We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited hellidon for a quite weekend break and was brillant the spa and hotel was great a little warm insode the room but had air conditioning.The service was great start to finish, if only a tad slow on a busy night when it came to an evening meal. The breakfast was good, plenty of it, and a good selection.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

JayJay S
Thank you for your post following your recent stay at Hellidon Lakes, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service was of a good standard.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrive4d for a days golf , followed by dinner and golf the following day. Alas the course on the first day was closed due to very heavy unrelenting rain. The ops manager of the day recognising our party of 40 were not getting any golf gave us free access to the golf simulator, bowling alley and for those who wanted to play cards gave us several packs. We entertained ourselves royally without getting bored.
The dinner in the evening was well presented, very tasty and served hot, the staff were very friendly and relaxed. The golf on the second day was damp but enjoyable.
A most enjoyable outing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dgcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dgcrok
Thank you for your review of Hellidon Lakes following your recent golf visit.
I am sorry that your first day was impacted by the weather and thank you for not blaming us for the rain!!! I was pleased that Tom Reeve looked after you and ensured you and your party were well entertained.
Once again thank you for your review.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is essentially a conference hotel which also specialises in catering for golf societies. From what I have read it also does a brisk trade in weddings - probably at weekends. If you catch them during a wedding or a conference, I suspect you will have to make allowances (and keep a cool head). If you don't get what you expect or what you ask for, you obviously need to alert the Manager and negotiate appropriate recompense. We were lucky - only one day-time conference in a four day stay and a couple of smallish golf societies. It was a half-term break and my son joined me in playing golf each day. We went 10-pin bowling each day and used the gym, the swimming pool and the golf simulator. We thought the facilities and the food to be good.

Room Tip: They have a few family rooms - we had one and it was of a high standard. Inspect your room carefull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Michael126
Thank you for your review and yes you summarise our business well, QHotels are a group of conference hotels, with our setting weddings are very popular and indeed the challenging aspects of our golf course make us very popular with societies alike. Naturally we aim to cater for all aspects of our business and I believe we generally do this as we have different teams to look after different guests as we appreciate each have their expectations from their stay. I am pleased we got it right for you.
Once again thank you for your review and I hope to welcome you back to Hellidon in the future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came here as a birthday present/leaving to uni present with my dad and was impressed. The service was great start to finish, if only a tad slow on a busy night when it came to an evening meal. The breakfast was good, plenty of it, and a good selection.

The room was in great condition with a lovely spacious bathroom, the beds were comfortable and sleep was good! The hotel also had a pool which was empty in the morning, nothing incredible but a welcome morning swim to wake up always goes down well in my books.

The golf course itself was enjoyable, challenging in places without being frustrating, short but tight and by no means easy, good scenery, and a couple of brilliant risk/reward holes.

All in all a great stay and fantastic value at £89 for bed, breakfast, and two rounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Tom P
Thank you for your post following your recent stay with us and also congrats on finishing uni and also for your birthday!
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the golf course a pleasure to play.
I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Once again congratulations and I hope you had a great birthday.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

avoid this hotel,we were a party of 7 on a golf break, we arrived early for a bite to eat before tee off, after being directed all around the hotel, only to find locked doors, un open bars and finally to the resturaunt where breakfast is served until 10 am, it was 9.35 and were told to wait in the lounge until 10 am for something to eat, at 10 am i ordered a coffee and a bacon bap, it arrived at 9.50 !! our table was filthy and hadnt been cleaned from the previous evening. service was shocking !! our evening meal was a disaster, garlic chicken with no garlic x 2, stuffed chicken with no potatoes or chips.one group member had 5 chips and the rest had 9, we had knicker bocker glory for dessert, plastic cherries, tinned fruit, no cream or wafers they were disgusting. we called the manager and he eventually turned up and rectified the lack of chips, also providing frozen garlic butter for the chicken breast.
all male toilets were not in use, 1 guest used the disabled toilet only to find excrement all over the floor !!!! on top of this the golf course was very very poor, no where near what was advertised ||| avoid this hotel and golf course

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen250366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Stephen 250366
Thank you for taking the time to review Hellidon Lakes following your recent stay.
I am sorry that the standards that you encountered were not up to our usual standards and I can assure you this will be addressed. To receive negative feedback regarding dinner at Hellidon Lakes is very rare and I will be addressing your comments with the chef.
In terms of the gents toilets, we currently have one set of toilets closed for refurbishment however you would have had access to 5 other sets of gents toilets across the hotel.
Once again thank you and I am sorry for the shortcomings you experienced, these are not good enough and will be dealt with.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very disappointing, but not by the staff and service for they were very pleasant and professional but by the bedroom, bar and breakfast food. I may have been unlucky with my room as I had a skylight and no window and for £100 I'd expected more. Bathroom was tiny, a notice on the mirror asked me to 'save the environment' and put the towel on the towel rail or hook, unfortunately the bathroom had neither! Room was cold, there was a heater but took time to heat the room. Bed ok but the soft furnishings didn't match, wardrobe circa 1980, carpet circa 1990 etc etc. Hotel bar offered only a limited choice of real ale...none! Only one bitter on tap or bottled ale. Bar very bright, under staffed, boring, no atmosphere and full of male groups of golfers.

Breakfast staff were very friendly, but the food was below par, overcooked, dry and boring....I'm sorry to say no better than a moat house and would prefer to stay at a premier Inn

Room Tip: Make sure it has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dave_Ball2007
Thank you for your review of Hellidon Lakes and I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
We are in the process of updating a number of our bedrooms and I apologise that your room was not up to your standards. In terms of the real ale we do not supply this but following feedback from a number of golfers this is something we are currently looking into and hopefully this will be possible.
Once again thank you for your review.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i just had to write a review after reading some of the comments on here
my husband and i went to this hotel on 26th october 2012 to 29th october 2012 and the service was the best ive had. the staff were out of this world just couldn't do enough for us .
the room was lovely and the bathroom was to die for .
the lady who looked after us in the breakfast room was just brilliant and the bar staff were amazing.
the views were amazing as well . we certainly would like to return here again .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csteadman, General Manager at Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

lorraine r
Thank you for your review of Hellidon Lakes following the recent event at the Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Once again thank you.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
3.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
14.6 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,520 reviews
15.1 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Priors Marston Road, Hellidon NN11 6GG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is located in Daventry in Northamptonshire. This hidden gem is surrounded by 220 acres of delightfully peaceful grounds; so it’s quite easy to forget that it is a mere 14 miles off the M40 and 20 minutes from the M1. Hellidon Lakes Golf and Spa Hotel is home to a 27 hole Championship golf course, a superb leisure club, relaxing spa, tennis courts and a fishing lake. In fact the hotel's eight sparkling lakes are behind our four-star hotel’s name. What's more the hotel has an indoor ten pin bowling alley - great for family fun or on an evening of laughter outside of the meeting room. The hotel has 24 flexible conference and meeting rooms, 200 complimentary car parking spaces and are proud to offer some great stimulation for conference and events; from self-contained meeting areas to superb team building space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellidon Lakes Golf And Spa Hotel - a Qhotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel - a q Hellidon
Hellidon Lakes Daventry
Hellidon Lakes Hotel
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing