We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Lough Allen Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
Outside Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Lough Allen Hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just back from 4 wonderful days at the Lough Allen Hotel and Spa. Really relaxing and pleasant stay in Drumshanbo. All staff we engaged with were friendly, helpful, and a true asset to the hotel - Can't thank them enough. Food was fantastic from breakfast through to dinner. We ate in restaurant and in bar - Couldn't fault it! Lovely walks around the hotel especially to edge of Lough Allen - Great place to head to just chill out, and was perfect for our family 4 night getaway - Would defo go back especially with the great deal I got - Thanks for a fantastic stay !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    271
    142
    42
    29
See reviews for
295
349
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a lovely relaxing stay.
great staff, an excellent receptionist who was very welcoming, a lovely lady
Rooms very clean and comfortable
Spa was great and lovely treatments
the bar was nice and the food was lovely great value for money
Would return again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast-UK
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

First impressions pothole road / boarded up rental homes - PLEASE READ ON

Once inside really nice feel to the place friendly staff - room wasnt ready so i went to the bar which was quite busy in a good way.

Room was ready within 30mins - nice and spacious a mini fridge wouldnt go a miss thought - comfy beds / very clean

Views at the back of the resort are beautiful - pool / sauna / steam were all very good - one complaint only one shower had hot water in the changing room - oh and 3euros for a swim cap so bring your own they must be worn in the pool

Food - bar food was good - breakfast was very good - evening menu i thought was a bit pricey so i had dinner in a pub in town.

Overall a great stay and would visit again - places worth visiting agrina mines & carrick-on-shannon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfast-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Impressive looking hotel in Leitrim's lake land. Rooms are large and airy and decor is fresh. The hotel is clean and seems to be run in a friendly yet professional manner. Food is good and well presented in the dining room and breakfast are self service with lots of variety. Staff are happy to cook eggs to order if requested.
The hotel is well situated for Leitrim's tourist trail and even Sligo can be reached in a short time. Drumshambo village is within walking distance and there is horse riding, sailing and walking routes nearby.
I would no hesitate to recommend this hotel, especially if its on a mid week special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lough, and perhaps one nearer reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doaghtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

booked in at the lough allen hotel and spa on monday 9th september , we were two hours early for check in but the receptionist bernie was very helpful and found out our room was ready so we could check-in no problem.the room we had was a family room with one double and two single beds although there was only myself and my husband, the room was large clean ,bright and had tea making facilites hairdryer and trouser press the bar has a fantastic view over loughallen we used the swimming pool sauna steam room and hot tub so relaxing as we had a voucher deal we had 2 nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal which was absolutely fantastic on the second night we had a meal in the bistro which was just as delicious the hotel staff were very pleasant helpful and professional and i would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

(May / June 2012) After a very long journey to Ireland from the UK & finding that the hotel we had originally booked was awful, We found Lough Allen hotel & Spa through our sat nav in the car! we were very pleasantly surprised to find the hotel had a fantastic offer on the room rates!
The hotel is Modern & exceptionally clean, the hotel staff (Bernadette) was extremely helpful & managed to keep us booked into the rooms for the duration of our stay!!
Breakfast was great... smoked salmon, scrambled eggs etc the dining room staff always asked us how we wanted our eggs! nothing was too much trouble.
Overlooking the Lough this hotel is situated in a beautiful spot & close to Drumshambo... The swimming pool was refreshing & considering that the hotel was fully booked it seemed to cater quite effeciently.
The bar was great & the menu was excellent & well priced.
Considering that we stumbled upon Lough Allen we can honestly say WE HAD A GREAT HOLIDAY... We popped in for coffee on a day trip from Sligo this year ---- (fully booked so we couldn't stay this time)

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah-Iisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband, toddler and I stayed here last week for 4 nights on a Dealrush voucher. I have to say I wasn't really expecting much as it was such a good deal, but I was pleasantly surprised. On arrival, the driveway in is not very well kept, potholes, weeds etc and the entrance to the hotel didn't even have a sign to tell you where reception was, plus it was covered in bird poop!!! Once you go inside though, it is a very nice hotel. We had a family room on the third floor, which was large, a double and two singles, and very very clean. We had a lovely view of Lough Allen and the kids playground. The first night we ate in the bar, which wasn't great to be honest, what really annoyed me was the childrens menu. When are hotels and restaurants going to realise that not every parent wants to feed their kids processed crap! The menu consisted of the usual chicken nuggets, fish fingers etc. We got him the chicken nuggets with veg and mash, and it was almost inedible - the nuggets were the cheapest frozen kind, veg was so over cooked it wasn't even green anymore, it was awful. The next night in the restaurant I was disgusted to see the same menu for him again! With the voucher, your meal choice is very limited, a choice of two items, the first night the beef had absolutely no flavour, but the chicken on the other night was lovely. The pool is very nice, we used it every day and the out door hot tub is a lovely experience looking out on the lake. The staff were fantastic, especially in the restaurant, they always spoke even though they were incredibly busy. Overall I gave it a 4 out of 5 as the fundamentals were all there, good room, clean hotel, great staff! For me the only thing letting it down was the outside appearance and the food.

Room Tip: The even number rooms are at the back facing Lough Allen so you have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbadosbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
4.6 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
244 reviews
7.9 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
155 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
23.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
457 reviews
25.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Ireland/Drumshanbo, County Leitrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing