We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel, lovely staff & will be back again. Went on a groupon deal, great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel, lovely staff & will be back again. Went on a groupon deal, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a groupon deal, staff very professional, food absolutely delicious & rooms spacious comfy & clean. We had a lovely weekend break, thank you. There was a great buzz around the hotel. I loved the pool, sauna & steam. Just a pity the hot tub wasnt working, but this didn't take away from our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pris120673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    249
    133
    40
    27
See reviews for
266
320
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Arrived late afternoon and was booked in by very professional lady at reception ande allocated a room on the third floor. Room fine - loved the patio doors to the small balcony. Details of the hotel infa-structure etc not in room, but provided verbally at reception. Went for a swim etc in the leisure facilities but water a bit cold so we went for a hot tub which was lovely. Sauna not operating so we used the steam room - again this was fine. Decided to eat at the Rushes Restaurant with our discount voucher - three course set meal was good and staff really pleasant and professional. Next day - woken early by room staff who were stationed beside our room and who then tried to enter or room at 0830!! - no "Do not disturb" sign in room to deploy. Breakfast was very busy and we had to queue to get seated - staff were excellent - so hard working. Generally hotel was busy but bar area in evening somewhat small - room heating was also a bit of an issue as the heating was a bit hit/miss. Overall a great break and very good value for money. Hotel well positioned beside Lough Allen but oh dear the near by village of Drumshanbo was like a ghost town - totally ravaged by the recession which seems to have hit this area very hard - sad to see. Went on a day trip to Carrick-on-Shannon which was OK - plenty of pubs and places to eat and drink coffee. Local cinema was also fine - €8.60 entry but modern and well run. Not a massive lot to do but fine for a few days away.

Room Tip: Don't get one beside the service room which is at the end of each corridor - also make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawhat139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed with 3 friends on a groupon deal. excellent value for money.
Had lovely meal (paid the extra for the steak)and spa treatment however rooms freezing. called down three times heating finally came on at 4am!
friendly staff.

Room Tip: near reception if you don't want a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0rthopaedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed here for two nights with some friends. Lovely location, right on the lakeshore. Staff were friendly,efficient and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were first class and the hotel was spotlessly clean. A short walk takes you into the village of Drumshambo where there are a few local pubs but little else. We did not use the spa but it looked fab and there is an outside hot tub overlooking the lake. I would recomend this hotel for a quiet break because there is little to do here but relax!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on April 1st and 2nd, we arrived early at the hotel so we went for a drink in d bar, we were greeted by such friendly staff! Once we checked in we went to our room and it was lovely and extremely clean. We ate in d bar that night and d food and service was fabulous! The following night we ate in 'The Rushes' restaurant and it was fabulous again, d food and service was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel and we would highly recommend it to everyone and we are already planning our return trip with the children this time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaLouth_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well done to all the staff in the hotel especially Bernie on reception who could not have been nicer. Food in the dining room was excellent, Great Nights entertainment at the fashion show fab. A special thank you to Helen in the spa - fantastic facial. Out door Hot tub amazing, rooms lovely. Would certainly return and would most definitely recommend this hotel to all. Jackie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandSunnysands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

To follow up on our recent review (service second to none part1) now for the good stuff :-)
We arrived mid afternoon and were quickly checked in by a very helpful receptionist Michelle who went out of her way to give us all the info about the hotel and she kindly booked us a table in the restaurant as we had been travelling all day and were starving, then we were allocated a beautiful room with balcony overlooking lough allen lake and the mountains beyond, truely stunning, a good size room with very comfortable kingsize bed, tv, tea making etc and lashings of hot water, perfect :-) The hotel is located in a lovely spot between 2 sets of beautiful mountains and with the shores of Lough Allen on your doorstep it really is a special place, we had dinner in the bar on our first evening which was lovely, a wide variation of dishes with something for everyone and keenly priced too, on our 2nd day we decided to extend our stay for an extra night as we still had things to do in the area and we were again greeted by Tracey this time at reception who we had encountered on our initial booking and again she was absolutely brilliant, she fixed us up with a super rate for the extra night, and she really did make our stay so enjoyable, All the staff were very friendly from the housekeeping to the waiting staff everyone was very courteous and helpful, the staff at this hotel truely are an asset to the place, breakfast on each morning was superb and set us up for the day, due to our commitments in the area we didnt get as much time there as we would have liked but that just gives us an excuse to return there again in the near future, a great hotel in a beautiful location with staff 2nd to none, 10 out of 10 to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
4.6 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
7.9 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.9 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
20.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Ireland/Drumshanbo, County Leitrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing