We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a facelift!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“In need of a facelift!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I went there for Valentines and were VERY disappointed. The pool is FREEZING, changing rooms dirty, spa very over priced, the gym looks like it's stuck in the 70's and half the machines don't work.

Don't know what the hotel was like, but judging by the facilities, not great, I suppose!

No complaints or 'contact us' on the website either.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete review and your constructive feedback. I agree with you that we had some unforeseen maintenance issues when you visited us last month that affected the pool side, this has now been resolved, my apologies for that. Indeed the changing room need to be update this will be all completed by the end of March part of an improvement program for the whole area that has already started.
I hope that despite your comments I will the pleasure of welcoming you back, I can assure that you will notice the difference. I would like to offer you 2 free passes to return once we have made the improvement so you could perhaps give me some feedback about the changes.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
email: cgitton@qhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    419
    250
    139
    106
See reviews for
196
365
19
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We often stay at Q hotels and indeed stayed here about 5 year ago. Our visit this time was purely for a relaxing weekend. We wanted peace, to be left alone to relax in our suite and to have a nice dinner each evening. The hotel delivered well in all areas.

The suites are spacious, clean and nicely decorated, with only minor signs of wear and tear. Iron/board, tv in lounge with sofa, coffee table, mini fridge and dining table, separate toilet, comfortable bed (queen/king?) in bedroom with quality mattress topper, tv with sky channels, spacious bathroom with separate shower and bath. Good quality tea/coffee tray and suites comes with wine and nibbles.

On arrival we were allocated a suite which had an inter-connecting door (great flexibility if you needed a two bed suite) but unfortunately, the inter-connecting door did mean it was easy to hear the people in the room next door. We are very sensitive to disturbance when we are away - being woken early cannot easily be fixed - so we spoke to reception. Charlotte was excellent. The hotel was very busy but she said she would see what she could do and would meet us in the lounge shortly, where we planned to have some late lunch. She did just that and explained there was only 1 spare suite but it had a broken radiator so was considered not to be available. She said there were heaters in the suite but she gave us the key and suggested we take a look before we decided if we wanted to move. We did and it was much better located being on the top floor, not inter-connecting and towards the back of the wing so away from the car park. We accepted the change and enjoyed a very peaceful few days. Well done Charlotte.

Our room service breakfasts were plentiful and the evening meals were good quality. The restaurant was busy but there was plenty of staff, service was prompt and the food varied and of good quality. We were also offered a complimentary glass of wine on our first evening as we were celebrating a birthday which was a nice touch.

There were some minor hiccups: our table for dinner on the 2nd night had not been booked, our first room service breakfast order was not collected from our door overnight, our wine (which was part of the package we had booked) was missing from our room but these were all resolved promptly and in a friendly way. Indeed this is a good value, nice quality hotel but the staff seem to really care and that makes all the difference. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely happy in their work. Staff should be a major asset to an organisation and clearly Q understand this.

We did not use the spa or pool but it was very nice not to be disturbed by housekeeping at all during our stay as they clearly understand the do not disturb sign! We also had a late checkout and it was wonderful that again housekeeping left us alone - not an experience we have had often before as usually they knock at 11am completely unaware of the special checkout arrangements. Well done again.

Room Tip: If you want more certainty of peace& quiet in your suite, ask for a corner suite that does not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive and constructive feedback. Indeed the team is a major asset and I am delighted that they made your stay a memorable one. I was pleased that we were able to rectify the issues immediately in order to be able to give you a great experience. Thank you for your loyalty and we can’t wait to seeing you again.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Being a huge fan of Q Hotels we decided to stay here for a two day break and I will admit to being pretty disappointed. There were definite highs - the room was large and comfortable and had a fantastic view over the grounds, breakfast was mostly very nice with a good selection and the staff were very pleasant and friendly.

However, the pool changing rooms were awful, smelling of moldy damp with broken, chipped lockers, I was really surprised to find this at a G Hotel. I know this has been mentioned before but it was really poor, the refurbishment is well overdue.

Also, the restaurant was very disappointing. The menu was pretty limited and unexciting. The food was really not very nice. I had grilled chicken which was very bland and my wifes meal had mushy, undercooked batter and our chips were undercooked and neither of wanted to eat them. I complained at reception and was told that my wifes meal would be refunded - this has not happened yet but I have no reason to believe it won't as the staff are very efficient and helpful.

As I previously said breakfast was lovely, however my wife asked for a poached egg and it came after around 10 minutes tasting so strongly of vinegar is was inedible. We decided to eat out the second night as we felt we had no choice, we couldn't bear another evening meal in the restaurant with the limited choice and hit and miss food.

So, a really hit and miss experience and we came away feeling a bit disappointed which is a real shame as we stayed there specifically because it was a Q Hotel even though it was quite far from our planned days out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt_Alden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive feedback.
I was delighted that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the view from your bedroom. However I will review your comments regarding your meal with our Head Chef in order to rectify this immediately, indeed as you have experienced in the past with QHotels this was not to our normal standard. I am pleased to say that the changing room will be refurbished at the end of this month, as a loyal guest I am sure that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and you will notice the difference.
Certainly as promised we will contact you without fail.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hellidon hotels

Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very disappointing spa break experience, made bad by the lack of helpfulness of the staff especially on arrival.... The female receptionist told us sternly that our room wasn't ready and then pointed us in the direction of the spa. She gave us no information about our meals available to us on the package, where to collect our robes, left wondering around asking for information on lunch and confusion over the time of our spa treatments.... Receptionist informed us it was at 5pm, but we'd booked it for 4.30pm. When checking it out ourselves at the spa, our time slot was infact 4.30 lucky we didn't miss our booking! After spending time in the pool area, which was dirty with very smelly with grimey changing rooms we wanted to go to our room for a shower. We had to ask again at reception standing there in our robes feeling humiliated, to be told they weren't ready and would have to come back later, yet other guest on arriving we're given there room!?? Never been to such a disorganised hotel spa!! The only positive thing about the whole experience was the thearapist in the spa, the treatment was excellent. Wanted to have a relaxing few days, but was too much trouble for some at this Hotel Spa! This hotel should not be offering a relaxing spa package, nothing about it was relaxing, and left feeling disappointed and would NEVER go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback. I will investigate the reason why you were misinformed with your booking time, and for not following our welcome procedure, my apologies for this inconvenience. Indeed the changing room need to be update this will be all completed by the end of March. I am delighted that otherwise you enjoyed your treatment and can assure that your whole experience as you can see form previous reviews is not a true reflection of our normal service.
I hope that I will the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Shabby from outside with no clear signage. This was a birthday gift that faildd to deliver. On arrival there was no clear entrance to the spa. After wandering around the attractive grounds we found a side entrance and managdd to locate a house-keeper who directed us to the spa area. There was a distinct lack of any staff or greeting however, and wd waited for 10 minutes with no clue as to whether we were in the right place - no welcome drink? Spa staff were professional and couteous when ghy did arrive. The pool was very small, dongy, cold and full of kids. The steam room was out of order and ghe jacuzzi murky at best - no hint of luxurious relaxation there either! Lunch was delicious but considering it was a pre-ordered box meal, it was 30 minutes late! Our treatments were wonderful and the therapists were great...

Room Tip: Dont bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive feedback.
I am disappointed to read that the quality of the welcome was far from what it should have been. Indeed we had some unforeseen maintenance issues with the Steam room, this is now rectified, we can get busy during the half term holidays with the children. Please accept my apologies for this. I am pleased to read that your treatment, the team and the quality of the food met your expectation however I will contact you to discuss the other comments.
I am looking forward to hearing from you very soon and will make sure that your visit is a memorable one.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Mixed experience here. Whilst the staff were very helpful and friendly (one even followed me into the car park to give me a receipt, as the till roll had run out and we had to leave) and the rooms were great, the pool changing rooms were dreadful. Several of the lockers didn't work and those that did had keys without a band on so you couldn't keep them on you while you swam. The carpet was old and dirty and I'm not sure why anyone would have carpet in a pool changing room anyway as it is not exactly hygienic! I wrote an email asking whether they were going to do something about this but had no reply, so chased it with an email to the Operations Manager Mr Reeve and he has not bothered to reply to me at all. Shame as it could be a really great place and in the Spa itself I had a great massage. Just wish I hadn't had to get changed afterwards in the grotty changing rooms!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanellaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback. Tom should have replied to you if it wasn’t the case my apologies for this, I will investigate the reason why as we always respond to our guest very promptly. I will contact you to discuss your comments, indeed the changing room need to be update this will be all completed by the end of March. I am delighted that otherwise you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your treatment.
I hope that I will the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The golf and spa package offered very good value for a 2 night weekend stay. The rooms were a good size and clean. The view over the golf course was a lovely bonus. The girls at the spa were very professional and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was excellent with constant refreshment of food. The evening meal choice was bland but okay - given the price it was good for what we paid. In general the staff were very obliging, friendly and helpful. On a small negative, the changing rooms were a mess by the end of the day and there were empty glasses left at various places around the leisure area.

Room Tip: As for a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatKitty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your positive and constructive feedback.
I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and pleased to read that you have made the most of our facilities and enjoyed the hospitality. We have some great packages available on our Website and indeed the Golf and Spa package offers excellent value for money.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely
Christophe
Christophe Gitton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
14.6 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
17.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,408 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
5.9 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Priors Marston Road, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1. Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing