We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay.”
Review of The Elk's Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elk's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wife & I stayed here recently with the intention of doing some walking and visiting Hadrians wall. Our stay at the Elks Head was most enjoyable. Lovely, cosy room (10), excellent food, and wonderful, friendly staff. Unfortunately the rest of the trip was spoilt by the weather, - bitterly cold, wet and with a frightening amount of snow on the day we were returning home, (any direction away from the Elks Head is up hill) ! The pub is a short drive to most of the wall sites. Would not hesitate to stay here again should we return to this area.

Room Tip: Ask for river view. 10 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    74
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

my wife & I stayed Saturday night at the Elks Head on the way to a wedding in Hexham.
We were greeted by Kate who showed us to our room & was so helpful throughout our stay.
We were in room 10 which is bright & airy with a superb view overlooking the river.We had an evening meal in the restaurant, the food was plentiful & locally sourced. The breakfast the following morning set us up for the day & as stated in previous reviews was extremely hearty.
We will definitely stay at the Elks Head when next in the area & thanks again to Kate who went out of her way us feel welcome.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a super October break at the Elk's Head which is set in the middle of beautiful woodland countryside - lovely at this time of year. It is also convenient to visit Hadrian's Wall with its forts and museums. The room was very comfortable and warm with a lovely view over the river out of the bathroom window. Our breakfast was huge even for my husband who has a hearty appetite! We ate in every night and the meals in the restaurant were well cooked and well presented. The manager and all of his staff were very friendly and helpful. A lovely place - we will certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had our wedding on September 22nd 2012 and from the time that we booked Phil and Alison did everything to make our day very special. The restaurant was beautifully decorated, the food excellent and the evening entertainment fantastic.

Thank you to Phil and Alison and all their staff for all their hard work to make the day so memorable.

I would recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here in Sept 2012 for one night, 3 rooms for 6 people, on arrival greated by very friendly staff who showed us to our rooms and explained dinner/breakfast times. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast fantastic and staff catered to all our needs. Would definately stay again and recommend for anyone wanting a night or two away from it all in very nice surroundings

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a comfortable short stay at the hotel. Room was well laid out with tea and coffee provided. The on suite was well proportioned and the view from the window was stunning looking out onto woods with a weir and bridge it was amazing. The food was well presented and plenty of it. Downsides were TV complicated to work not that it bothered us but we would have like to see some news. Secondly inconsiderate guests who slammed doors and were loud late at night - not that one can blame the hotel staff. Altogether we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Didn't stay there but the food and staff were wonderful. Would't hesitate to stay in the future. We were traveling back home to Loughborough from Killicrankie. We stayed at a farm that didn't do evening meals and they recommended The Elk's Head for our meal and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martini7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitfield
4.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
13.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
18.7 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
17.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk's Head

Property: The Elk's Head
Address: Whitfield NE47 8HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Whitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elk's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Elk's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing