We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“%th visit. Same high standard”
Review of Moniatis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moniatis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermasoyia
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very welcoming staff. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast was an excellent buffet. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break or 2 week holiday.
Maybe tea/coffee making equipment would be nice

Room Tip: All rooms are of same good standard as I have seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 127 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

10 minutes drive for central Limassol. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I just stayed 5 days in this 3 star hotel, which I found very worth for the money I payed. The hotel in itself it very clean and organised. The rooms are also clean but lack some comforts. One thing I found frustrating was the fact that to lock the room door obviously you need to use the key, such key has its keychain that you use to start up the lights in the room itself. So locking the room at night was a mission in its self.
The breakfast was always good and abundant and the staf was helpful and very caring.
The hotel is situated in a very quiet location and is very quiet in itself too. It has a beautiful swimming pool that in summer must be a pleasure. All in all I liked the Moniatis and I would stay in it again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed here for 7 days. Contrary to some of the reviews we had seen before coming, this hotel is not in the middle of nowhere! For example, when it turned out we had forgotten to bring toothpaste with us we were directed to a 24-hour mini market less than 5 minutes away. A quick walk around the next day revealed a wide choice of restaurants at our doorstep! Also discovered a bakery/takeaway shop with fantastic patisserie, thought I was in France. And all manor of ice cream flavours too. Go left as you head for the main road in the village. You can also catch a local bus here although it is not a frequent service, about half-hourly service, at €2 for a day ticket its cheap! Could do with a fridge in the room, Really suited our requirements for a quiet getaway to a warm place without the crowds of seaside resorts. Staff are polite, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Groud floor had slightly irritating noise from A/C unit on the balcony. Be aware that hotel is used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaturediscerningScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed here for 6 days after holidaying in Protaras the month before for 1 week. Arrived after 12 midnight but the Receptionist was there to meet us and explain everything about the Air-Con etc. Room was a decent size - being a double and single bed. Very peaceful nights sleep. Being in a built up area in a village hotel was a bit hard to find [turn right in from of the Tavern in the village]. A car is a must as the beach is not near. Food a bit of a muddle. Mostly scramble eggs every morning, bacon and sausage - as much toast as you want. Evening meals were mostly English meals and well cooked but the desserts were awful. You get one choice - which tasted all very similar - or fruit. We stayed away from dessert as it was all like coloured set custard! The ice cream in the local store had Mars ices - enough said. The hotel seems to be totally run by women - but there were only a few and the one that watches over the restaurant is also at the bar in the next room! Would go again if I could get a bargain deal but we got what we paid for and are content with that.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoochieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Selected hotel on the basis of Trip advisor reviews. Not disappointed small friendly hotel, didn't try evening meals.
Not for everyone- located in a housing estate in the middle of nowhere its not a 2 week holiday location. Car is a must. Ideal for 2/3 day break. If you are into gardening there are a couple of very good garden centres within walking distance. Or up the hill into the village there are take aways, tavernas , bakery and mini supermarkets whick you may well want to use.
Points to be aware of- no fridge in rooms/no tea making. Drink prices are excesive with a pint of local Keo at €4.95. Hapy hour is 20:30-21:30 when the price drops to a more reasonable €2:50. But note this is only on selected drinks and not even on bottled Keo.Far better buy cold drinks on a daily basis in village.. Lounge are not very comfy for a quite drink and outside is all closed once the sun goes down. All that said at €42:00 a night B & B its value for money. Would I go back Yes if i needed a few days in Limmassol.
Only real complaint was the poor cleanliness of bathrooms- mould on all cracks and crevices around bath/shower needed a proffesional cleansing.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room during the day avoid rooms overlooking the pool as there are swimming less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikePolisCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Where to start, I travel to Cyprus about 5 times a year and have stayed in many hotels, i dont wish to be too criticle as there is an element of you get what you pay for.
The Moniatis is no where near Limmasol, its like saying Stanstead is in London, just not true.
As I was there on business then this isnt a problem for me but if I was on Holiday then it would greatly effect what I could do in the evening.
The Hotel is fine for what you pay when it comes to rooms and cleanliness. Thats about it, the staff are a rare breed of mutes who spend their whole time out side smoking and struggle with the most basic customer service, they can even make breathing seem like too much trouble. We were on half board but never realy had breakfast as this didnt start untill we had left, not a problem as i just asked for a basic instant coffee before leaving, this of course was "not allowed" !
The hotel had air con, great as it was hot, i put mine on in the evening before dinner to get my room which was above 30 degree cooler before bed, as soon as i left the room the key cut off the power, great! I asked reception for a spare key, this was "not allowed", my friend came up with the idea of seperating the key from the fob, this worked and he had a cool room, mine had been welded on, great!
I left my key in my room to get it cool and asked reception to go and lock it, guess what, this was "not allowed", so a hot sleepless night or no passport or valubles, great choice!

Food, ok thats a complete misdescription, what was served in Moniatis (and I have used the term served loosley as a bufet for four people in a dank room with no music or atmostphere is a stretch of the term served,) was at best undescribable. Not a fussy eater as some travelers who slate hotels for their efforts, but this was incredible, to even take the raw ingredieants and produce what they did deserves a life time achievment award, it must have been a scientist preparing rather than a chef, i had no idea that you could actualy get chicken to do that!
Be afraid!
Pool, this was very clean and well set up, getting a sun bed wasnt a problem as no one in there right mind would actualy stay here, The Shining film with Jack Nicholson kept springing into my mind.
So on one of our very rare afternoons off we excitedly came speeding back for a few hours sunshine by the pool. Within ten minuites of lying in the sun I found that It had now dissapeard behind the hotel, looking around for somewhere else to sit i discoverd that the whole of the pool area was now shaded by a great big hotel which had clearly been built the wrong way round, it could only happen here.
So by 3.50 in the afternoon forget sunbathing.
I did joke and say I would take a chair out to the front and sit in the road to get a tan, one guest actualy did.
This is a sad, sad place and one to be avoided at all cost, i know its cheap but so is a park bench or staying at home, both better alternatives!
Avoid at all cost!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unreasonable, Manager at Moniatis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Just a couple of remarks I would like to make regarding your description of Moniatis Hotel which I feel is unwarranted.

1.Moniatis Hotel is indeed situated in the Limassol District. It is 7km away from the city centre of Limassol. Standstead is however 35km away from London according to the mapcrow.info website. There is a vast difference.
2.Glad to see that the rooms and cleanliness of our hotel met with your approval. This is very important to any hotel business.
3.We take in consideration what you are saying regarding our staff as ‘mutes’ (for your information, a percentage of our staff, are people who have come here from another European country. As you can appreciate, fluent English might not be their forte.) Nonetheless, your point is taken and we will take all appropriate measures to improve this service.
4.The air con system is based on the energy saving and environmentally friendly system which I am sure you have encountered elsewhere in your vast travels. Further, in case you were not aware we take this opportunity to advise that Cyprus was undergoing an energy crisis over the past summer due to an explosion on one of the power plants of the Island. Most household in Cyprus had to endure power cuts 3 times a day of up to 3 hour each during a 40 degree summer. This meant that during that time, these households had absolutely no power and/or electricity and not just no air con while they went out to dinner. Only hotel guests had this luxury.
5.As for your comments regarding the sun being in the wrong place, please accept our apologies for this but as you can understand the rising and setting of the sun is clearly not something we can control. The way the hotel is designed there is sunshine at the pool from 7am until 4 pm (Total 9 hours, from 4pm to 7pm their is only 3 hours).
6.As for the food, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the local Cypriot food, there was an al a carte menu at the bar that you could have ordered something else to suit your taste buds.
7.Finally thank you for describing our rates as cheap which once again is very important to the hotel business in this time of crises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermasoyia
1.4 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#33 of 56 in Limassol
220 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ajax Hotel
Ajax Hotel
#16 of 56 in Limassol
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Valana Hotel Apts
Valana Hotel Apts
#39 of 56 in Limassol
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#17 of 56 in Limassol
266 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 56 in Limassol
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moniatis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moniatis Hotel

Address: Naxou 10 | Germasogeia Municipality, Yermasoyia 3721, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Yermasoyia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermasoyia
Price Range: $34 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moniatis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Yermasoyia Limassol in Cyprus, M. Moniatis Hotel offers rooms featuring a balcony with views of the surrounding mountains. Hotel M. Moniatis is just a 10-minute drive from the heart of Limassol, where guests can visit the Lemesos Medieval Museum and the Grand Mosque. Germasogeia is a great choice for travellers interested in tourism, archeology and clubbing. The rooms of Hotel M. Moniatis are decorated with warm, natural colours and wooden furniture. All rooms have air conditioning, a TV, and a safety deposit box. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine in M. Moniatis Hotel's buffet and à la carte restaurant. The 2 bars serve a wide variety of drinks, light meals, and snacks. Facilities include an outdoor pool, an indoor pool and a sauna. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk, fax, photocopying servicesand laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moniatis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moniatis Hotel Limassol, Cyprus - Yermasoyia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing