We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUNDAY LUNCH WOW!!!!”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 6/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hernhill
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A picturesque 14th Century pub situated in a small village near the town of Faversham. Surrounded in history the pub dates back to the 1300's and still contains many original features. The pub offers a selection of traditional english food alongside the frequently changing seasonal specials. Facilities include an upstairs restaurant, availiable for dining or large functions, a front patio overlooking the church and village green and a well established pub garden with many historical features and a large play area for children.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

We visit various other restaurants for Sunday Lunch, trying to eat the best. I always used to rate The Pearson's in Whitstable as up there................. however, sorry Pearson's The Red Lion now beats you hands down for both quality & quantity. .......Score 8/10 however if the starters menu was improved(not saying it's bad)......... it would rate above a nine.If you love the quality of your food, this venue is a MUST!!!!!!!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janetmroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019

There is daylight robbery and then there is the Red Lion. A glass of red house wine £8.50 snotty service and an attitude when questioned. I can accept paying over the odds at a West End show but not so for this place. Nothing good to say other than the food was nice albeit 30 minutes late.

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

Delicious lunch, served by very friendly and helpful staff. We both had burgers, mine chicken, my wife’s traditional. Both superb, succulent and with all the right bits and pieces. Children’s menu was also first class. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank CoupeColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

One glass of beer and one glass of wine, £13 please. I think this pub is more about the food than the drink. Poor choice and expensive. Nice place with a good atmosphere and very pleasant staff but unfortunately nice doesn't mean good. Probably won't be going back in a hurry.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank josemE9348FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

The location and exterior are first rate.....but the rest does not live up to that standard.
A wide range of lagers on tap, but as I prefer ales, the choice suddenly went down to two...fortunately one was Harveys, a cut above the other very mediocre offering.
Wines OK, but minimum size is 175 ml, rather than a wider choice starting at 125.
Food was not bad, it was very average, and pretty uninspired. Heaps of carbs...baguette and chips for example...now maybe that what was what some wanted, but certainly at neighbouring tables, there was a lot of adverse comment. We went for the sharing platter.....a bit limited with a stodgy baguette, a minuscule ramekin of pickled vegetables and chutney from a large catering jar.....uninspired, and no salad/vegetable selection. I'm no vegan nor even vegetarian, but I do expect a bit more in 2019. The sausage roll was cold and had to be sent back...poor attention to detail.
Prices a little high for what you actually got, and slapping a service charge on for pretty slow indifferent service just adds to a sense of poor value.
I don't think we will be back soon.....

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ihbScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Hernhill, Faversham
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing