We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa and golf break with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spa and golf break with friends”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staff were amazing, very friendly and professional. A lovely welcome from reception staff and our rooms were ready earlier than expected. Food was lovely and the service good too. Only disappointment was the swimming pool which was smaller than we imagined and the changing rooms needed attention as were very tired looking. This would not stop us from returning as this was only complaint and the other good points out weighed this.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking golf course as some overlooked the roof of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am very please to read that you had a great experience with us and that the team looked after you so well. Within the next few weeks we will refurbish the Leisure changing room so I hope that you will notice the improvement during your next visit.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    405
    234
    135
    102
See reviews for
189
353
17
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

the hotel was excellent, amazing food and service. room really nice but not a great view looked out onto a grass bank, and if we had the windows open all you could hear was the sound of an air conditioning unit. was disappointed with the swimming pool area was a lot smaller than appeared on the photos and was in need of a paint job in places, was advertised as a spa hotel but all the pool had was a jacuzzi and steam room, and was no able to go outside from pool area which would have been nice on a sunny day. having said that, the spa and treatments we received as part of our package were great

Room Tip: as for room with view of the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am very please to read that you had a great experience with us. Delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. Indeed we have some great facilities available and will continuously update each area. If you have a favourite bedroom, please do not hesitate to request it when you make your booking, we will be more than happy to honour this when possible. I am delighted that you enjoyed your treatment and hope that you will make the most of our special Spa packages offers available on our website.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A one night break with a round of golf was as perfect as is humanly possible. A great team operate a hotel with a great atmosphere. The staff seem to enjoy their jobs and are unfailingly helful and cheerful even given trying circumstances. The food both at breakfast and for evening dining is varied and cooked to perfection, attractively presented and served by courteous staff. The Lakes golf course is well maintained with improvements to keep it so. It is suitable for all handicaps with steep undulations giving the whole body a suitable work -out. A further nine holes are available and a less severe test.
Our suite was generously appointed and luxurious but having stayed here before the guest accommodation is of a high standard too.
The spa and pool are both well appointed and the hotel is unnusual in offering its own ten pin bowling facility, another chance for those competetive golfers to challenge each other.
There are so many delights that a two night break is called for in the near future.

Room Tip: First floor rooms above the restaurant have lovely views of the lakes and eighteenth hole of the Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am delighted that you had another great stay with us and hope that you will keep coming back, thank you for your loyalty. The team was delighted to read the great comments about the service that you have received. Indeed the golf course is looking good and we have a variety of challenging and less challenging holes to meet our guest expectation. Please make sure that you make the most of the fantastic special offers that we have available on our website, this includes great discounts on short breaks as well as on our Golf and Spa packages.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked for a two night stay. From arrival at reception to dining in the main restaurant, the staff could not have been more efficient, friendlier or helpful. Whatever was requested was met with the most obliging and helpful response whether bar service or housekeeping.

The food in the main dining restaurant was superb with a great choice for all to select from, all seemed reasonably priced. We dined both nights and were not disappointed with any of our choices (4 of us - all ordering something different). The managers of the restaurant, Cameron and Gordon could not do enough for us, even when service was completely stretched because the restaurant was fully booked (that's a good sign on it's own) they delivered their service with the utmost professionalism and calm and totally unflapable on the exterior. Cameron's delivery was that expected of service in a Michelin star restaurant. I can honestly say he had eyes in the back of his head and was a step ahead in anticipating diners needs.

The rooms were lovely, comfortable, clean and quiet. We were in 269, the most lovely suite, actually more like an apartment, our friends were in a superior room 266 and equally comfortable.

The hotel hosted a wedding during our stay and lots and lots of golf parties as would be expected but even this demand on their services did not reduce the level of service we received and cannot praise the quality of their staff.

I personally did not use the leisure club but my guests did and thoroughly enjoyed it. The golf course whilst (I am told) looked taxing, was in fact very pleasant, I think the hiring of a buggy though was an essential ingredient in coming to that decision.

Definitely recommend this place whether business or pleasure I think it will fit your needs.

Room Tip: our rooms were 266 and 269 on the second floor and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I am delighted to read that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed our great facilities. Indeed we are a very popular hotel however as a Conference, Business and Leisure destination we are well equipped to deliver a good service to our guests. I am pleased that you have experienced this. The team will always endeavour to go the extra miles they are a great asset.
I hope that you will make the most of the offers available on our website for your next stay with us. We have some great Summer deals including Golf and Spa packages not be missed.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a night away. They staff were all very friendly and polite. The restaurant food was most enjoyable. The superior room was very nice and very quiet with no disturbances. The one criticism would be the heat of the room. We found a fan which we had to have on but it was still very warm and it wasn't really a warm night. On the whole we really enjoyed it and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightnurse61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review and your great feedback. I am delighted that your had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the food and service. I hope that you have made the most of our great facilities too. Please check our website where you will find some great deals for your next visit.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

just returned from a 3 day/2nights golf trip. whilst the staff were very helpful and the accomadation acceptable, I found the food was not that great - we were given exactly the same menu for both of our evening meals. The " championship " golf course was average and the greens were like putting on treacle. The prices in the bar were astronomical - £2.40 for a half pint of lemonade and lime !!!!!!!! £7.80 for 2 diet cokes and 2 packets of plain crisps !!!!!!!
The rooms could do with some sort of air con as we had to sleep with the windows wide open as they were very stuffy - this left us with the early morning noise from the dustbin men emptying the bins at 6.30 in the morning.
overall I was disapointed with our trip and will not be going back anytime soon

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lakes are quieter and the veiw is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wykegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for review. I have tried to call you and sent you a message to discuss your comments. Please accept my apologies if your stay was not as enjoyable as you were expecting. Our menu changes every day for our golfing parties however the most popular dishes remain on the menu, following a recent survey I can assure you that our bar pricing are on par with our competitors, however this is an area that I am reviewing. The greens are now looking great, at this time of the year we get a lot of seed heads however they have now disappeared.
I hope that I will have the opportunity to speak to you very soon..
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed overnight for a recent business meeting and trip. The venue is in lovely surroundings, and the views are great.

Service in the restaurant was average, and was slow. The quality of the food however was excellent.

Some areas of the building needed attention to bring them back up to four star standards, particularly the public toilets and the spa pool/steam room area.

The actual hotel rooms were of a good size, but lacked air conditioning. The shower gel/soap/shampoo had already been used, presumably by the previous occupant. The milk portions went out of date in the previous month.

An okay hotel, but lacking attention to detail!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the water and the golf course have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnTLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe G, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for review and constructive feedback, I have reviewed your comments with the team so we can pay extra attention to the details highlighted, my apologies for the inconvenience. We are always updating the property and will pay extra attention to the areas that you have mentioned.
I am please that you will consider us again when traveling in the area, please contact me prior and I will make sure that you have the room with the view.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Christophe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
14.6 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
3.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
17.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
3.3 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
5.9 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Priors Marston Road, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1. Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing