We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$72
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$214
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunchurch Park(Dunchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveler rating
446
439
269
149
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
439
269
149
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyterrace barhellidon lakesten pin bowlingleisure facilitiessuperior roomgreat weekendbar pricesweekend breakan overnight staysparoundsbuggiesweddingcountrysideconferencedaventry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,336 - 1,341 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We chose Hellidon Lakes after very careful consideration indeed. The hotel and its staff did not let us down. We booked for two nights and were a party of seventeen. It was my wifes 50th birthday weekend and it was very important to me that it went well and the facilities and staff made sure that it did. From initial arrangements through Kelly & Joanna through to Linda who ensured our party meal went to plan. Nothing was too much for them and it genuinely seemed that it mattered to them that our party had a good time. Totally recommend the hotel, its leisure facilities and the staff. Only small gripe was that we had south facing rooms which whilst having fantastic views over the lake and golf course, got pretty warm. Aircon would have been great for sleeping but a few glasses of Chianti soon sorted that out !! Well done to all and thanks for making our weekend so special - Iain, Jan & family

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Howleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellidon, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your stay at Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel. Please rest assured the compliments have been shared with the team and with those highlighted in particular.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel in the near future.

With Warm Regards.

Sacha Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Firstly, the good points: the staff were very friendly and polite, and always willing to help with any questions.

However, there are several things which should be considered before booking:

1. There is no air-conditioning in the rooms, which made them almost unbearable on a hot evening.

2. There is little or no phone reception within the hotel.

3. Paying for drinks with a credit card is a lengthy process, as the card-reader is shared with the restaurant. Not only that, but there is no reception for the card reader, so the bar staff have to wander off to find an area with reception.

4. Breakfast is the poor side of average - cheap fried sausages, no black pudding, unappetising scambled egg. Did have grapefient juice, though.

All in all, not a place I would return to unless the above points were addressed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorset_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed for two nights with friends as part of a golf week. The hotel spa facilities are not 4* infact the pool and steam room were grubby and out dated. The golf course is split into 3 x 9 hole courses AVOID the Green course it is not much better than a pitch and putt... the other two courses are superb so argue yoru point to get on them.

The hotel in general is good with excellent staff especially in the dinning room. Rooms are not 4* and i wonder if the hotel will be downgraded in the future, it would not suprise me!!!


I have stayed in a number of Q Hotels and this one falls short of the high standards i would expect.

Could try harder Hellidon Lakes...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellidon, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel. Your feedback is important to us and our future hotel users. Please rest assured we continuously strive to improve our high levels of commitment to customer service as well as our facilities. We will definately continue to work hard to ensure you and other guests will enjoy their stays at Hellidon Lakes.

Thank you again for sharing your views with us.

wIth Warm Regards.

Sacha Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed at the Hellidon for two nights to attend a wedding. First the positives, the location and views from our room where outstanding. The room was a good size, we had a baby with us so we got a family room which had two double beds and they supplied a cot which was not a travel cot but a full size one which was a good touch. The beds where very comfy and we got a great nights sleep. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and the service was excellent.
Now the negatives, we didnt attend to use the Spa so cant really comment on that however I did use the swiming pool with the baby and found it to be a adequate size. What was dissapointing was the jaccuzi didnt work and the steam room had dripping hot water from the roof which made it uncomftable to use. As this is a spa hotel then that is very poor and would feel very short changed if I had attended for a spa break.
The Tv in our room only had 3 channels and we couldnt get itv or channel 4 which from a hotel of this size was very dissapointing. We did report this only because in the guest info Cbebbies was stated as a channel and the baby loves to watch this so the Hotel changed our flat screen tv for a old portable which did give us itv and 4 but nothing else. The only other negative was if you walk out of the hotel and down a small hill it is signposted for a water garden which guests can relax in with great views. Well the grest views was very true and it did have a water feature but the whole area was covered in dog mess which I find totally unacceptable. Come on hotel management this is a disgrace on your part there wasnt just a little the whole area was covered in it. The hotel allows pets and if the owners are going to be so inconsiderate I would personally re-think this.

Overall we had a very nice stay the views where amazing and the service and breakfast was good but its the detail I have stated above that lets the whole thing down, some very simple wins but bad own goals from the hotel management. This hotel has so much potential I only hope the hotal management read these reviews and take on board the comments made and fix the issues.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarktoppcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellidon, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2010

Thank you very much for writing a review following your stay at Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback and indeed, read and act upon the comments made by guests at any time. It does help us to focus on those areas that matter most to you, our valued guests.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and the family room (and indeed the stunning views!) on the flip side I was disappointed to read the mess left behind on the steps to 'The secret Garden' we are very proud of this serene and beautiful spot and are indeed aware that the Geese, Ducks and Badgers leave a mess behind as such our team of GreenKeepers clean these areas on a daily basis. I was disappointed to read that on this occassion the area was overlooked or indeed not acted upon quick enough and have taken this up with our Head GreenKeeper who looks after this area.

With regard to the Steamroom, by the nature of its operation does indeed cause condensation when the steam hits the ceiling when this is at a lower temperature than the steam. This does result in drops falling of the ceiling and is a natural result for which we have no remedy at this stage.

I was sorry to hear that the TV did not work during your stay and agree that note should have been made to inform you accordingly. We are in the process of changing over all TV's to Flatscreen with all Freeview channels so in the not too distant future the full service will be available in all bedrooms. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the near future so you can see and experience the changes made as a result of your and other guests' feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other travellers and rest assured we will be

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Hellidon Lakes is set in stunning grounds with a lovely (in appearance anyway- I'm not a golfer!) golf course. On arrival for our spa experience we were 'greeted' by a busy thearapist ("I'm in the middle of a treatment") who took our names and pointed us in the direction of another desk where a very pleasant young man seemed slightly bemused to have to deal with us!
The ladies changing rooms are functional in the style of a public swimming pool...the luxury soap and handcream sat rather uneasily by the shabby sink... The changng room is communal with no private changing cubicals so be sure to leave your modesty (and glasses / contacts to protect you from unpleasant sights!) behind.
The 'spa experience' amounted to a sub-standard pool, jacuzzi and steam room...Loungers and chairs are positioned around the pool but sadly people outnumbered furniture 3 to 1.
Treatments are booked with an advance time, this was very well organised, my therapist was wonderful, very professional and I had a lovely facial, sadly the reception area for the treatments is adjacent to a very noisy gym, not at all conducive to relaxation.
Lunch was dissapointing. Three of us ordered pizza which turned out to be an over-toasted flat bread topped with mushroom, cheese and rocket, no tomato sauce and not a pizza by anyones reckoning! When we complained that one of our party was unable to eat hers as it was so overcoked we were told "no problem"...no aplology offered and no problem didn't really help us!! No refund was given. there appeared to be one member of staff, organising golf buggy hire, manning the bar, taking orders, serving food and clearing tables. Sadly he seemed totally unsuited to any of these jobs or indeed to dealing with the public at all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AM-Nhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellidon, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2010

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit to Hellidon Lakes Spa.

We take great pride in our team working as one to ensure all guests are enjoying their day/ stay with us. I pleased to read that the spa therapist was supported by the Leisure Supervisors so that both you and other guests were fully looked after. This is a usual practise and the Leisure supervisor are fully aufait with the running of the spa and the meet and greet is indeed part of that.

The hotel and spa offer H2K soap and hand lotion in the changing facities, dispensed in their own individual chrome holders next to the Armitage Shanks Basin. I can confirm that it is the first time I have known the sink to be referred to as uneasy and shabby and accept that either liking or disliking these units is a matter of personal opinion.

Both the gents and ladies changing facilities are open plan and the shower units in the ladies changing facilities offer ample space around them to get changed in private. These are located to the far end of the changing rooms. Should you have brought your discomfort with the privacy of the changing rooms to the team's attention, I am confident they would have offered alternative arrangments i.e. the use of the accessible facilities.

The pool, jacuzzi and steam room are part of our day and stay spa offering and our packages are advertised and priced accordingly. You will appreciate that space and safety is a consideration when putting furniture into this area and as such there is no physical way to increase the number of loungers without jeopardising the safe use of this area.

Thank you for your kind comments with regard to the booking system and more importantly the professional way the therapist conducted your facial, this is after all first and foremost the reason of a spa visit. We will look into the volume levels of the music of the gym as these should, quit rightly, not outstrip the relaxing music in the spa.

All menus have recently been changed and are based on the feedback of our valued guests, we have for the most part received very complimentary comments. The 'pizza's' in particular have received excellent feedback and have been very well received, I was sorry to read that these were not served as you had expected them and we will take your feedback into consideration going forward.

As a matter of course we do not offer refunds and instead do deal with feedback as it occurs. It is afterall our aim to ensure that you enjoy your time with us and as such the waiter on duty should have offered an alternative lunch for your friend. I sincerely apologise if this did not happen and wil take this up with the team members concerned. There is no place for discourtesy or non-responsiveness to guest comments at Hellidon Lakes, so please rest assured this matter will be dealt with as a matter of urgency and re-training will be carried out.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience which is invaluable for us to ensure we continue the high standards of service we are known for and we do hope to have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews