We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
Newry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just spent 2 nights with my daughter in this hotel. We had a wonderful time, food was excellent, and staff could not have been more helpful.The lady in the
Spa treatment is very well informed and gave a product to my daughter that has totally cleared up her skin. Beautiful tranquil views that really so relaxing. We did the Arigna experience and it is unmissable. Drumshanbo people are very friendly. Highly recommend this area for a visit.

Room Tip: We had a twin room ensuite,with tea making facilities, nice balcony,with lovely rural views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    244
    131
    39
    26
See reviews for
256
317
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice hotel with beautiful setting. Nice food in the restaurant.

We decided to upgrade to a suite but were very disappointed. There was no mini bar, no robes/towels and no air con.

The view was ok but overlooking a children park. We wished we had booked a standard room instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MO1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading some less than impressive reviews of this Hotel I was wondering what to expect.
After spending 3 nights there all I can say is we will stay here again and the people who leave the bad reviews must be staying in 7 star hotels all the time.
From the staff at reception to the girls in the kids club all I can say to describe them is exceptional.
If you want a hotel that is truely family friendly with excellent hospitality,staff,and food then give this place a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel27334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel with my wife and two boys - really had a great time. It was very relaxing, can't wait to go back.

I'll rattle off the the main positive features. Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The breakfasts were great. Lovely view of the lake. Fantastic kids club from 6PM to 10PM each evening - simply two girls doing various activities with the kids like art, dvd, playground, general play, but the boys absolutely loved it. Nice pool, with outdoor hot tub. Lovely food in the restaurant, bar food also pretty good. Good location - lovely part of the world anyway, but we took in a day at the beach (50 minutes away), and a day at Lough Key Forest Park (20 minutes away). Drumshanbo is a nice wee town, and the bustling Carrick-on-Shannon is a lovely town close by, on the banks of the River Shannon.

Some things do need improvement: The hotel is bordering slightly on shabby - nothing that a general cleanup, tweaking and fixing would resolve. There is no aircon in the rooms - not normally a problem in this part of the world, but with a dead heat approaching 30C, it made the rooms oppressively hot at night. Sometimes the service at the bar was slow. Although it's right on the lake, there wasn't any lake-related activity at the hotel itself - don't know what I was expecting, but maybe some boats for rent, or even to have a jetty or pier to hang out on would be nice. Still, the upside to that is that the lake is unspoilt, you can't have everything..

This will be our go-to place for a couple of nights getaway to unwind. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0lordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great stay staff couldn't do enough for us mostly the night staff due to one off are kids being ill.great outdoor hot tub great views off the lough, very large outdoor beer garden with plenty of tables and chairs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

just back from a fab stay at lough allen hotel with hubby and 3 kids, I just loved this hotel so welcoming and child friendly, I found it to be welcoming and modern, 1 of my kids were sick and the staff coildnt do enough to help me,they even gave me another room free of charge to give us more space because of the hot weather the room was very stuffy and we could split and have to rooms, loved everything about this hotel so relaxing and has stunning views,the kids loved the pool to, we didn't want to leave cant wait to get back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shauna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Lough Allen for a weekend on a deal which was excellent value. Unfortunately it was a wet weekend as we would have gone on the cycle trail or horse riding if the weather had been good. However, we still had a great time. When we arrived the receptionist was extremely helpful and informative in what was available in the hotel and the town. Our room was clean and modern with a very nice balcony. The gym, spa and pool were all a great standard; clean and well maintained and the bar and restaurant were bright, airy and modern. What particularly sets this hotel apart is the service as all the members of staff were so friendly and helpful in a nice genuine way with no pushy salesmanship! On our second day the London Irish Team arrived but their large number had no affect on the level of service we received and the staff were totally unfazed. We shall definitely return to Lough Allen and hopefully we can arrange some better weather this time!

Room Tip: You will get more enjoyment out of your balcony if you overlook the lake rather than the car park as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniainLurga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
7.8 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.4 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
7.7 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
20.0 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
7.6 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Ireland/Drumshanbo, County Leitrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing