We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Two Halves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Most of the rooms in this hotel seem to be in the newly built annexe to the original building. This part of the hotel is great - generous rooms with all the ammenities you need - although by no means luxury.

The bar, restaurant and leisure facilities are in the older section of the hotel and this is in need of a refurb. The bar was fine, but lacked character. The only interesting element was the fireplace. The restaurant decor and service felt like we were in the 60s, although was much improved for the brilliant breakfast buffet in the morning. The pool area definately needs improving. It simply felt neglected and outdated. The pool was a decent size and quite warm, but the area around it and in the changing rooms just didnt look nice.

Cant fault the attentive staff, specatucular location and lovely rooms - just let down by the fact only half the hotel is up to the high quality standards you expect from a Q hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Barry J, thank you for your honest and constructive review, your comments have been well received and have been passed on to the team. I am disappointed that your time at the hotel was overshadowed by the points highlighted in your review, at this time of year the Hotel and facilities are extremely quiet, possibly the low number of hotel guests contributed to the lack of atmosphere in the public areas.
We are working hard to develop our menus moving in to the New Year and i am confident that upon your return you will see a marked improvement in both menu choice and quality. I am pleased that you found all staffs to be polite, friendly and attentive, we would all like to thank you for your kind comments. I do hope you will be able to join us again in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss any of the points highlighted in you review.

Kind regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited the hellidon lakes in early December for a 2 night stay to celebrate a special family birthday. We've stayed at other hotels within the Q hotel chain previously but this is our first visit to this particular hotel.

As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is located around a 15 minute drive from the nearest town, however this wasn't an issue for us because we'd planned to stay at the hotel and use its facilities.

We requested three rooms located in a quiet area of the hotel and were very pleased that our request was granted. The rooms had amazing views of the lakes and even though not extremely modern we're well equipped and very clean.

We couldn't fault the level of service we received from any of the staff members. Everyone we encountered was pleasant, friendly and helpful. As we were celebrating a special birthday we were allowed to decorate our table for dinner as a surprise, the staff kindly stored the cake and even came to the rescue when we encountered a problem with the special birthday candle breaking, the staff arranged for someone to drive to the nearest supermarket to buy us a replacement. We couldn't fault the food and the menu choice was brilliant.

We made use of the spa facilities and the golf, the spa treatments were very affordable and relaxing. The pool area was a little outdated but, was a very good size and we were very lucky that it was quiet when we used it. Even though the hotel was busy with weddings and Christmas parties this made no impact on our stay and I would definitely visit here again. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and commend all the staff for making our visit a fantastic stay to celebrate the special birthday.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riafitz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear riafitz5, thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been passed on and all the team at Hellidon Lakes are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I am so pleased that you were well looked after and that we were able to accommodate you in a quieter room. We always do our very best to go that extra mile and deliver excellent customer service, it's great to know that the team did all they could to make your experience a memorable and enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hellidon Lakes in the future,

Best regards

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just arrived back from Helidon after a great new year stay

had a great time, thanks to all the very friendly and helpful staff

really nice room. And thanks to Jim-Mon-Margaret&Dave for making the new year party
such a laugh.

Room Tip: we had a suite 251 which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear bigmarl, thank you for your feedback and positive comments. A good time was had by all on New Years Eve and i'm so pleased that you were able to join us for the celebrations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hellidon Lakes in the future, New Years Eve 2013 maybe?!!

Wishing you a very happy New Year from all the team at Hellidon Lakes,

Best regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked Hellidon lakes on one of q hotels Friday night deals £99 per stay, which was great value,
We arrived mid afternoon, was checked in by the pleasant receptionist, dropped our bags off and proceeded to the pool area, with steam room, and jacuzzi,
Back to the very spacious double room to relax and get ready for 8pm dinner,
3 course meal in a nice restaurant area, with very attentive and polite staff,
Up for buffet breakfast in the same restaurant area as the previous evening only with daylight this time the views were very nice overlooking the golf course and beyond,

Room Tip: Check the deals on Q hotels website for some good deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Darren C, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hellidon Lakes and that you were able to make full use of the facilities. Your kind comments have been passed on to the team, we pride ourselves on offering great customer service and i'm delighted that the staffs were polite and attentive throughout your stay. I do hope you will be able to join us again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for two night weekend break. The staff were among the most friendly we have ever experienced. Rooms were excellent, well serviced and a good television with all freeveiw channels and an added bonus of a ceiling mounted very bright reading light over the desk area something which is lacking in many rooms nowadays. Breakfast had a great selection of choice. Would revisit if in the area. IB Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magheramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Magheramore, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you would consider returning in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to book with us in the New Year, I would be more than happy to make the arrangements for you.
Thank you once again for your comments, I do hope you have a a very Merry Christmas,

Kind regards

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having booked for a Christmas party it was a little disappointing to find that due to an "oven" failure the food came out in ridiculously small portions and was quite late. Service was patchy and the Hotel appeared to have over booked themselves with another four functions on the same evening. Breakfast was no better either.

For the first time in my life after dinner coffee was a self service affair, helping yourself to mugs placed at the back of the room. May be this is a local tradition, I can't see how this was influenced by an oven failure but there you go. Unlikely to go there again.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank chandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Chndle, thank you for your comments and your detailed email. Unfortunately we did experience some technical difficulties on the evening of the event you were attending. We did all we can to communicate directly with the event organiser explaining the action we were taking to address the problem in hand. Myself and the sales team have spoken to the organiser since the event, she was happy with how the event was managed and has agreed to consider using Hellidon Lakes in the future. I am sorry that your time at the hotel was overshadowed by the issues detailed in your feedback, thank you for your posting.

Best regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our 3rd visit for myself and 2 friends for a relaxing spa weekend break. We cant fault the spa, food or staff but was very disappointed to be in a room directly above a xmas party that went on to 1am. We couldnt even hear the tv in our room as the music was so loud and it really ruined what was to be a relaxing break. We came back in good faith as the year before we had no hot water or heating in our room and although we were given a portable heater the room was freezing. We really want to keep coming for our annual girly weekend to Hellidon lakes as the setting is beautiful and the spa and food are great but we cant help but worry we will be let down again!

Room Tip: Room 119 had fantastic views but ask before you check in if a function is being held in the room bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicstarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomReeve, Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

vicstarUk, firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty. I am so pleased that you visit Hellidon Lakes each year for your annual event. I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced this time round, please direct message me or contact me at the hotel as I would like the opportunity to discuss your comments. Thank you once again for your review; I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Tom Reeve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
14.6 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
17.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,438 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
5.9 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Priors Marston Road, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range: $108 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1. Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing