We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - Dreadfull pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moniatis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moniatis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermasoyia
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Dreadfull pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

lovely hotel, fab staff, excellent room, so big i needed binocullars to see the telly from the bed, air con included. Nice view of the pool
Arr but the pool - loungers were dropping to bits (2005 manufacture) and the sun had gone by 3.00
Breakfasts were good plentiful, and buffet style, but unfortunately the evening meals varied in limited choice and temperature being of buffet style were a bit like school dinners.
The bar was expensive and lucky if for a hotel, had 8 people in even at happy hour. the beer taps were off for several days and they wanted 5 Euro for a bottle
Then there were the comings and goings on a couple of evenings of people using rooms for lets say less than 1 night and without luggage....
but if your stuck there without transport then get up the road into the village and find the great tavern with Cavas at the helm, great food, welcome, and a nice mix of ex pats and locals....

Room Tip: garden view may end up being the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestySprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    16
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
50
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked hotel on internet, the hotel was looking tired in some areas, the bathroom really could have done with being uplifted, the cleaners should be educated on how to clean we came back one day and the rubbish had been left on the table they had not attempted to empty the bathroom bin, the next day we were in the room when they came to clean they offered to come back but I said it was ok for them to clean whilst we were there they emptied the bins that day but that was all the didn't sweep up or attempt to clean the bathroom, the food was kept warm under lights more time than not the food was cold, the staff in the reception and bar were excellent and could not do enough for you. Its was somewhere to put your head down but I don't think we will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Moniatis Hotel..... A very good hotel for 3 stars. I stayed in 4 stars hotels and it was not so good as Moniatis.

Good location and quiet. Clean and big family rooms. Good food and service and a very very clean swiming pool.

15 minutes from the Germasoyia dump and 20 minutes for the zoo.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank Evros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Small and friendly hotel a short drive from the main tourist area of Limassol. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.We had a side view, which meant that there was shade to sit on the balcony, perfect! Breakfast was adequate, though I would have preferred fresh coffee to the sachets of Nescafe provided, and the hot choices sat in the warmer for the whole sitting, so that the eggs were very overdone.The continental options were better. The pool area was pleasant, with shady and sunny areas, but not all loungers were working properly, being stuck in the fully flat position, not much use for holiday reading. Also, there were children's swimming lessons each afternoon, which was a nuisance for guests wishing for a relaxing few hours.Apparently they were supposed to use the indoor pool if guests were using the outdoor one, but I didn't see that happen. The gym advertised was completely empty! (not that I'm the gym type!) All in all, we had a great stay, but the hotel feels a little "tired" and in need of some tlc. Marvellous staff though,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went 17th to 24th August with my teenage son. We enjoyed our stay in this quiet hotel. Front desk staff Alex, Maria and Mario went out of their way to be very helpful. The waiting and bar staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, towels replaced daily. Even though the hotel was supposed to be full there were never many people in the buffet restaurant for breakfast or dinner. The food was tasty and mostly warm. A couple of days the selection was excellent

The pool was quiet most of the time, occasionally we were the only ones there, just like having a private villa. The hotel however appears to have a policy of allowing none guests to use the pool also which is ok if they behave, but on one afternoon a large family group including two blokes whose behaviour was loud and boorish took over the pool area. The other guests who were expecting to enjoy a quite sunbathe left them to it.

Use of the WiFi at the hotel was very expensive but there is a bar in the village a 5 minute walk from the hotel (I think it was called Alteri) which had free WiFi and showed football on the big screen most nights. Also the drinks were reasonably priced there.

Notes to the hotel management. You could probably get more guests to use the hotel bar in the evening if you switch some lights on in the pool area. Dont advertise use of a gym if it is closed down.

A couple of excellent days out I could recommend Sayious adventure park (Off road buggy safari, Paintball, Archery, GoKarting) and Fasouri water park. Both expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Dont get a room in level -1. We had mountain view room with balcony overlooking the pool and it wa s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Moniatis in June 2012. The hotel is of quite a good standard. If you want to be really picky then it could do with a bit of renovating. The bathroom, for example, could do with a bit of sealant around the bath. Everywhere was clean and tidy though. Beds were made every day, towels changed regularly, and the public areas were kept to a very high standard. We stayed for 8 nights bed and breakfast, and breakfast was good. Buffet style, help yourself to cereal, juice, tea, coffee, bacon, eggs, sausage etc. There seemed to be no limit either, or at least nobody stopped us going back for more. The staff are friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Although we didn't use it, the pool area looked very nice and clean. We have paid a lot more to stay in hotels in the UK that had a lot poorer results.

The bar prices are a bit steep, but that's hotels for you. A 660ml bottle of Keo is e4.95 ond in the local bars is e2.50-3.50. So walk up to the local bars... they're pretty good too (especially Bar Aletri - Savas owns that and it's probably the last traditional Greek Taverna in the area).

In conclusion the Moniatis is great value for money, clean and tidy, and we will be going back again. In fact some of our relations are getting married in Cyprus next year... They are all staying at the Moniatis and are having the reception at the Bar Aletri.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansdell UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I arrived at the Moniatis Hotel on Sunday 24th June 2012, first impressions were good, the hotel was clean, in fact spotless! Check-in was quick and efficient and I was soon unpacking in a very well appointed room, air conditioned plenty of storage space, clean linen and towels.
It was apparent within a few minutes of arriving. That the staff were friendly, helpful and did their utmost to make all their guests feel welcome, in fact the hotel could be said to be "home from home". A quick trip to the bar found it well stocked with a great range of spirits and both the local brew KEO, and Carlsberg lager on tap, or available ice cold in large bottles! You can also by soft drinks and bottles of water.
Outside the bar is a lovely swimming pool, and plastic glasses are provided if you want to take your drinks outside and sunbathe and swim. There are plenty of sun loungers available and a covered dining area completes this excellent facility.
Breakfast is a buffet, and you can chose from a good continental selection, or, full English breakfast, with ice cold orange juice and tea and coffee available.
There is a pool bar menu with snacks and more substantial meals available at reasonable prices. There is also a restaurant menu which has some delicious local specialties as well as things like Lamb or Pork chops etc.
The food service left something to be desired, as on one day both the breakfast buffet and the dinner dishes were cold! On the following day there was no food as the chef decided to leave early in the evening – take away please.
A five minute walk will take you up into the village, where you will find a pharmacy, supermarkets, take away food outlets, nice bars and of course a bank. If you want to go further afield there is a bus stop, where you can catch the bus to Limassol and beyond, or if you prefer, ask at reception and they will call you a taxi. Price to Limassol is around 10 Euros each way.
If you want to see more of this beautiful island and its people, hire a car and get out and about to discover beautiful beaches, quaint villages and local cuisine, along with some stunning historical sites.
The Moniatis Hotel, well worth a visit, the best indication of how good this hotel is, comes from the number of Cypriots who chose to come here for the weekend. You can't get a better recommendation than that!
Olympic Representatives are on call and have a great range of excursions at really reasonable prices.
I am definitely returning to this hotel in October 2012.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view, then mention this when booking, as you could end p with a view of the car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Psykic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermasoyia
1.9 mi away
Navarria Hotel
Navarria Hotel
#24 of 57 in Limassol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valana Hotel Apts
Valana Hotel Apts
#34 of 57 in Limassol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#29 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Beach Hotel
Park Beach Hotel
#25 of 57 in Limassol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
#18 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#16 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moniatis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moniatis Hotel

Property: Moniatis Hotel
Address: Naxou 10 | Germasogeia Municipality, Yermasoyia 3721, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Yermasoyia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermasoyia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moniatis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Yermasoyia Limassol in Cyprus, M. Moniatis Hotel offers rooms featuring a balcony with views of the surrounding mountains. Hotel M. Moniatis is just a 10-minute drive from the heart of Limassol, where guests can visit the Lemesos Medieval Museum and the Grand Mosque. Germasogeia is a great choice for travellers interested in tourism, archeology and clubbing. The rooms of Hotel M. Moniatis are decorated with warm, natural colours and wooden furniture. All rooms have air conditioning, a TV, and a safety deposit box. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine in M. Moniatis Hotel's buffet and à la carte restaurant. The 2 bars serve a wide variety of drinks, light meals, and snacks. Facilities include an outdoor pool, an indoor pool and a sauna. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk, fax, photocopying servicesand laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Moniatis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moniatis Hotel Limassol, Cyprus - Yermasoyia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing