We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Country Pub”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hellidon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have to say our experience of the Red Lion was fantastic. Excellent young man behind the bar could not do enough to help us, food was very very good and there were lots of locals eating and if it is good enough for them it's good enough for me. It was a Wednesday night and the pub was buzzing. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank missymessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Food was absolutly disgusting I had mixed grill - Sausages like bullets (to the point it flew across the floor when going to put my fork into it!!), meat was hard and dry. My partner had venison and was overcooked and rubbery and a burger they knew was for a child came and tasted like chinese 5 spice!!!! This was supposed to be my birthday meal so was quite upset that the chef couldnt cook wat we thought was quite simple dishes. The meals were replaced but no complments were given just a measly sorry from the waitress. Will not be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Staying at the nearby Staverton Park Hotel, and having read the reviews, we decided that this would be a good place for an evening meal. We made a booking for eight people and arrived about 8.00pm. First impressions were of a very attractive village pub and hopes ran high. However on requesting menues we were informed that they had no steaks except rib-eye or any buffalo burgers.

The fact that this information was conveyed to us by a highly apologetic and charming young barman softened the blow but wasn't the best way to start the evening. The dishes that we did choose were very well received by all in our party but when it came to desserts we once agin were faced with the fact that a number of choices were unavailable and of those still available were restricted to just one or two portions meaning that not everyone in the party got their first choice.

Service was a touch slow but once again this was offset by the charm and pleasant nature of the waitresses. So - in summary - we left with mixed feelings. Great atmosphere, lovely staff, very reasonable prices but too many items on the menu not available. We had hoped to use this particular puib every evening of our stay but sadly we were not willing to risk further disappointments. A real shame after reading so many positive reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightweight_brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff (even during football final match!). Staying alone as a single lady business traveller, I felt comfortable at all times, and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely views and walks available. Will be returning with my husband to explore the area and will definately stay here again. My only niggle was there was no shower, and balancing upside down under the bath taps to wash my hair was novel if nothing else, but this added to the quirkiness of the place. Cheap to stay, Food excellent, location excellent, staff excellent. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a fantastic place to spend time in the heart of the English countryside. Fine ales, friendly staff and landlord that really make you feel welcome in a locals pub. Great place to eat and meet , play Northamptonshire skittles, darts, pool or watch the sport on their games room telly .Well done carry on the tradition :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lagunagooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

a great local, countryside pub. Food is usually very good and great value. Felt I had to review when I saw the negative one on service - we arrived on bikes on a Saturday afternoon 15 mins after closing and they opened up for us (they were licensed for it!). interesting ales, decent wine, varied menu with cheap staples and seasonal game etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mashie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We visited this pub whilst staying at Hellidon Lakes Hotel, we had lunch which was really nice and two evening meals there, which were fantastic, they have an excellent Chef and cooks the steaks exactly how you like it done, the staff were extremely friendly and would highly recommend a visit, we will definitely return hopefully next year when we have another long weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFPF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
2.6 mi away
The Windmill at Badby
0.8 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
2.8 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Clock Tower Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Stockwell Lane, Hellidon NN11 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hellidon
Red Lion Daventry
Daventry Red Lion
The Red Lion Hellidon, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing