We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for R+R”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pukeatua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Pukeatua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place for R+R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Out in rural waikato, surrounded by farmland and very close to an ecological sanctuary, Out in the Styx is a great wee place to stay. In addition to the rooms being well appointed and clean, the food was absolutely brilliant!! We were a party of 16 and it was the best place to go. No TV, one has to have a wee walk to get cell coverage so it is brilliant - it is about quality relaxation without the hustle and bustle:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night, and will stay again! Amazing bang for your buck! Price includes dinner and breakfast. Dinner was 4 courses, and delicious. Excellent food, enough for an army. Soup, followed by lamb tag one, cauliflower bake, broccoli with lemon, roasted veggies with feta and rosemary, fish pie, and pumpkin. Dessert was great too, apricot and pistachio cake with ginger ice cream, and a selection of fresh fruit and a cheeseboard, followed by tea and coffee. A warm fire to keep the cold Waikato weather at bay, and a decent glass of wine with the meal... Altogether this was way beyond our expectations. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a find! We were part of a group of 15 that used this as a base for tramping over Mount Maungatautari. Our adventure started with Lance taking us by mini-van to the north side of the mountain from where we did the Over the Mountain track, 5-6 hours with some great views and a great sense of achievement when we got back to the lodge and were able to enjoy a well earned drink at the bar. The food is fantastic, the room was clean and comfortable, and the whole atmosphere made for a very enjoyable stay. Thank you Lance and your staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Out in the Styx for a couple of nights mid-December 2011. Our room was a delight, very comfortable; nice bathroom. It was good to sit outdoors in the evening watching the tuis (NZ native birds) feeding in the flax plants nearby. Breakfast and dinner were superb. Real home-cooked, gourmet, plentiful. Our hosts were very helpful - we were able to get all the info we needed to visit the wonderful nearby Reserve. (At the reserve, amazingly, a kaka - NZ large native bird, flew just over our heads and landed on a tree to watch us! It was only about one meter away).
There is an outdoor spa at the accommodation, in very pretty surroundings.
I can highly recommend this accommodation and the Reserve.

Room Tip: I only saw the apartment-style rooms. There are 3 of these large rooms, all facing the same way with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 224Aussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This lodge is excellent place to stay if you want to bird Maungatautari, one of the best birding spots on the North Island. The lodge is just a two minute drive to the entrance of the ecological island. So if you want to go listening for Kiwi at night or listening to the dawn chorus, it is really the best option.

The owners are very knowledgeable about the birds that can be found in the reserve and are very welcoming. The rooms are excellent and the food was very good. Serious birders and conservationists should do everything to support the efforts of this community and the businesses that depend on ecotourism.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

A school trip to NZ brought us to Out in the Styx, and my initial impression was a homely guesthouse set in pretty countryside that looked not much different from the UK or Germany. The dining area was cosy (with free wi-fi - just ask Lance for the password), the outdoor seating area afforded views of the rolling countryside and their beautiful garden.

My room had a double bed and two single beds and an attached bathroom. It was done simply, but adequately. Towels, toiletries are provided. I slept well enough, though I woke to the sound of others walking by as walls are thin and the rooms are not entirely soundproof. Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Other than that, the stay at Styx was fantastic. Dinner was sumptuous with beef casserole, beans, baked carrots (delicious), starters of bread and various dips were all homemade and delicious, dessert - we had homemade passionfruit and pepper ice cream (hmm!), and the best bit - three different NZ cheeses with NZ cherries and fruits. I enjoyed that a lot.

There isn't cooked breakfast but great homemade jams with the toast, and musli, yoghurt, fruits. Lunch was a simple cooked noodles in soup.

The best bit of Styx is that it is located just 2 mins drive to Maungatautari Reserve, all 47km encircled by a predator proof fence, and populated by kiwis, kakas, hihis, takahes... We set out for the night walk at about 8.45pm, at dusk, and it was magical. When we got to the tower, we waited for kiwis' calls and were not disappointed. The walk back - admittedly, quite dark but we simply used our digitalcamera's 'play' function to illuminate our path (a torch would have been too bright) - was out of this world, with the silhouettes of the forest and glow worms lighting our path. Magical!

In the day, Maungatautari was just as beautiful, if not even more. The forest were all ferns and towering trees, and punctuated by many birds' calls. It was what I imagined NZ to be, and it surpassed my expectations. I came across a pair of Takahes, calm and cute as they are, foraging for food. Kakas flew overheard, and came very close to me. A pair of volunteers helped to feed the Kakas at an area close to the tower (food stands), and I was treated to many different birds feeding - Hihis, the NZ pigeon, many Kakas... even the Takahes came to feed on apples dropped to the ground.

Would definitely return - and next time I'd try to make it to the peak.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

A scientific colleague of mine turned me on to this place, and the whole experience turned out to be the highlight of our family's trip to NZ (including three 17-23 year old sons who wanted "action"). The preserve is a really amazing chunk of native bush. We went on a stormy day and stayed pretty dry under the canopy and saw many native (and rare) birds in the trees and on the ground. They have plenty of kiwis (rare outside the preserve system) that you can see on a night tour (cool!). Very cool platform and open (feeding) area for a closer look at the incredible birds you are hearing all around. The sounds had to be inspiration for Star Wars. The hosts are great; friendly and informative without being too intrusive. The food was really good (and the best value we found in NZ), and Mary perfectly accommodated our rather demanding food allergy issues with grace. The rooms are basic, but in excellent condition and quite comfortable. The hot tub a must after a long day.

Room Tip: Older kids went in the bunks with shared bath; adults in the nicer rooms. I would keep younger kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pukeatua
13.2 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
12.0 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
13.1 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Kauri Lodge
Kauri Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
15.6 mi away
Okoroire Hot Springs Hotel
8.8 mi away
Gully Retreat Karapiro
Gully Retreat Karapiro
#7 of 29 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out in the Styx Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out in the Styx Guesthouse

Property: Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Address: 2117 Arapuni Road | Waikato, Pukeatua 3880, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pukeatua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukeatua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Out in the Styx Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family have been living here and operating as a restaurant and guesthouse for over 20 years. We don't have a menu but our guests are always satisfied with the delicious meals we prepare and the gorgeous setting. We are very fortunate to look directly up at the the forested mountains within the Maungatautari Ecological Island, a 3500 hectare pest free scenic reserve. We operate a drop-off service for hikers walking the traverse and our van can take up to 8 cycles for drop off and pickups on the Waikato River Trail. We are between Rotorua and Waitomo and our rates include a four course dinner and a two course breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing