We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped basic French gite in beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Gîte des Dentellières
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gîte des Dentellières
the house and its terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Gîte des Dentellières
the house and its terrace
the kitchen
the room 1
the bathroom
the mezzanine above the bedroom 2
the bedroom 2
area: Vendeuvre castle
area: Saint Germain de Livet cstle
area: south of Caen
area: Beuvron en auge
area: Le Lont Saint Michel
Bayeux Cathedrale
Bayeux
Caen  castle
Caen
area Reviers
Courseulles sur mer
Fontaine-Henri castle
Courseulles sur mer
Courseulles sur mer
Courseulles sur mer
Asnelles
Arromanches
Arromanches
Courseulles sur mer
Longues sur mer
D-Day beaches
Reviers
Reviers
Reviers
Reviers: the rent
Beny-Reviers: Canadien cimetiery
Reviers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Reviers, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sonny L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well equipped basic French gite in beautiful village.”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The village of Reviers is absolutely gorgeous and the gite was in the middle of the village and really near the bakery (only baguettes sold). Some lovely walks were found to be had! The gite itself was v well equipped. basic traditional and v french+ we really liked it! The enclosed courtyard was ideal for the dog and eating dinner out in the evening.

The village was really near Courseulles-sur-mer (a little town we loved) and the beach was so easy to go to later on in the day when it was a bit cooler for an hour or two. We really hope to return for two weeks next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Character
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian A
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location with secure garden for our dog”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our welcome on a wet and cold February night could not have been warmer. Catherine and Jean made us feel at home and explained all the amenities quickly and clearly. This house is well laid out and spacious enough for a family.
The village is very peaceful and ideally located for exploring Normandy. Unfortunately the local baker only has croissants on Sunday, however much more is available in Courseulles sur Mer only 3Km away.
The enclosed garden not only provides secure parking but also a safe space for Billy, our dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful seclusion
Liked least: The local baker
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sifibrook...
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great home from home”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

this is a great cottage with all you will need for a great holiday, it really is a home from home. the location is a ideal place to tour Normandy from..

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisontiz
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect, Clean, Historic House for D Day, Beaches, Bayeux, Cean, Memorials”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This not so little house has everything one could need for a stay in Normandy. Its position is perfect for reaching all the D Day Museums, visiting Bayeux, accessing numerous beautiful beaches, exploring tiny old villages, and relaxing in peace and comfort.

This wonderful, old, detached house has been renovated to include a clean, modern kitchen with dishwasher, fridge freezer, oven and hob as well as work-surfaces - and cupboards and drawers full of crockery, cutlery, utensils, pots and pans etc. There is a lovely large table to sit at for meals and we often spent evenings sitting at one end of it with the door open to the garden even though it was November!

The kitchen leads directly into the lounge where there is a new suite. The lounge has a coffee table, shelves with numerous leaflets and ideas for places to visit, TV etc. (which we found we did not want to use, preferring the peace and quiet of the house), and a wood-burning stove. There are plenty of logs under cover outside (free of charge) and we were looking forward to using the wood-burning stove, but we were never cold enough to give it a try! The very thick walls of the old house keep the cold out and the electric heaters were sufficient for our needs. Also, the doors and windows are double glazed. Yes, we did pay a little extra at the end of our stay for the electricity we had used, but, in our experience, this is normal practice in a Gite.

The only problem we experienced was that the tiled floors were cold when not wearing shoes, however, the problem was with us and not with the house - we should have packed our slippers!!

A door from the lounge leads to the hallway where there is a downstairs loo and wash hand-basin built in under the stairs. Again, this was very clean. The staircase leads up to the bathroom which has a shower, wash hand basin, heated towel rail, and a washing machine. All very clean, but note that there is no upstairs loo. This was not a problem for us at all.

The master bedroom has double aspect windows, and a double bed with two bedside tables and table lamps. We opted to use the owners' bedlinen - duvet, pillows, sheet, duvet cover and pillowcases. These were all as they should be.

There are two further bedrooms, one with two single beds which delightfully has a door leading out to some old stone steps down to the garden. This bedroom also has a strong/substantial wooden ladder fixed in which leads up to the third bedroom.

Downstairs there are two doors leading out into the garden where there are two steps leading up to a lovely patio with garden furniture. The garden is enclosed by a wonderful old stone wall and is totally private when the gates are shut. The garden is also where one parks one's car and there is a large wood shed at the rear. The double gates are big enough to reverse through and this is the best option as it saves having to pull out into the little lane without being able to see what's coming.

The peace and tranquillity of the area is something very special and it deserves a mention in this review. Just magical!

Reviers is an old village with a small river running through and an interesting Church. There were no shops, but, whilst we were staying there, a tiny shop opened selling home made dishes to take away. It also sold baguettes. If not purchasing baguettes from a shop, there is a van that drives around the village every day, including Sundays, selling bread, croissants, etc. You have to listen for the loud 'tooting' of a horn and then flag down the van to buy gorgeous fresh-baked products.

Other than that, there is a Lidl and a Carrefour a short drive from the house. Of course, these supermarkets sell everything one could possibly need.

We didn't find anywhere to eat out in Reviers, but ate lunch every day in whichever place we found ourselves. Then it was a case of enjoying some baguette, cheese and cidre or wine sitting at the table in the house with the door open in the evening. Perfect!

The hosts, Catherine and Jean could not have been kinder. They gave us a wonderful welcome - speaking good English but very happy to listen to our experiments with the French language! Catherine greeted us on our arrival with arm-loads of rosie-red apples just picked from her tree. She and Jean are full of information about the best places to visit, where the markets are on each day, and where to find fresh fish at the harbour side. Catherine and Jean live next door to the Gite and are always on call should any problems arise, but they are absolutely not intrusive in any way. We were sad to leave them at the end of our week's stay, but consider them now to be amongst our French friends.

As a point of interest, we found the house to be rather a mystery. We shall leave it to you to find out why there are three chimneys but only one fire place, and why there is a blocked up door on the staircase even though there is another old house built right up against the other side of the wall! In addition, we spent the whole week trying to fathom out what the shape on the keyring for the house represented; Jean has the answer!

In summary, everything was perfect and we shall definitely return. Thank you, Catherine and Jean, for making our stay so magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history and peacefullness of the house and the friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Cold floors - our fault, we should have packed our slippers!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja E
1 review
“Great private spot in the middle of history”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed two great summer weeks in Reviers. Our hosts were very kind and helpful. The cottage was roomy and there was a ping pong table outside (great fun for the whole family). Also a tennis court up the road where we could play. The area offers a plethora of interesting historic stuff. Especially about D-Day but also other things worth seeing. Regarding D-Day we can recommend the Canadian Cemetery right out side Reviers. Each headstone has a personal message from the family. It's a very moving and very special place.

Our hosts were

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cold house
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nounou451...
Puiseaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing