We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT CUSTOMER CARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CUSTOMER CARE”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was my first stay at Hellidon. Having had good customer experiences elsewhere in Q Hotels, I was not disappointed at this location either.
The room was well-appointed and comfortable with a nice golf-course view. The gym was well-equipped and all equipment worked. The pool and steam room were clean and had a relaxing atmosphere.
Although busy with pre-Christmas party nights, the restaurant was able to satisfy my late requirement for an evening meal and the duty staff, although busy, were able to make me feel welcome.
I needed an early start the next day and asked at 11pm if I could have coffee and cereals next day earlier than the 7 am restaurant opening time. This was readily agreed.
When I arrived for breakfast at 6.40am, I was expected and even had bacon and eggs provided too. In most hotels, a request like this is greeted by a "jobsworth" response. Well done Victoria and colleagues. I shall return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am delighted that you had great stay with us and that the team went the extra mile to make your experience even more enjoyable. I hope that you have joined our loyalty club to make the most of the great benefits that we have available for our regular guests.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    417
    248
    139
    105
See reviews for
194
363
18
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall a pleasant stay for all of us age ranges 2 to 50's all the staff worked hard, were professional, friendly and very helpful.

Food good all round, New Year buffet dinner excellent, disco house dj entertaining.

Games room good distraction for younger children (thou dart board needs sorting out electronic scoreboard would be useful as the scoreboard could not be chalked on, also needs a better light) room needed heating as it was a lot colder than rest of hotel.

Rooms were clean and warm, bathroom basic but presentable and well stocked, word of warning windows in the rooms we occupied opened fully out and a small child could easily fall out and have no safety locks.

Check in and out easy

Pool clean water warm, changing rooms ok, lockers a lot broken worse than when I stayed earlier in the year.

Staff could of done with being better informed of itinerary and offers as when I asked about golf and spa offers they knew nothing about them also pre book dinner as reception told us just to turn up at dining times when we did this we could not get into restaurant and had to eat in lounge or very late in restaurant.

Overall we all enjoyed our stay and would recommend New Year at the hotel for families

Room Tip: Rooms on back have no sunlight and some overlook the bins, (need covering) rooms on front better as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am delighted that you had great time with us and enjoyed our facilities. I have noted your constructive comments and will make sure that we rectify this quickly.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We wanted to spend New Years Eve with our children and still have fun and Hellidon Lakes Family Gala dinner and disco fitted the bill perfectly. We are a family of 2 children 11 and 8 and grandparents. We had a double room as well as a suite with adjoining twin room for the children. All 3 rooms were well furnished and of a large size. The suite was only a small amount extra in cost but the separate sitting room and extra bathroom was of a very generous size.

The evening was really wonderful. The package started with afternoon tea at 4:30 and continued with pre dinner drinks at 7pm in a separate room that had a pool table, table football, giant connect 4, Jenga and Air Hockey. Ideal to keep the children entertained. The meal was a combination of table service and buffet service with a choice of 4 main meals 2 meats, fish and a vegetarian quiche and some traditional childrens meals. ie pizza and chips. The disco began with some dancing games for the children before continuing the music until 1am. There were poppers, crackers and balloons on the tables. The next morning breakfast continued until 11:30 - perfect as we had all had such a late night - we were still having coffee at 12:00 and there was no pressure for us to leave. Check out was also late 1pm and we then continued to use the facilities of the hotel and did not leave until 4pm. The children made some friends and were happy bowling and playing with all the pre mentioned childrens play equipment.

The staff were plentiful, friendly and very attentive. We didn't use the spa or play golf so can not comment on these services. It was really lovely to see in the New Year with our children and be in a nice venue where both ourselves and our children could relax and have fun. If you want a quieter more regal event then another of the rooms had a live band and less children.

We wouldn't hesitate in returning and recommending this package to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We had the suite 169 which is a very good size for very little extra but our children's adjoinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisali31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am delighted that you had great time with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Please do not wait until the next New Year’s Eve, we have some great offers available on our Website, up to 40% discount!!
Yours Sincerely.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic New Years Eve party event held at Hellidon Lakes. It was fantastic! The staff on arrival were pleasant and directed us to our rooms and informed us about afternoon tea. We were greeted with an excellent array of sandwiches and sweet treats! We were then able to relax with a nibble and cup of tea whilst all the children played together in the excellently equipped games room! There was bowling, golf simulation, snooker, Giant Jenga, Giant collect 4..the list is endless! What more could you ask for than a great view and happy kids to get you set for New Years Eve celebrations?!!
The meal was excellent in the evening-kids were well catered for also! Disco was perfect, and the room looked great for Xmas! A big effort was made all round to make us all comfortable. Thankyou Hellidon for a great stay...we will certainly be back next New Years Eve, if not before!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Good42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am very pleased that you had such a great time during our New Year package. Indeed following a great success we have already taking some booking for next year and will contact you to book for 2014. However we have some great packages available on our Website so do not wait until then to visit us again!
I wish you a Happy New Year and I am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Decided to go away for Christmas for the first time and chose the Xmas break at Hellidon. Family of nan, mum & dad and adult grandchildren so golf, tenpin bowling and spa all fitted the bill. Rooms were lovely, food excellent, facilities good and the staff were amazing. My mum said she is looking forward to doing it again next year! My husband and I have stayed here before and have always found it to be an excellent place for a break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. As a regular guest I hope that you have joined the Breakaway Club to make the most of the great benefits. We have already taking some booking for next year and will contact you to book for 2014. I wish you a Happy New Year and I am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the hellidon lakes hotel, went for a much needed break as my disabled son had just been through a few operations, and thought this hotel sounded like a nice place to stay. The rooms were clean and roomy. However, there was a birthday party under rooms and the noise became too much. Fortunately, Sonia at front desk and Dan the manager immediately relocated us to the other side of the other side of the hotel, we were relocated to a suite and a twin. We were treated excellently by Dan and all staff, they all made our break extremely special, thank you!

Room Tip: The newly built rooms are better quality rooms, but you do not have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am very pleased that you had a great stay with us during a much deserved break. I was pleased to read that the team was able to rectify the noise issue rapidly and made your stay a special one.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My daughters and I have just returned from a two night stay at Hellidon Lakes. Because I had particularly stayed in Q Hotels before and wanted to be central England, we chose Hellidon. We all found the accommodation excellent the staff very attentive, friendly and helpful. Food was excellent with good choices. Hotel is in a beautiful setting with what looks like a challenging golf course (will try it out next time we go). We all spent a day in the spa which was very relaxing, but as a regular user of massage therapy I personally thought the therapist not very qualified to carry out remedial therapy, may be alright for beauty treatments, but saying this my daughters experience of nail treatments was not very good at all. Rooms excellent comfy, stylish, very clean and well supplied. Will definitely return with may be a golf group.

Room Tip: Try and get a room over looking the golf course or just a bit a greenery. As was given one room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettynesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am very pleased that you had a great stay with us. I have noted your comments and will make sure that the therapist received some further training in fact we have some already planned fro January. Indeed we have a great Golf course too, why don’t you contact me and I be delighted to organise this for you. We have duo packages that include Spa and Golf.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours Sincerely.
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
14.6 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
17.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,396 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
5.9 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Priors Marston Road, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1. Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing