed sounds, but within minutes he presented us with a full plate of the dish and wished us bon appetit. That is the level of service.

Rooms are very large, very comfortable, excellent bathrooms and lines.

Manager Mr Rafael and his team - well done

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool or near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful three-nights stay at the Melheim Resort. You would be greeted by the beautiful views of the mountains once you step in. Indeed a sight to behold when you wake up every morning.

The resort is in the middle of nowhere but in a good way so. It was quiet, and peaceful which made is a very tranquil stay. You can hear the sounds of chirping birds in the mornings and spot some colourful and beautiful ones. The pool, though small, was sufficient as there were hardly anyone using the pool.

The food too was good and the staff did check with us how spicy we liked the food, which was very thoughtful.

The staff at the resort made the stay extremely enjoyable. They were genuinely warm and helpful.

The rooms were large and comfortable. There is no air-con but that isn't necessary in Haputale where the nights and early mornings are very cool.

This is a good place to explore tea country. We are glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinnamonandsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beragala
17.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
2.4 mi away
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Olympus Plaza Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haputale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
18.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leisure Mount View Holiday Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melheim Resort

Property: Melheim Resort
Address: Lower Blackwood, Beragala, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Beragala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beragala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melheim Hotel Beragala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing