We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor all round”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dodleston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Dodleston, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Red Lion a special place to visit.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor all round”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Chips were not nice, just bag from a shop, salad not decent at all. Steak okay. Waiter took ages to come and resulted not us not having desserts and just going. Had a drink and then waiter didn't come over for ages.. It's just not good! Wouldn't be coming again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    45
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not the Loin King!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Previous visits have always been exceptionally good, so we hope that the latest visit was a minor hiccup.
We had booked a table, but the service was slow despite it not being too busy. By the time the food arrived we were ravenous, and instead of complaining and sending the food back, we ate quickly and left. The Cod Loin, on previous occasions to die for, had been virtually cremated and was dark brown, dry, and hard. The chips were lukewarm, and the mushy peas were cold.
The Manager used to be 'Amanda'; very helpful and responsive. The pub website now shows 'David Walker' as Manager, so things have not improved for the better.
We will go back in the future and hope this was just a blip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very disappointing.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at the red lion for many years and have always had an excellent meal. We come for the good food and lovely village pub atmosphere. However this particular meal was pretty awful.

It all started when the waiter didn't manage to get the correct drink for me, even when i had pointed it out on the menu. They also took far too long to arrive at the table.

The meals took a while to arrive but it was quite busy, so didnt mind too much. My mother had cod which resembled a house brick plonked on top of a pile of oven chips. The chips by the way, used to be hand cut and delicious once upon a time, so why they are resorting to the equivalent of mccains is beyond me.

My father said his chicken was very dry and tasteless, whilst my steak (cooked correctly to be fair) was greasy and very stringy. Not good for £17.99! I ordered a side of prawns which used to be huge and on a skewer but now are the size of a 5p peice in a greasy and bland butter.

Onto the dessert, my parents had raspberry sorbet, which was allegedly meant to come with a fresh raspberry sauce but actually came with a sweet sickly syrup with a few raspberry bits floating in it. My cheesecake wasnt too bad to find a positive.

We ordered a coffee which took a long time to arrive, and ended up having to remind the waitress to bring it over. Talking of which the service was very impersonal and the staff were very uninterested and looked like they would rather be somewhere else. Little things like having to ask for vinegar and not having a checkback or 'hope you enjoy your meal' made it feel more like a harvester than the village pub we know and love.

I look forward to a response as this meal was very disappointing indeed. We didnt complain at the time as we were being taken out by a neighbour.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calendergirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service .......”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Used to visit here very frequently. Popped in this evening and was greeted with "you booked?" When I asked for a table. Ordered the main courses and waited nearly 45 minutes with no approach and explanation. When I asked the waitress explained they had a 30th birthday party there. With a change of attitude of staff this situ could have been handled better, shame, wouldn't go out of my way to re-visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gynnywyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pleasant”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I visited this pub with a group of my friends. The atmosphere was bustling, and the food was pretty good. The service was a bit slow but it was clear the staff were busy. It was in a nice location, would probably visit again if I was in the area but would not go out my way to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumba676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Rossett, Wrexham
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing