We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We stayed her for 6 nights during August and were amazed at the quietness of the place. We had a great room with a patio which we didn't expect, very spacious and clean. Hardly anybody was staying at the hotel and we had the pool to ourself most of the time. The area is great to drive around and get lost in, we found a town which was jam packed with garden centres which supply the world with topiary. We also happened across Vinci (where Leornado came form). Brilliant restaurant in the town, a short stroll from the hotel where the staff are really friendly. Geat food. Also a very nice ice cream parlour in the town. Great place if you like it quiet. We will definately return.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — No restaurant during August
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
42
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Hotel Hermitage is not far from the Florence airport (20-30 minutes driving). It is away from town and from the autoroute, so it took a bit of navigation to find it (easier if you follow the smaller road then the autoroute).

We were looking for a place after our long flight to Italy to spend the night before the short window for arriving at our villa (Sat between 3 and 6 p.m.). We were pleasantly surprised. I had booked through the hotel website, and got a fast response. The hotel was willing to set up a quad room for the 4 of us. Their service was excellent.

What we found when we arrived was great. They had set up up in two adjoining rooms. Each was realatively spacious and had a wonderful view.

The kids most apprecited the swimming pool. We arrived around 7 p.m., all the kids wanted to do was swim. It wasn't until after we had done or swimming I read the pool closes at 7 or something. But the hotel didn't say a thing.

Breakfast here was great. It was much more complete than a typical Italian breakfast. The adults and the kids each found plenty to eat.

So overall the hotel was marvelous. The hotel was beautiful and well-kept. The service was very pleasant. The food was good. My only nit is that it is a bit out of the way. My sense was this hotel is ften an escape for Italian who want to get out of town. If you are willing to drive, Florence and Pisa are just over 30 minutes away. But this seems a much better choice if you are looking for a relaxing out-of-town getaway.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2006

We spent 14 nights at the Hermitage.
The accommodation is excellent.Staff are friendly,polite and helpful.
Meals were V/G and the tranquility of the location was just what we were after.
The pool is clean and well maintained.
The locality is quiet and safe.
A great hotel.
There is a superb restaurant in the town about 300 yards from the hotel.It specialises in fish dishes and local wines.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 1, 2005

My family of 6 spent 2 nights at the Hermitage on our recent European vacation. The rooms were clean and spacious, but the surroundings were somewhat sterile and did not have a particularly Italian ambiance. The staff was courteous. Though the temperature was still in the 70's the hotel manager had decided to turn off the air conditioner which meant the rooms were a bit "stuffy" at night. Despite being 30-45 minutes from Florence by car, this remote location still had a fair amount of traffic noise through the night.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggio a Caiano
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa San Michele
Hotel Villa San Michele
#2 of 5 in Carmignano
157 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa La Malva
Villa La Malva
#4 of 5 in Carmignano
84 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa Saulina
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Artimino Apartments
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
138 reviews
4.4 mi away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#2 of 18 in Prato
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stilhotel
Stilhotel
#1 of 4 in Signa
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Ginepraia, 112, 59016 Poggio a Caiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Poggio a Caiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Poggio a Caiano, in a quiet residential area, on a panoramic hill, close to the beautiful Villa Medicea "Ambra", which was erected in 1479 A.D. by order of Lorenzo The Magnificent Ideal both for business and leisure travellers, the hotel lies just 18 Kms from the artistic treasures of Florence; 6 Kms from Prato and 3 Kms from its industrial district Macrolotto; 16 Kms from Pistoia and its tree nursery district; 12 Kms from Quarrata (renowned for the production of furniture).Moreover, it lies within short driving distance from Carmignano, the medieval village of Artimino and some of the best wineries and olive oil producers in the Montalbano region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Prato
Hotel Hermitage Province Of Prato/Poggio a Caiano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing