We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
seaned
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here as we were doing zipit at lough key forest park. its a bit remote but was only 20 mins from lough key. a lovely hotel overlooking the lake. used the spa for a facial deal that was on and it was gorgeous. a lovely german lady did the facial. the music and atmosphere in the bar at night was great. we used a groupon voucher and it was excellent value. breakfast a bit chaotic but it was peak holiday time so get down early. would certainly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    249
    133
    40
    27
See reviews for
266
320
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This appeared to be a beautiful hotel on an idyllic lake setting however first appearence while they are very important arent always as they seem. On opening the door to our room we were greeted by the smell of stale cigarette smoke, (we didnt think it was necessary to ask for a non smoking room at this stage as most hotels now implement the non smoking ban). When we entered the bathroom we were greeted with the smell of vomit which was very unpleasant during our stay, that night when we pulled the curtains they were absolutely filthy with what looked like smoke stains (only visible at night with the light on) and also the corridor section outside our room door smelled very strongly of disinfectant/Jeyes Fluid which looked like staff were trying to cover something. We ate in the bar and the food was tasty and good value but nothing spectacular, staff on the other hand were very pleasant and helpful. Overall we were very disappointed with our stay

Room Tip: Ensure that if you are a non smoker you ask for an non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent service, beautiful location and views, great food and entertainment. I recommend a visit to all! Hotel has spa services, pool, and more, and close to town. On lake, quiet, attentive, delicious cuisine. Lovely Leitrim at its best!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lough if available...all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia1091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Got this offer from one of the many deal sites. stayed two nights with my wife and baby girl. staff very friendly and the location just oozed relaxation they have a pool spa and horse riding. abit hard to find so google maps or a sat nav would be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing two night stay at the Lough Allen Hotel. All of the hotel staff we met were very welcoming, the rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant and my 5 year old son was so impressed with the Spaghetti Bolognese that he told the waitress that it was 'the best spaghetti in the whole wide world ever!'
Whilst the hotel looked to be very quiet, the restaurant and bar was busy both nights of our stay and the live entertainment on both nights provided a really good atmosphere.
My two sons were thrilled to see that there were football nets and a play area on the large grounds and they had a ball in the swimming pool.
I spoiled myself with a treatment in the spa which was administered by a lovely German lady who made me feel very at ease and thoroughly relaxed.
The hotel is a fantastic base for exploring the nearby attractions and I would definitely recommend a visit to Lough Key Forest Park in Co. Roscommon.
We had a wonderful stay and I would have no qualms about returning to stay at the Lough Allen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDoherty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in June for three nights with my Mum . It was a fantastic hotel break. The staff are without exception very friendly and helpful and take pride in their work. It's rare to find such good local staff who really promote the area and the hotel , it's very good for business. We got a room upgrade with lake views. Dinner was included and it was very tasty with generous portions . The chef even came out of the kitchen to see if everyone enjoyed their meal !! The bar had a great atmosphere with a local singer who was outstanding . People were clapping and singing and having fun while looking out at the sun going down over Lough Allen. What more could you ask for ! The hotel also has a leisure centre which is top class especially the outdoor hot tub ! My mum went to the spa to purchase some products and found the lady Ursula there to be a fountain of knowledge . She spent time telling her about different products and have her loads of samples . Needless to say we will be back ! Overall it's a great place from which to explore Lovely Leitrim . Would highly recommend you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollo934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lough Allen Resort for a Sunday/Monday break. Price for the two nights for two adults and a child (over 4) was €159 with breakfast incuded. This review is based on that price for those days during peak holiday period.

Location:
Walking distance from Drumshanbo, on the shores of Lough Allen. Within 20 minutes of Carrick-on-Shannon, with boat trips, Sliabh An Iarann walking trails (a must for walkers), Arigna Mining experience (A must for everyone). Drumshanbo has some of the most traditional and untouched pubs in Ireland, though it is short on Restaurants. Glencar Waterfall is 30 minutes away. An equestrian centre and boat moorings are also in the grounds of the hotel. Leitrim is probably one of the most underrated counties in the country, but there is easily a week of activities for those willing to explore.

Reception/Check in:
Parking was ample and well located with a reception drop off area drop off area. Parking spaces for people with disabilities are located very close to the hotel entrance. Check-in was efficient, and informative, with a full run-down of the hotel given. Reception staff were very helpful, pleasant and efficient.

Rooms:
Our initial room was a double + single, but was opposite the playroom. We immediately requested a new room and were catered for straight away, and got a double + 2 * Single bed family room. A little tight for a family of four, but no major issue. Larger suites are available. Rooms and en suites are very clean and decorated to a good standard. Beds are comfortable, showers are powerful and storage is ample.

Food:
Breakfast is the usual Irish fare. with limited pastries and fruit options (something to be improved), although the fruit salad was very fresh. Breakfast Staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant and should be credited for their excellent levels of service. Newspapers were also available in the restaurant in the morning. (as long as you like the Independent :) )
We did not have dinner in the restaurant, and ate out in Carrick-on-Shannon one night. We ate lunch and dinner in the bar on the second night. I will deal with Bar food and service in the next section

Bar:
Firstly Guinness drinkers have nothing to worry about. The level of drinks service was superb, and again the bar staff deserve credit for this. However, the food service in the bar needs serious improvement. To be clear; the staff are very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The system for floor management is non-existent. Basically, with just over 12 covers seated, customers were waiting 15 minutes and more to get orders taken. It was fairly obvious that the floor was not split into differently owned stations, and the habit of keeping the head up looking for opportunities to clear and to take orders on return trips to the kitchen after serving tables was not practiced. A good floor management process will solve all problems here, as the staff are great once engaged with the customer.
The bar itself is modern, well laid out and has a long outdoor deck overlooking the playground, and lake. One tip I would offer to the bar management staff..... After a shower, wipe the chairs dry. Menu has something for everyone and food is of good quality.

Other Facilities:
- Leisure Centre: Well equipped gym, 15 meter pool, sauna, steam room and outdoor jacuzzi. All in good nick, clean and well maintained.
- Kids Club: 6pm - 10pm (unsure what months of the year this covers). Kids club staff were fantastic. My daughter did not want to come near us while she was there. Outdoor play in playground, painting, card games, outdoor games, kids movies etc.....
- Wifi - Free in common areas.... and it works.
- Entertainment: live music in the bar both nights.... And was great.

Summary:
This hotel is great value for the money paid, especially for a family with young kids. The kids club is free, and the leisure centre/pool is a major plus. There are some small maintenance issues that need to be dealt with, namely..... some external doors need to be varnished, stair carpets need to be replaced (and not with carpet), the rear area behind of the rooms nearest the entrance need to be cleaned up. These are the kind of things that could ultimately make the hotel look shabby. All in all though, this is a nice hotel, with great staff, and good facilities.

Room Tip: Not 101. It's opposite the playroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mac10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
4.6 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
7.9 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.9 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
20.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Ireland/Drumshanbo, County Leitrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing